We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak, great service!”
Review of 1718 Steak House

1718 Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
1718 Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #121 of 4,956 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 50 - US$ 85
Description: The only Prime Steak House with the view of the Alamo The Alamo is a UNESCO World Heritage Site in San Antonio, Texas and a place that is worth enjoying.The view from our restaurant embraces the most beautiful and representative buildings of our city, do not miss the chance to spend an evening in a historic building enjoying our excellent service and remembering history.
Restaurant details
Description: The only Prime Steak House with the view of the Alamo The Alamo is a UNESCO World Heritage Site in San Antonio, Texas and a place that is worth enjoying.The view from our restaurant embraces the most beautiful and representative buildings of our city, do not miss the chance to spend an evening in a historic building enjoying our excellent service and remembering history.
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

Made reservations for my husband's birthday dinner, and it was great, from the moment we arrived all of the way through dessert. When we first got there, our table wasn't quite ready, so we started with a drink at the bar. About halfway through the first drink we were seated comfortably at a table by the window with a beautiful night time view of the Alamo. Our server, Stephen, was very knowledgable about every item on the menu, and answered all of our questions extensively. Dinner was perfectly paced, from the spinach dip appetizer, to salad, then dinner and dessert. Never felt rushed, but also never felt like we were waiting for the next course. The steaks were cooked perfectly as ordered, and had a wonderful flavor. If there was any part that wasn't perfect, the Au gratin potatoes were a little under-done for our tastes... The sauce they were in was really tasty, but the slices were so think, they should have been cooked a bit longer. For dessert, Stephen beautifully executed the flambéed cheese cake, which was delicious! I definitely recommend this one!

Thank Jeanne6972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela G, Owner at 1718 Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you very much for sharing your experience, we are very happy that you and your husband enjoyed your visit. we will give your recomendations to the chef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2017

Absolute worst restaurant experience ever!! Reservations were at 7, finally got seated around 7:30, Our food order was taken around 8:30!!! I ordered a baked potato, that's all. At 9:30 still no food, husband complained to manager then was told that they had 2 other "large parties" and that the kitchen was "slammed". Then right before our food came out, at 9:45, was told they ran out of baked potatoes, after waiting all that time!! For the extreme prices of their food, the service was no where near what it should have been. Then we were told that ALL that water they kept bringing us would be $7 per bottle!!!! Worst experience ever!! Felt manipulated and beyond disappointed!!!

Thank juliegary2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela G, Owner at 1718 Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

We apologize for your bad experience, as we understand the chef came out to speak to your table, and we are very happy to know, that all the steaks where good and everyone enjoyed the food, at the moment you ask for the food, it was being plated to come out to your table.
About the water, at the moment the server present himself to the table he asks if you want to have regular, sparkling or tap water. This unfortunately as any other restaurant the Aqua Panna has a charge I apologize if the server didn't clarify this.
We are a family own business committed with to offer the best quality to our customers, that is why everything is prime.
Thank you for sharing your experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

We took our friends from Michigan to 1718 the last day of their visit. We thought it would be a nice way to end their visit to San Antonio. It was as good as we expected. The view of the Alamo with the Christmas tree was beautiful, and the meal was delicious. They had filet mignon and just raved about how tasty and tender it was. Our server, John, was friendly and efficient. Once again, kudos to the chef and staff and owners Mauricio and Gabby!

Thank smherge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela G, Owner at 1718 Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us, we are very happy that you and your friends had a good time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Fabulous steaks, appetizers, side dishes and service. Great Birdseye view of the Alamo at night reminded us how lucky we were to be here on business

Myself and 6 of my colleagues decided to come here for dinner our last night in town based on the recommendation from others at our convention.

We received special attention from the owner and wait staff.
We shared spinach and artichoke dip. Creole calamari.
Sides included family style au gratin potatoes, creamed spinach and asparagus. We all had steaks which were perfectly prepared, juicy and delicious. I took my leftovers back to my hotel and had it for breakfast.

If I go back with my husband to visit this will be first on my list to share.

Thanks to the owner and staff for making this a night we all will remember!

Thank Gstflorida53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela G, Owner at 1718 Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us, we hope you can visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

Made a reservation for dinner a few months back and asked specifically a table in front of the window with a great view of Alamo. Sent them an email a week ago reminding the request. When we got there tonight we were seated in the middle while there were two tables in front the window available. Till we left, nobody sat there. Asked the waiter, he said the owner gets the requests and he has no way of knowing. He could seat us in front of the window but he didn't. He kept saying he wouldn't know anything about the requests. Well, then why have the requests? We ordered the filet which was cooked perfectly. Baked potato was ok. After the dinner we asked some coffee with desert. It was the worst coffee I have had. Watered down. All I could taste was the sugar and the cream I added. Over priced, over rated. They treat you like a tourist. And that's it. The wine was ok.

Thank Ferda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela G, Owner at 1718 Steak House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Thank you very much for sharing your experience, we do get the requests of almost every customer for tables close to the window, and we specify that the tables are available upon arrival unfortunately we can not reserve the tables in front of the windows, and we explain this by phone and also when you place a reservation on the confirmation email is a note explaining this. We hope all our customers can understand that blocking a table all day for a reservation is very complicated for a business, and also other customers will ask why they couldn't be seated there. We appreciate all our customers and we do our best to provide the best service and quality in our products, everything is prime. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't have a good service and i hope you can contact us ti let me know the name of your server to info@1718steakhouse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to 1718 Steak House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing