We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marriott Plaza San Antonio
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Fairmount(San Antonio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Contessa(San Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riverwalk Vista(San Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (853)
Filter reviews
853 results
Traveller rating
366
280
109
67
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
366
280
109
67
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeacocks roamingfire pitbeautiful peacocksconcierge roomthe river walkhemisfair parkhemisphere parkconvention centershort walkpool areaself parkingfour seasonsthe king william districttwo blockscity viewriverwalk areafavorite hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 853 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Walking distance to river walk and the Alamo. Rooms have balconies. Bathroom was a bit outdated. Large property with heated pool. Overall good stay, would stay here again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Morgan0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

Good location in San Antonio. Grounds nice with an outdoor heated pool. Rooms looking a little tired. Had tea/coffee, safe and fridge. Ice only on 1st floor, Bar area nice. Service good. Has a laundry which few hotels offer. On balance the hotel is pretty average and is in need of an update to give it a higher rating

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank STMoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria M, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Dear STmoly,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your time and any feedback we get.

With the ice, we do have an Ice Room on the 1st floor. We have premade bags for the room ice buckets in our corner pantry. We also deliver ice if guests should need that for their ice bucket in their room.

We hope the rest of your stay was wonderful and thank you for the feedback regarding décor. We will send the feedback to the appropriate hotel team.

Always At Your Service,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

Before I get into the billing issues, I will say the hotel is very pretty and in a great location. Close to the Riverwalk and our room had an awesome view of the Tower of the Americas. We did wait for around 10 minutes for an elevator (the elevator next to the one we waited on had an Out of Order sign on it.) I finally asked if there was another elevator we could use and one was pointed out down a hallway. When checking in, the front desk asked for a credit card "for incidentals" which is normal. After checking out, I was not given a receipt. I should have asked for one. I booked this room through an Express Deal on Priceline, but was charged a nightly rate by Marriot as well. I have been trying for over a week to get this resolved and have left several messages with the accounting department at the hotel and have received no response. I had to turn in a dispute through my credit card company! Even with the holidays, it seems a little ridiculous to not be able to reach anyone after multiple calls and messages. Would have stayed here again for the grounds and location, but won't now due to the lack of customer service and double charge!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria M, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Dear Ashley B.,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay. We sincerely apologize for the issues experienced. We did have an issue with our elevator and we called our vendor out as soon as we were aware. We never want this to happen and do whatever we can to get someone out as soon as possible.

We have shared these comments with our accounting department. This is not acceptable and not the norm for handling any billing questions or concerns. They will be addressing this.

My sincere apologize for the issues. Please know we have reviewed and will be addressed with the appropriate team.

My Sincerest Apologies,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

We spent last Saturday night at the Plaza and I was so disappointed in my hometown Marriott! I can understand the natural aging of a hotel and even forgive some of that, but the failures in service were so disconcerting, I have to say something. Check-in was fine, although we were vaguely warned about the “elevator on the left.” There was an out-of-order sign, so we felt warned. The ice situation left us wanting (more ice) as a sign instructed us to the gift shop, where there was no ice, so I went begging at the bar. The bartender showed me the secret ice machine room - why not show us that to start with? The next morning, we accidentally got into the left elevator (which no longer had an out-of-order sign), only to be taken up when we wanted to go down and stopped at the fifth floor without the doors opening for several minutes! It finally started again and took us back to our original starting point and we hopped out to use the stairs. The valet “wasn’t sure where” he parked our car and then promptly lost my key fob!!! It was finally located in his jacket pocket with no valet tag on it. Also, the lock on our patio door was completely inoperable as was the “safety bar.” Nice touch.

It’s a nice location with beautiful grounds! Refresh those rooms and adequately staff the place. Everyone seemed overmatched and overworked. It’s got promise and history!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Flavorchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria M, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear Flavorchick,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on your recent stay. We sincerely apologize for any issues experienced. We are very sorry that there were elevator issues. We did have something happen and our elevator company was called out immediately. We have not seen any issues after they came but we will report this to our vendor we work with. We sincerely apologize. This is never the experience we want our guests to have and we do our best to ensure the vendor responds as quickly as possible.

Thank you for your feedback on other aspects of your stay. We see there were opportunity and the appropriate department leaders have reviewed this to address so we can do whatever we can to prevent any further issues. We sincerely appreciate your feedback so we can take quick action.

Again, our sincerely apologies and thank you for your time. We thank you for the opportunity to be of service and please know we have reviewed and action taken.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

Our stay in December was pleasant. The hotel is situated two blocks from the river walk and convenient to many downtown attractions. The mission-style of the courtyard area is nice, including wandering peacocks and an outdoor fire pit. The staff at the front desk, concierge lounge and breakfast area were very friendly and attentive. Our original room was on the third floor facing the city, but we asked for another room that faced the nice courtyard. They quickly accommodated our request and moved us to a fourth floor room. All rooms have a small balcony, too. A bit of a warning on room selection...be prepared for lots of street noise, and noise from early morning dumpster pick-up if you are near the Caesar Chavez side of the hotel. The downside of the hotel is that the rooms do need an update, and the bathrooms are tiny! Self parking is available and pricey at 25 dollars per day...expensive for an open air lot, no covered parking. Breakfast over the weekend is in the downstairs restaurant. The buffet was generally good, and includes omelets or eggs prepared to order. The backed goods are not that great...croissants and mini-cinnamon rolls were very hard. Good spread of fruit, cheeses, bacon, potatoes, waffles, oatmeal, bagels, toast, etc.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Reagan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria M, General Manager at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Dear Reagan10,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate all feedback, as this only helps us to improve our guests experience. We are happy to see that most areas you enjoyed. We also see there are some opportunities and these have been shared with the appropriate department leaders to address.

Thank you so much for your time. We appreciate you and thank you for the opportunity to be of service.

Happy Holidays!

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews