We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family friendly, family fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
Ranked #8 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Killeen TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family friendly, family fun”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

When we started to look for a resort we didn't find allot of pictures for wild oak ranch. We were not disappointed at all! This resort is very child, kid friendly. There are two playgrounds one between the pool and the river (it has sand so bring your sand toys). There is also a hidden playground that is wooden, its in the backyard of J.B.'s Restaurant, it is like a big tree house. The river is fantastic, it is not heated like the pool but its worth it. They have a beach for the kids to play on with sand toys, and they have umbrellas for shade so they wont get burned again (bring sand toys). The river goes in a circle its blue and lots of landscaping very romantic or fun depending on what you want. There is also a hidden hot tub on the river and lots of benches, swings, hammocks, chairs and cabbana's to sun in or sit in for shade. And there is a bar down by the river. There are inner tubes floating around that you can hang on to or sit on. My 6 year old could touch the bottom so it was nice she could pull me.
The pool is heated and fun, they have a beach style entry for the little ones, it starts at 1ft and goes up to 5 ft. so they can stand and play. They have noodles and balls to play with, the out door pool has a water slide and a volleyball net.
The indoor pool has an open wall leading to the outside pool, it has a 3ft entry no beach but the steps are nice to play on. It has some spray guns and sprinklers. It also has a water slide and balls to play with along with, hoops, and a hot tub. There is a foosball table and a ping pong table. There is a bathroom in the indoor pool, and one by the outdoor pool but not one by the river go to the bathroom first.
The rooms are very nice, they have a patio with a screen door, and a microwave, fridge, (we stayed in a studio) one king and then a pull out couch for the kids. Very clean and comfortable, nice size television, and very quiet so you can try to sleep in. Bathroom was a nice size and had nice features.
This resort is very easy to find and it local so its close to Sea World or the river walk, and food is very easy to get to, along with the local stores to find food. They have a fire pit where the kids can make smore's if they are doing it that night. Horse shoes to play with. Also the rooms are not far away from the front desk or all the activities so you dont have to walk a long way to get to the pool ect.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlema2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    164
    39
    18
    18
See reviews for
443
113
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

April 2012
Front dest staff were very friendly and helpful at check-in.
We loved the lazy river and the fire pits were so fun.
Location is awesome.We had a 2 bdrm. unit. We did not get our one through cleaning until 2 days before we left, housekeeping had messed up. We also had a soccer ball "disappear" that showed up after we left and they charged me $11 to ship it and hour away to my son.
The service at JB's was horrible and the server was not friendly at all and the prices were ridiculous. We were there twice and it was the same both times.
So, some good, some not so good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed in a 2BR unit with our three kids (5, 8, 10). Perfect amount of space for us all to spread out. Loved the lazy river, indoor and outdoor pool and water slides. Golf course at sister hotel (Hyatt down the street) was nice too. Reasonably priced family package after 2:30pm. We went off season (April 2012) so it was very quiet, but it must be very busy at other times. They are working on tripling the size of the complex. About 20 minutes to downtown SanAntonio. We visited Tejas Rodeo (our favorite), IMAX Alamo movie, the Alamo, LBJ Presidential library and University of Texas in Austin, SeaWorld and Natural Bridge Caverns. All were great for adults and kids. We made a quick stop at the Riverwalk for lunch, but it didn't seem like a great place for kids. Fun vacation and great resort!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MelindaCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This was our final stop on a whirlwind trip from Florida to Texas, and was the perfect place to chill out. We stayed for five nights and could have stayed so much longer. We were really lucky with the weather and couldn't have asked for a nicer end to our holiday.
We had a two bed unit, which was really spacious. The main bedroom had a huge jacuzzi bath, which was even large enough for my 6ft 4in husband to lie down in. The kitchen was well equipped and we cooked on two of the nights we were there, which was lovely after two weeks of relying on restaurants.
We felt really at home and settled here. The washer/dryer was a real bonus too.
We were only a short walk from the pool area, which was great. The lazy river was so relaxing, and there were lots of areas with sun beds dotted around it so that there was always somewhere to soak up a few rays before a last scoot round in a big blue tube.
Nice location, with a lot of supermarkets and restaurants a short drive away, and only about 25 minutes to San Antonio.
I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toton-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This timeshare is breathtakingly beautiful. There is a fantastic lazy river and an indoor/outdoor pool which are both gorgeous and such fun for the kids and the parents. They were all refreshing but plenty warm enough for swimming. In the lazy river, floats are provided. They have volleyball, basketball, and 2 slides in the pool. The kids and even my husband and I had lots of fun on the water slides. They had music playing while we were in the pool that made it feel very festive (not loud music, just kind of in the background, but still provided that fun atmosphere).
You will be dazzled by the Wildflower Pavillion. It has several seating areas where you can sit in rocking chairs and roast marshmallows, etc. The flowers are amazing there. Also, when you walk up to your room, there are fragrant flowers growing up the side of the building which take your breath away. Everyone who works at the Hyatt is fantastic and friendly. They had cute activities daily for the kids in the Camp Armadillo room (making necklaces, cowboy hats, etc). On Easter Sunday they even had an easter egg hunt that was just beyond what I would ever have expected! We had a 2 bedroom unit which was enormous, clean, and had all of the amenities we needed.
Here was the issue we experienced--and it was enough of an issue to cause me to rate this 4 stars rather than 5. The service at JB's is NOT up to Hyatt's standards. Even when we were their ONLY table, they forgot to bring some of our food. If you read my other reviews you will see that I am not a pain in the neck on vacation, looking for something to complain about, but the service was poor each time that we ate here. The only reason we ate here more than once was that it is the only restaurant on-site, and right next to the pool, and with 3 kids, we did not always feel like going upstairs in the middle of the day. Others staying there also had issues when they ordered food at the pool from JB's.
We also visited the Hyatt Hill Country hotel next door. We were advised that at this time of the year (April) they did not run a shuttle back and forth, but that this is offered in the summertime. The Hyatt hotel has a great golf course with a family program that my husband and oldest two children enjoyed. We had the buffet for dinner over there two nights. Each night they do a different theme--Mexican, Italian, BBQ. It was fantastic both nights that we went, and extremely reasonable for prices. The service at the Hyatt hotel was fantastic. They also had nightly smores (complimentary) over the fire pit and nightly outdoor movies with popcorn and blankets that they laid out on the beautiful lawn (also complimentary). They also have a lazy river and pool at that hotel. Those are really scenic and look like a natural watering hole and river.
We went to the River Walk and highly recommend that. It is unlike anything we have ever done before. The restaurants were both amazing and the boat ride was fun for the whole family.
The folks in San Antonio were friendly everywhere we went and we really did love our stay at the Hyatt. If not for the bad experiences at JB's, I would definitely rank this 5 stars. Hopefully management will correct the issues with the restaurant because this timeshare/hotel is too fantastic to be dragged down by poor restaurant management.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MedfordMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
3,455 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 354 in San Antonio
1,360 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Property: Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
Address: 9700 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt Wild Oak Hotel
Wild Oak Ranch Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing