We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Ranked #13 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2012

It is a decent location next to river walk. Typical hilton hospitality, tidy house keeping and friendly service.
Rooms were updated and clean.
You can hear street sweeper in the morning at 16th floor but Hotel could not do anything.
Would stay here again, much better choice than historic Windham Garden.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UpperCapeResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,925)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Palacio del Rio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,558 - 2,562 of 2,927 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

My 4-yr old daughter and I joined my wife on a business trip to San Antonio, and chose the Hilton because of our Hilton Honors membership and its proximity to the convention center. We were a little apprehensive after reading a few earlier reviews. Clearly, they were written before or during any renovations. Because, the hotel is in wonderful shape. And the renovations were not even fully complete. Entry, elevators, hallways, all elegant. Rooms were tastefully decorated and very comfortable for the 3 of us. Sound was not an issue for us, although we did not have one of the river view rooms (which others have said could be noisy). Our view from an upper floor was toward the alamodome and beyond...which was fine. Loved the open-air balcony. Rare! Can't say enough about location. Obviously, its right on the Riverwalk, with its own secure river-level entrance. But what's great is that it just past the most commercial, congested portion of the Riverwalk. Walk to the right, and you have all of the popular restaurants and shops (and crowds). Walk to the left, and you can have a much more leisurly stroll (or even jog), if you'd like. There's also a riverboat tour stop just across from the hotel. And it typically has the shortest lines of all of the riverboat stops. Do it once. Cheap and fun! One note... while it is technically "across the street" from the convention center, it's really across from the loading docks. To get to the true convention entrance, you have to walk the equivalent of about 3 city blocks. And then, the convention center is enormous. Total time from our room to her conference check-in...a solid 20 minutes! Not a bad thing, just something to plan for. S.A. is a very walkable city. You're also in walking distance to the Alamo and the neat Worlds Fair Park. Onto the staff... very friendly and helpful. From the woman who tracked down a carton of milk for my daughter when it was discovered that the gift shop did not sell it; to the top floor banquet room staff who were terrific as they allowed my daughter to take in all of the views while they were setting up! Sports Bar staff, cleaning staff...all friendly (didnt get to the irish pub). Check in and out was fine as well. Would definitely return! Restaurant prices were a bit steep, even for a simple continental breakfast..but consistent with most other riverwalk shops. Pricey area!

Room Tip: Upper floors away from elevators. Choose a non-riverview room for less noise.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank runhikeliftplay1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Hilton Palacio del Rio for several days while on business.
This Hilton is located directly on the River Walk was very nicely renovated and I received great service from each and every associate I encountered. The rooms were so fresh that it seemed last a brand new room. The bedding, decor, work area and views from my balcony were outstanding. The in room amenities exceeded my expectations and they spent a lot of money to provide in room sensors and other environment friendly options. The bar area led out the beautiful River Walk which was very lively and had a great energy with its boat rides, numerous restaurants and shops all within a casual stroll. I have had stays at older large Hilton properties all over the US and they should see how well this Hilton was renovated and use that as a guide for all of their older Hilton hotels.
When I return to San Antonio I know where I will be staying!
-Cheers!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the River Walk. The views are outstanding and you will enjoy San Anto...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

wow, what an action packed st. patricks day weekend. hotel was incredible and the perfect place to enjoy River parade. patio restaurants and pub were really fun.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We came to this Hotel as we are Hilton Honors Diamond Members and our convention was right next store. It has a great location. Right on the Riverwalk. Within a few walking blocks of the Alamo, and right across the street from the Convention Center. The staff was helpful. The Housekeepers friendly. They had punch while you waited for the valet to bring your car. The Ibiza restaurant was where our included breakfast was served. Eggs made to order, fruits, cereals, coffee, juices. Nothing too grand. I must say the Bunsen burner fuel odor was annoying to me each morning. There is a gym with about 3-4 Lifecycle machines and a separate
small weight room with some free weights and benches. The room itself was just renovated, along with the interior of the hotel in general. It had a nice shower/tub, 2 sinks. The craziest thing about this hotel is that the ceilings are ridiculously low. I'm 5'11 and if I had my stilettos on, I would have not been able to wear a hat to walk down the halls. The hotel itself looked modular from the 1970s. All in all, a great location, renovated interiors which are pleasant. Would stay again for sure.

Room Tip: You either have a Riverwalk side view or Convention Center view
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TippyGirlTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,108 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,218 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,856 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#18 of 358 in San Antonio
3,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Palacio del Rio? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Palacio del Rio

Address: 200 S Alamo St, San Antonio, TX 78205-3299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: ₹ 13,146 - ₹ 27,854 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Palacio del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore San Antonio from the Hilton Palacio del Rio and enjoy our San Antonio hotel’s contemporary, hacienda style setting. Spectacularly situated on the banks of the famous San Antonio River Walk, this San Antonio hotel offers 485 Guest Rooms with private balconies and a range of thoughtful amenities including modern 37-inch HD TVs, high-speed internet access and a connectivity center. Unwind with a great night’s sleep in a comfy bed and admire breathtaking panoramas across San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Palacio del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Palacio Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Hilton Hotel San Antonio
Hilton San Antonio
Palacio Del Rio Hilton
San Antonio Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing