We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,042)
Filter reviews
3,042 results
Traveller rating
1,481
882
356
176
147
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,481
882
356
176
147
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmenger barteddy rooseveltcolonial roommango ice creamghost tourcolonial restauranthistorical hotelthe river walkrocking chairstexas historylots of historyalamo plazarooms are smallvalet parkingthe location is perfectconvention centerwater pressure
Filter
Updating list...
322 - 327 of 3,042 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

If you enjoy history and great service, this is the place to go to. My wife and I had a date night in San Antonio and were not disappointed. The suite was very nice and well appointed. We had a few drinks at the bar and enjoyed the great service and were wowed with the beautiful wooden bar. The bar staff and management made our night very memorable. Diego, Renee and Jeff are the absolute best!

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wally H, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thank you for sharing your date night with us. Our 1887 Historic Menger Bar is a replica of the House of Lords Pub in London, in case you didn't know. And it's most famous of course for Teddy Roosevelt recruiting is volunteer Rough Riders, just a lot of history in our Menger Hotel.
We especially appreciate the mention of our Menger Bar staff, Diego, Renee, and Jeff and because you mentioned them, each one will be recognized and rewarded in our Employee Appreciation Program.
Have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

As usual, when I come to town, this is my go to place. Very quiet, and so accommodating. A note to other travelers.. this is a historic hotel. The air and heat system is not like other hotels. Be prepared with long sleeves in the winter. The a/c works fine... just not a lot of heat in the winter. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank ladybugtx76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wally H, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

We have great weekend pool activities in the summer, see you then and thank you for the loyality.
Enjoy your day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Just love the place, full of saints, especially the staff, great location, we were here for the TMEA music educators conference, it provided an idea base for the conference, good shops local and of course just near the Alamo, Really good great place

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hicksb408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wally H, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thank you for the praises. We look forward to the TMEA conference attendees every year and hope you will be back with us for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

Our Stay at the Menger was a wonderful pleasant surprise. I knew it would be nice but it was so very charming ! The staff was friendly and helpful and it was well kept and clean . It's location could not be more convenient being right across the street from the Alamo and close to the river walk . I would highly recommend staying at the Menger if you are visiting San Antonio .

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dalfano61156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wally H, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thank you for the high marks and recommendation! I really loved the phrase "Marvelous Menger" ... come back for another visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

Some upscale hotels make you feel out of place but the Menger certainly does not.
Every staff member we encountered was very friendly and helpful.
The Hotel is beautiful and at a perfect location right in the middle of all the action (Bus tours, carriage rides,etc)
Yes, the bathroom was a little tight for the two of us but it was such a welcoming place.
Bar really could use a happy hour-little gloomy and the drinks were not too great, but a lot of history.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ovela2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wally H, General Manager at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Thank you for wonderful words about our 1859 Historical Menger Hotel. The Menger Bar, 1887, is a replica of the House of Lords Pub in London and the dark cherry wood does make it a cozy place.
Come back for another visit soon, our rooms vary in size as well as the bathrooms.
Enjoy your day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews