We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“room very small” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crockett Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crockett Hotel
Ranked #21 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Washington State
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“room very small”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We booked this hotel blind via Hotwire; took a chance because of the price and regretted it. While the location was great we were very disappointed with the room. My husband is 6'5" and we were very cramped in the room and the bath. We had requested a king bed on hotwire but were told by the hotel hotwire only books queens and we would have to pay an additional $25 (our fault for not reading the fine print I guess). I knew we would have to pay for the parking, so at the $25 extra for a king plus the $19 for parking we could have stayed somewhere else downtown.

The property is in an old hotel building (turn of the century-type) so I understand the "quaintness" it is trying to project but it was simply run down. Wood panels in both elevators were beaten up, hallways very bland, strange smells. Pool area looked like it hadn't had any service in months. The breakfast was standard; eggs were icky and being the only protein, my diabetic husband couldn't eat anything.

More on the room: we were on the 3rd floor across the street from the Alamo. Lovely view, and I'm glad we were on that side of the hotel. The windows looked single pane, so you could hear the carriage drivers talking to their fares... I can't imagine what the noise level would have been on the Mall side of the property.

I'm giving this hotel a 3 and not a 2 because of the location and view. I would not stay here again, but it was a nice walk to and from the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank volleymom58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you for being our recent guest and for taking time to provide feedback to us about your stay.

As a historic, boutique hotel we have a wide assortment of rooms in various configurations. Queens, Kings, Double Doubles and even suites. We do only offer the deep discount sites like Hotwire, Priceline with our single queen bed rooms, which usually can accomodate 2 adults comfortably.

Our 103 year old hotel has always been in an ideal location for travelers coming to San Antonio . We have tried to enhance their experience with a well maintained, and updated facility.

We continually look at our breakfast selections which we provide on a complimentary basis. In addition to scrambled eggs, we offer hard boiled eggs, made to order waffles, a variety of cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, breads, bagels, pastries and 4 types of juices and coffee.

Thanks again for your feedback. We use our customer feedback to refine and improve our level of service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    596
    195
    46
    39
See reviews for
403
688
91
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Great hotel and location. Nice free continental breakfast and free wifi.

(Only 2 elevators which are small).

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryTex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide others with a review of your stay at the Crockett Hotel.

We look forward to your return visit. We remain a unique option in the heart of a great city. Only steps from the Alamo and in a historic, boutique hotel building...we enjoy caring for our guests and serving them daily.

Many happy and safe travels to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Located next to the Alamo and a five minute walk to the River Walk this hotel is perfectly situated! There's not much of a lobby or dining area but the rooms make up for it. Clean, well appointed and tended too efficiently. I would return without a second thought.
San Antonio is a very family friendly city. Plenty of restaurants, shops and museums to occupy everyone. A great weekend location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stchsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel when we couldn't afford a large vacation but wanted to get away. When we arrived we were hot and sweaty from spending all day at Six Flags and the gentleman at the front desk was incredible. He offered me a bottle of water and immediately asked if I had any aloe for the sun I gotten that day. My room was ready and they had sent a maid up to it and made sure the temp was dropped and that the bed was turned down. After when had gotten to our room about 30 minutes later they arrived with a bottle of aloe from the drugstore. Our room had a view of the Alamo and was so close to the Riverwalk we had dinner there. I really enjoyed getting up and enjoying the coffee and free deluxe breakfast in the mornings. We stayed there two nights before we moved to our next location for our Hill Country playtime. The day we were leaving they kept our luggage locked away and allowed us to keep our car in Valet parking for hours after we had checked out just so that we could enjoy more of the Riverwalk. Great stay, very clean and quite, comfortable bed and wonderful staff. I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhiMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
We strive everyday to make our guests comfortable and celebrate when we are able to do so.

We are glad you enjoyed your visit to San Antonio and took the time to share the experience here with others.

We look forward to many return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed two nights and the place is quite clean and adequate (although when we arrived, there was dirty laundry left in the closet of our room from previous guest, but management was quick to put us in a different (larger) room and everything was fine). Great location since you can walk to most sights and there is B-cycle station close by if you want to go further.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dellienye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
We wish to offer our thanks for your time to provide feedback from your recent stay at the Crockett Hotel.

We will review with our housekeeping department your report that items were left from the previous guest. This is a rare ocassion for sure. We inspect every room before re-renting it to a new guest and we must have errored in fully checking the closet in this case.

We appreciate you overall positive rating and we look forward to a return visit when your travels bring you back to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#30 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#18 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#9 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockett Hotel

Property: Crockett Hotel
Address: 320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2083
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,035 - ₹ 16,957
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended hotel in San Antonio for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick and Agoda so you can book your Crockett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockett Hotel San Antonio
Crockett San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing