We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place to be.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crockett Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crockett Hotel
Ranked #21 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Harker Heights, Texas
1 review
“Great place to be.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

This was a great place to stay all the history valet parking, large rooms, great staff and just steps away from the magnificent Alamo/downtown San Antonio. Very memorable visit. Thanks Crockett and staff.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cowabunga_dudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    573
    191
    45
    39
See reviews for
394
661
89
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

I was so excited to stay in this hotel, which is on a few historic building registries. Pros: Great location! The building itself is beautiful, unique, and surprisingly clean, especially considering it's age. The front desk clerks were always helpful and friendly. I had a queen; the room was small but not cramped. There was a television and blowdryer, but no fridge or coffee maker (I don't drink coffee anyway, but noticed there were some instant coffee packets). The bathroom was a good size and very clean. The A/C worked magnificently. Breakfast was delicious, with fresh food but no meat like bacon or sausage (fine by me!). There was fresh fruits, juices, milk, yogurt, bagels, pastries, waffles, and eggs. I was pleasantly surprised by this free breakfast. Cons: Fabric shower curtain liners are my pet peeve-I've never been able to take a shower using one without water puddling up outside of the tub. The drain clogged very easily, so my showers had to be very quick. The water temperature fluctuated, which is to be expected because it's an older building with lots of rooms. The walls are very thin, so we could hear our neighbors (not above us, just next to us). The ice machine was near my room, and I woke up a few times during the night whenever someone got ice. I use an app on my phone that creates white noise, and still had trouble sleeping. I didn't hear much street traffic despite the fact that I was on the end of the building. The bed was too firm for my liking, and there were only two pillows (but I'm sure I could've gotten more if I asked). Overall, I would stay here again, but will be exploring some other area hotels.

Room Tip: Request a room not near an ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank makehistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post some photos and a review of your recent stay.

We appreciate your honest feedback and your recognition of the unique, clean, convenient property that is the Crockett Hotel.

We want to apologize that you did not enjoy a great night's sleep during your stay. We have our ice machines on a timed circuit so that they no longer run after 10 pm each night. They stop producing ice at this time, but remaining ice can still be dispensed.

We do have 1 additional pillow and blanket in every closet, and have additional pillows available upon request. We also have a coffee brewer in each room that brews a single cup of coffee at a time (not instant coffee). You may have missed it since there is no multi cup carafe.

We will look into options that may provide mp3 playability and also white noise generation, clock/radio/alarm options. This may be an item that we can incorporate in our ongoing efforts to enhance the in-room items that we offer for our guests enjoyment.

Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to you being a returning guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

close to everything - truly right next to the Alamo, short walk to Riverwalk and other tourist attractions, easy highway access for anything. Breakfast was good with fresh fruit, brand name cereal, waffle iron, juices and coffee. But it was crowded! And not eeryone cleaned up after themselves ... Pool was very attractive, with ample towels, just really small.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingMAkron_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

The Crockett Hotel has a great location just steps from the Alamo, the price was good as well for being located near the Riverwalk. My only complaint would be I ordered a wake up call for Sunday morning at 8:30 and never received it. Upon checking out with Crystal at the front desk and making her aware of this she made no apology or tried to find out what happened. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brooke79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback after your recent stay at the Crockett Hotel.

We appreciate your compliments on our historic hotel and ideal location, etc.

We certainly want to apologize for the failure to provide the wake up call that you requested. We will go back and see what caused this oversight, so that we may prevent such an occurrence in the future. Maybe more importantly, we will review with our staff that when things go wrong and there is a problem brought to our attention, a sincere apology is the very first thing we are expected to offer.

Reviewing our customers' feedback helps us to refocus and retrain our staff, so that we can improve our standards of service for all future customers. We hope to have you as a return guest soon. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We got an online special $70 per night for a double room, which was fantastic. I have seen other reviewers state the rooms were small, but ours was very average and didn't seem small at all, as is often the case with older hotels. You are steps from Alamo, Alamo Plaza, Rivercenter Mall, tons of restaurants, shopping, Riverwalk, etc. Pool is out front, but it has lush landscaping and is gorgeous and extremely well-kept with plenty of seating. Staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't take part in the continental breakfast, so I am not sure about that. We happened upon a great deal, but more than $70 per night would probably still have been a deal for the location. I am happy to say the only negatives were no fridge/micro, but that seemed to be a small problem with all the other positives.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank advisor2396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#31 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,955 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crockett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockett Hotel

Property: Crockett Hotel
Address: 320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,476 - ₹ 17,542
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended hotel in San Antonio for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and TravelClick so you can book your Crockett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockett Hotel San Antonio
Crockett San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing