We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great San Antonio hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #9 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Saint James City, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great San Antonio hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We have stayed at the Drury Riverwalk twice this year. The hotel is a wonderful downtown hotel. The location is perfect for most San Antonio activities. We walked to the Alamo...watched a Fiesta parade on the Riverwalk...went to the market.... and enjoyed FREE breakfast...drinks and afternoon snacks. My favorite part of this hotel is probably the hotel staff. Everyone seemed to have a smile on their face, like their job and want to please the hotel guests.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mako B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,722
    684
    166
    52
    37
See reviews for
882
963
62
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alice, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed at the Drury Plaza Hotel for a conference at the Convention Center on April 17 through April 20, we had a suite that was big and roomy and the staff was excellent. The breakfast and the afternoon popcorn and snacks along with the drinks were a plus which were included in our stay. Desiree was great at the front desk to help us with any questions. When we return to San Antonio we will stay at this hotel again since it is centally located to everything.

Room Tip: Suites are big and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Okay just loved this hotel, from the roof top pool to free happy hour to free breakfast to the big rooms with a downtown view and the access to the riverwalk and everything downtown! Location, location, location!! Oh and if it's still there a great place for your guy to get an excellent hair cut w/a beer is Roosters cattycorner from the hotel totally walkable.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for better views of course and away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boonespie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The family and I all were on our way to Port Aransas for a well needed weeks vacation in Port Aransas, so we thought stopping at the San Antonio Riverwalk and getting a hotel would be fun! It truly was. We spent only one night in this wonderfully eclectic hotel with elevators that dont go where you are going and buildings that end and then you must start again in another building, but it was great! The rooftop pool being open late, seeing the San Antonio Skyline and through Bexar County was fantastic. A quick jump away is the Hard Rock Cafe and the Riverwalk! We even had my mother there and she ran into some visitors form France (her home country). We were able to get a room big enough for my 13 yo daughter two elementary age boys and my wife and I with a grand view of the Chapel. Highly recommended! Emjoy!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Talk about customer service! It has been a long time since I have experienced this level of customer service. Made reservations 2 1/2 weeks before arrival and was told to contact the hotel on the day of arrival to put in our request for a sofa bed. I called and was told that none of our requests could be honored. This appeared to be a mistake and so, I asked for a manager to call me. Within 10-15 minutes, my phone rang--wow! Everything was resolved and from the time that we got there until the time we left-EVERYONE of the staff we ran into were so nice and helpful. Pleasant staff interaction can make or break a hotel stay imo and we were all so pleased with everyone. They really appeared to care about their guests' stay and wanted to make sure we had a good vacation.

After reading a lot of the reviews on this hotel, I was not expecting to utilize the free breakfast b/c of the "stampede" mentality others described. However, the first morning (about 9:30), I went down to get some coffee and there were no lines for breakfast; the serving area was clean and the food was fresh. I really liked the "real" forks and plates as opposed to plastic that some others have described. There were sausage patties; eggs; pancakes; cereal; biscuits and gravy; bagels;and all the regular juices available. Those in our party did not attempt the breakfast for the same reason and so, when I saw that there was no lines, we asked if we could take some breakfast up to the other two in our party--no problem.

The free evening social was a little more like what others had described- but the line was not long. We got a couple of drinks. We tried it the first evening and decided that we would not go again--too crowded for our taste.

The room was very nice--really clean and housekeeping did a great job during our stay. We had a beautiful view of the river below and the wonderful view of the cathedral--it is all lit up at night and with the other buildings' lights it is truly pretty. The four of us stayed in a king 2 room suite with sofa bed. There is one bedroom--very comfy bed. The living area was very large--room enough for the pull out sofa (not very comfortable) However, we had planned to use a inflatable twin, high mattress for our daughter, (which there was plenty of room for) but forgot the electric pump! We called and by the time we got back from exploring, the roll away bed (very comfortable) was in our room. The first night we did not make it back to the hotel until midnight and realized that we needed another blanket--within 10 minutes a knock on the door and there it was! Getting to the rooms in the "San Fernando Cathedral" section is kinda difficult-you have to take 2 different elevators and it's a little convoluted, but we knew this when we reserved the room. I say the view of the cathedral and river are worth the extra hassle.

The valet is $19 per night (which is cheaper than the last hotel we stayed on the riverwalk-$30!! and took them forever to get the car to us). Although we did not take the car out for anything during our stay b/c everything is within walking distance, when we checked out, they had our car to us in minutes--b/c they park the cars on location. However, they only allow 1 valet per reservation b/c of the space issue. The other member of our group parked his car at one of the many parking garages half a block over from the hotel.

After checking out on our last day, we asked the front desk to hold our bags while we did some last minute exploring and they did with no problem. When we got done doing some more sightseeing and eating lunch, we casually walked back to the hotel and got our bags.

Overall, we loved the hotel- it is really beautiful and well maintained. But the people who work there made it an exceptional stay. Customer service like we experienced is a failing art form--but not at the Plaza Hotel. We will definitely be back. Thank you to all of the staff at Drury Plaza for a wonderful time!

Room Tip: we stayed riverview on the 11th floor San Fernando section and it was very quiet and beautiful view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meander48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,462 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,883 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,993 - ₹ 18,346
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing