We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere!”
Review of Crockett Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crockett Hotel
Ranked #20 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This hotel has a great location (our room overlooked the Alamo) and is right in the heart of downtown San Antonio. Our check-in was easy, with very welcoming front desk staff. The rooms are nice sized and clean! My favorite part of the room were the beautiful plantation wooden shutters. We also had a great experience at the hotel lobby bar, which is very welcoming-it seems lots of locals even go there. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,689 - 1,693 of 1,999 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed in the hotel during Spring Break and it was wonderful! The staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was smaller than our families room, so when I asked for a bigger room the manager came up to our room and personally took us to a larger room! The breakfast buffet was delicious, the valet was very friendly, and the hotel was very well located.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you for sharing your experiences from your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Crockett Hotel and Spring Break in San Antonio.

We know our unique, historic property in the heart of the city is the perfect fit for many people who are looking for personal service and a boutique, independent hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We arrived on St Patricks Day Saturday afternoon and were extremely grateful to find the hotel was just far enough from the madding crowds.
Access was really easy and riverwalk just a hop skip and a jump away. I love the view over the trees of the Alamo unexpected in downtown. The lobby and central courtyard has an old world feel its a little dated but extremly comfortable. The aircon comes off and on but it's really easy to control and we've slept brilliantly. Totally Enjoyed our stay in the heart of San Antonio's vacation land. The Riverwalk is just that. Live music great walking and plenty of laughter.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyInnervision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Thank you for taking time out of your day to provide such nice comments regarding your recent stay at the Crockett Hotel.

Comfort, convenience and close proximity to all there is to see and do in the heart of our city... These are our most commonly heard guest comments. We work hard here everyday at the Crockett to help our guests enjoy their time with us to the fullest.

We appreciate you sharing your experience with others on this site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I wanted to give the Crockett four stars, but just couldn’t.

As others note, the location is great. Aside from being able to step out of the hotel and straight to the River Walk, you can’t do much better (literally right behind the Alamo).

The exterior and lobby area are nicely maintained.

I was disappointed a bit with the room. It was clean, but the room décor was a bit tired, dated, and not a match to the traditional styling of the lobby and exterior. It had a dated 90’s look to it (the bathroom was a terrible shade green). Bad pastel color scheme. It is time for the room to be updated (and in a way that respects the history of this great building). I’ll also add that the bottom sheet of the bed was too small; it didn’t reach to the foot of the bed. The mattress was an absolute rock.

The room was VERY quiet. We were at the end of a hall, so I’m sure that’s why (room 615). That was a nice surprise given that most historic hotels tend to echo and just be all around noisier.

Breakfast was my biggest gripe (something most people here seemed pleased with). On both mornings we were there the breakfast area was just overwhelmed. On day one there were not plates, waffle batter, or clean tables (we had to wait for a table, then had to bus it ourselves). It looked like one person was trying to maintain it herself, and she was doing all she could to keep up (she really was working her butt off). The next morning we went down, saw that things were just as bad, and walked to Schilo’s Deli for a fantastic (and cheap) breakfast; Great place for breakfast or lunch (just a couple blocks away).

The styling of the room (dated and mismatched with the historic nature of this hotel) and the breakfast were my two big nitpicks.

In comparing it to the Sheraton Gunter (stayed there a couple years ago); the Crockett is in a better location (for us at least). The rooms at the Gunter matched the aesthetic of the rest of the building (overall nicer). I thought the Crockett would be a better value, but without taking advantage of the breakfast it isn’t. My wife stayed the Hotel Indigo (Alamo) last year (also a historic building). It’s about a block from the Crockett. No breakfast either, but she was pleased with her stay. I think that if you want downtown and don’t want to spend the high prices of some of the better known options (Hilton Palacio del Rio, La Mansion, etc.), any of these three would be good choices.

Overall we had a good stay. If the deal is right, I would stay again without hesitation. Maybe some room renovations will be in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jvm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay. Our team here strives every day to meet and exceed our guests expectations of the Crockett Hotel.

Annually, the Spring Break week in San Antonio presents the greatest number of visitors to our doors. We enjoy being in the center of such a desirable location, and know the numbers of people staying with us will present unique challenges. To address this, we extend the hours of our complimentary breakfast so that families have more opportunity to enjoy the meal we serve. We have also opened our lounge area each day to provide additional seating, outside of what our normal restaurant provides. We also add additional items and quantities to the buffet ( this year we added hard boiled eggs, cottage cheese and new pastries from suggestions we have had in the past)

We also add staff to the breakfast team and have 3-4 people daily to help prepare and service the buffet.

We certainly don't expect our guests to bus a table themselves and feel badly that you had to do so in this instance.

We thank you for the overall good rating and hope you will consider coming again. We learn every year during such high demand periods and will do a review of operations after the 2012 Spring Break Week so that we can implement new ideas in the future for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Crockett Hotel was conveniently located right behind the Alamo, and just off the freeway, so it was very easy to find! Aside from that, it was also a piece of history, with its beautiful facade, with modern conveniences, a lovely atrium which provides a nice visual aspect, and none of the old smell or challenges, such as plumbing issues. It was comfortable, clean, and a great experience.

Room Tip: A room facing the atrium would probably be a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetnsouthrn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thank you so much for making the Crockett Hotel your home away from home for Spring Break 2012. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the history and charm of the hotel, while staying in the center of activity in San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#23 of 358 in San Antonio
2,521 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,112 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,136 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,240 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockett Hotel

Address: 320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2083
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: ₹ 7,831 - ₹ 15,856 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended hotel in San Antonio for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crockett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockett Hotel San Antonio
Crockett San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing