We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best restaurant in San Antonio” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Vegetarian Cuisine

Green Vegetarian Cuisine
Ranked #28 of 4,571 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the Full Goods Building of the Historic Pearl Brewery
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
141 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in San Antonio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Hard to believe that the best restaurant (IMHO) in San Antonio is not Mexican, not fancy French, nor a steakhouse, but a vegetarian kosher (closed on Saturday, drat!) place a decent walk from downtown. But it's true. A large and varied selection of delicious food, a friendly, knowledgeable staff, and it's on the bus line back to town! It was crowded, with almost every table filled, on a recent Wednesday at 2 PM. I wish they had a place like this in my hometown. I'd be there every day. The chocolate cupcake with peanut butter icing was to die for!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blockster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    99
    27
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Funky, Fun, delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Very casual at the downtown location on Flores. Friendly, close seating, not a lot of room for privacy, if that is what you want. The food is wonderful and healthy. The area could be better, but seems safe and reasonably easy to get to, with downtown and the art district close by for additional fun. Serving sizes ample for this 6'4" hearty eater.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paca1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sooooo Good!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Green is WONDERFUL!!! We go here often for lunch and take meat eaters and vegetarians alike---our group has ordered a variety of things from the menu and all get great reviews. My personal favorite is the quinoa burrito---perfect blend of flavors and textures. Order with the kale salad and share a basket of fries--regular or sweet potato are both amazing. If you have room for dessert the cupcakes are also delicious. Most notbaly however is the wonderful service here---the staff (espcially waitress Erica) are fantastic and it's quite likely that one of the owners and head chefs will come by to say hello and ask how your meal is.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LRHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We have gone to Green Vegetarian Cuisine several time, whenever we visited our daughter. I love their menu, they have a wonderful selection of delicous and healthy foods. My favorite is kale salad, I have tried to make it at home but it is not quite as good. I was glad to see they opened a second location too!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lifeartist59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine
Level Contributor
130 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Yummy and reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

My sister and I walked to this restaurant which is only a mile from the river walk. The walk was ok during daylight but some parts of the walk were a bit sketchy at night. The food was tasty and reasonably priced. We had the kale salad and one of the burritos. Mmmm. Good! The service was excellent and they were happy to call a taxi at the end of our meal. The taxi arrived in just minutes. This place is fantastic. Make the extra effort and go!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank IrvineHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Vegetarian Cuisine also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Green Vegetarian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing