We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location near Alamo” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crockett Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crockett Hotel
Ranked #20 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location near Alamo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

A good hotel - friendly service right next to the Alamo in the center of town. Room a little small and loud A/C but good bathroom.
Breakfast ok - hotel very busy as it was spring break.
Overall a good hotel - particularly for families.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank francorob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    545
    181
    43
    38
See reviews for
369
625
85
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
SW Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We travelled to San Antonio from Houston. Had not pre booked hotel but had looked on line the previous night. We asked at a few hotels but they seemed expensive(late Feb 2012). Walked in here and the lady at the reception was very helpful but quoted £109 per room plus tax. I said I had seen online for $89 and she matched that including breakfast. With tax came to about $99.
Room was basic but roomy and clean. View over street and inner courtyard/reception area. Wooden shutters kept out the light and some noise.
Bathroom was good and there was acoffee maker.
On site bar good for drinks at reasonable prices(happy hour) and breakfast was help yourself type. Quality better than it first looked. In fact it was fine.
location right next to the Alamo which is free to go in and very well presented.
Open car park next to the hotel is adequate but costs more than the covered Mall car park across the street. we parked at the Mall car park.
I max cinema across street shows a short film of the Alamo.
Over all pretty good. Apart from the Alamo I was not too keen on San Antonio, a bit busy, a bit dirty and a bit tacky in the tourist sense. But the Alamo is a must see.

Room Tip: If walk in customer haggle on price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We recently traveled to San Antonio and had reviewed the Tripadvisor ratings. Last year we stayed at the Emily Morgan -it was very nice, but we wanted to try some other hotel. Some were more expensive than we wanted. I first thought we would stat at the Menger, but there were several negative reviews. I really liked the Alamo area and I remembered seeing the Crockett . Their reviews convinced us to stay there. Ms. Alicia and Ms. Elena were very professional and friendly at the front desk. The valet checked our car for dings before parking it. Their valet parking is outdoors so in hail weather you may wish to park in a covered lot- not sure if the mall covered parking is secure and available overnight. Our room was extremely nice. I would stay there again.- pale green with wide plantation shutters.
Just across the side street, just past Mortons Steak House you enter the mall and easily find a river tour entrance . I really enjoyed the river day tour last year and went on the night tour this trip-it's 30 minutes long and very enjoyable.

Room Tip: We just missed spring break, so rooms were more reasonably priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ITWASTHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed here for two nights in early March. I did not request an outside room as recommended by some reviewers, and our room was 4th floor, looking out on the atrium. The hotel was not exceptionally busy, or we just are not bothered by noise all that much, although we could hear some noise from the lobby, it was not enough to bother us. Since this is such a historic property, built before acoustics were probably a big deal, we just enjoyed being here.
It would be difficult, in my opinion, to find a better downtown location. Access to the Riverwalk is right across the street, as is the visitor center, Alamo Park, Alamo, and shopping. We parked the car, and never used it until we left, since you can easily walk or take a trolley almost anywhere here. And it is just far enough from the crowds to be perfect.
The room we had was quite small, but decorated nicely, and brightly. The bathroom, while small, was clean, and met all our needs. (Two persons do not fit well, but that was not a problem in our eyes. We would actually have preferred a walk in shower to the tub. My first shower here was awful, the water kept changing from scalding to freezing, but my husband figured out the combination to make the temperature stay even.)
The breakfast buffet was nice with good food. The down side is the size of the breakfast room. There is not much room to sit at a table to eat. The annoying part to us is that they have a "lounge" with lots of tables sitting empty, but do not open it up for extra seating. Seems to me it would be a "no brainer" for guests to have a place to eat.
The elevators, as mentioned by many others are very small. There is no way a gurney could fit in one should the need arise. We just figured they had a service elevator for such an emergency, but who knows?
The staff here was friendly enough, but not overly helpful.
A couple of things that we found odd. The "Bar and Grill" is a bar. No food, no snacks. Two beers and one mixed drink set us back $25. (Perhaps "normal" for this setting, but live and learn!} I guess they have some sort of deal that you order food from an offsite location, and have it delivered. We saw nothing about this, though. {I just read about it in some reviews.}
There is a 5 and Dime on Alamo Street that sells large bottles of COLD water for under $2. We just said "no" to the $5 small bottle of water in the room.
I guess for a city, $20 a day to park is about normal.
All in all, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seniorcoupleluvtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for your time in providing feedback following your most recent stay. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the Crockett Hotel and were able to take advantage of our unique, historic hotel in a prime location in San Antonio.

We felt a few of your observations require our follow up and/or explanation.

We serve breakfast each day in the Landmark Restaurant. It has approximately 20 tables and nearly 80 seats. We generally 'turn' the room 1-2 times each day. In high demand periods, we do open our bar area for overflow seating for the breakfast hour. We are sorry that this did not happen during your visit.

We have Happy Hour daily in Ernie's bar from 4pm-7pm During this time, we have drinks in the range of $2.50-$3.00 During regular hours, drink prices range from $3.50 - $8 (depending on the liquor requested. In addition, the hotel provides a room service menu which is a local provider who delivers to the hotel (and to the bar) within 30-45 minutes of order. The menu is available 11 am-2 am and should have been offered if requested in Ernie's bar as well.

For convenience, we provide 2 1-litre bottles of Fiji brand water for $5 in our guest rooms. We also have vending machines on the guest floors that offer Dasani water.

Our guest elevators are limited in size due to the historic nature of the hotel. They can accomodate 5-6 adults at a time. They CAN however accomodate equipment in medical situations etc. The guest elevators were fully modernized with all new control equipment during our most recent renovation.

We hope this additional information is helpful to you and to others who decide to be our guest and visit the Crockett Hotel. Our staff strives every day to welcome and to serve our guests and treat them as such while staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cibolo, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed our night at the Crockett Hotel great location and great clean rooms. Enjoyed our view of Downtown and the courtyard of the Alamo.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevbmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
We often hear from our guests about the cleanliness, comfort and convenience of the Crockett Hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with others.

While the hotel has been operating on this site now for 103 years, the hotel has been well cared for and is maintained by a small caring group of housekeepers and maintenance people. In fact, the entire hotel is operated by 40 people. All dedicated to caring for and serving our guests every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#31 of 358 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#12 of 358 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,859 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 358 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockett Hotel

Property: Crockett Hotel
Address: 320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,419 - ₹ 15,655
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended hotel in San Antonio for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick and Agoda so you can book your Crockett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockett Hotel San Antonio
Crockett San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing