We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The Professionalism & Dedication of the Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #11 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Professionalism & Dedication of the Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

The professionalism and dedication of the Staff is beyond excellent. Eddie G. the valet is one
stand out person. His personality and devotion to his work can not be put into words. My wife
and I are so grateful for his help and added information. We are both in our 70's and to be
treated with such respect and courtesy reflects highly on the Hotel Management. I'm retired
from the US Air Force (29 years) and we have traveled the world but this has been our greatest
experience so far in the United States and European area. I highly recommend the Hotel, Staff,
Restaurant, and services. The Hotel Contessa should be rated Six Stars. Thank You again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet. We had family staying in different rooms and everyone was quite comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
What a pleasure to see that your first comment was on the professionalism and dedication of the Hotel Contessa team. Eddie G. is one of our most dedicated team members and will be excited to know that you recognized his devotion to service and his outgoing, friendly personality. It does make a difference when someone like Eddie greets you as soon as you walk through the front doors. We take it as an extreme compliment that a member of the U.S. military (retired) and his family gives such high marks to our property. We thank you for your service to our country and would love to have you return to the hotel again.

All the best, Jeff Wardlaw - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,932
    610
    186
    101
    81
See reviews for
757
956
67
625
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (817)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Highly recommend! I visit San Antonio twice a year and this hotel is my favorite place to stay. The location on the river walk is great, it is a very clean, the rooms are very spacious, service is great and atmosphere good, great amenities, gym pool etc...the only draw back, their valet service, $30 a night, is very expensive, however, parking lot conveniently located across the street.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mchalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you for being a return guest, dedicated to staying at the Hotel Contessa. We know our city offers numerous properties, but think it is wonderful that you discovered us and remain a loyal costumer. Our rooms are spacious, and being located at the quiet, luxurious end of the Riverwalk is always a plus. Please come back to see us again the next time you’re in town.

All the best, Jeff Wardlaw - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

We are regular visitors to San Antonio but this was our first time to stay at the Contessa! Some friends of our recommended the hotel and we were very pleased with our stay there. Great atmosphere and location. Very friendly staff and always willing to help you. We plan on staying again for Memorial weekend!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeford1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
We’re excited that your Memorial Weekend plans include a return visit to the Hotel Contessa. Thanks to your friends for recommending our property to you. We believe our amenities, location and dedication to service are a big plus for our guests and will continue to provide the best in accommodations for guests such as you.

All the best, Jeff Wardlaw - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

The hotel is wonderful, our sleeping room was very clean and nice. Our room had a seperate living area, and bedroom area, nice bathroom with great amenities. Our room have a view of the great riverwalk.
We parked in the open parking lot across the street for half of the hotels valet price.
Within walking distance to the city convention center and so much more!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Hello and thank you for selecting the Hotel Contessa as your place to stay on the Riverwalk in San Antonio. It is nice being right on the river and in the heart of the action, yet also in a relaxing location on the quiet end of the walk. We hope to see you again soon.

All the best, Jeff Wardlaw - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#19 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,258 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Property: Hotel Contessa
Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,953 - ₹ 26,765
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing