We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tex-Mex in San Antonio”

Los Barrios Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #79 of 5,108 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

This is one of my favorite Mexican restaurant in San Antonio. The salsa is great. The food is delicious and the staff is very well trained. I recommend the fajitas and the enchiladas. A little off the beaten path, but well worth the trip.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank rossj792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

I have been here twice and is on my list of Favorites in SA!! The server asked for our order so he could put it in ahead of a large group. We had two children with us and we appreciated the thought so they wouldn’t have to wait. Food was great and there was no wait to be seated!!!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank AmyMichelleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

I was very disappointed with the service that we received during my friends farewell gathering. Management did a bad job not having enough servers. Drinks and food came sporatically during the evening..people were eating at random times and I for one ever got my food so I cancelled my order. VIOLA must be rolling in her grave with the bad servuce that we received. I will not return.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Irma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Viola Barrios, from Bustamante Mexico, started this restaurant in 1979. It is still owned and operated by her family. If you want genuine Tex Mex Mexican food that the locals love, this is the place. It’s a down home, family style restaurant. Nothing fancy here, but definitely first class in many ways.
Great margaritas too!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Met with friends after church for lunch. Had a sampler plate of enchiladas and it was plenty with good flavor. It was rather busy and service refected that, waited 45 minutes to get our food. Good thing the server kept bring out free chips and salsa. Would return just not on Sunday during the church crowd.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Saltexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Barrios Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Los Barrios Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing