We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Alamo Plaza
from US$ 16.99
More Info
from US$ 53.05
More Info
from US$ 53.04
More Info
from US$ 49.99
More Info
Reviews (1,049)
Filter reviews
957 results
Traveller rating
574
267
100
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
574
267
100
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street texas history wax museum menger hotel other attractions historic place davy crockett piece of history long barracks audio tour gift shop people watch walk around the river walk alamo battle monument
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 957 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

The radical, left wing Berkley-esque, out of control City Council of San Antonio has designed despicable plans to "Reimagine the Alamo". They will wall it in, control access and egress and just ruin it.

Thank deltahater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

See it now before it changes. BIG changes are coming in the next few years. Store fronts will be replaced with museums. A wall will surround the Alamo. Just hope you still be able to go at night as it's so pretty.

Thank fhseakjfweafn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Rich history - come and take it! Great place to soak in all the sights. Be sure to checkout the basement and ask for pee-wee bike.

Thank Flyby0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Alamo Plaze contains shops and restaurants that are within the original boundaries of the Alamo itself. Very historic area

Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So much history, so little time... You could spend days here and not see everything, I think. Hats off to San Antonio for making this area so tourist-friendly, while preserving it's dignity and historicity. This area is especially enchanting in the evenings when the horse-drawn carriages are adorned with lights. Absolutely beautiful!

Thank Summer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The grounds containing the Alamo are well preserved and maintained and depict the history of the battle of the Alamo. There is a lot to see here for anyone interested in the history of the battle of the Alamo.

Thank TahitiZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Many visitors are underwhelmed at the first site of the Alamo. They are thinking only of the church. Yes, it was a mission, like many of the other missions in the area. The rest of the fort covers a coupe of acres. It was there that the famous battle was fought. It is also there that you should visit. In recent years the management of the Alamo has been changed, with the prospect of redoing the plaza and making the area more accessible. Won't that be great. Since we live here in San Antonio, we can visit at will.

Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everyone knows about the Alamo, Jim Bowie, Davy Crockett and the battle. The Alamo Plaza contains so much more that will educate the visitor about the events and history leading up to the battle and the course of history afterwards. My family was a little pressed for time and we only allocated about 2 hours for the Alamo, since we really only expected to visit the inside of the old mission and read about the battle. I could have stayed all day. There is a great museum in the long barracks and there was a guide giving a wonderful history lesson about the battle and it's aftermath. When I go back to San Antonio I will give the Alamo a half day visit

Thank Julian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband has been desperate to visit here from the UK for years and we have finally made it!

Though not massive it has captured the spirit of the Alamo and the history. It has a great sense of history and has the sense of what happened and what it meant.

Worth the visit for all history buffs

Thank Jules1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This gives a great perspective on how the State of Texas ended up being in the US versus in Mexico. If Santa Anna hadn't been so greedy Texas could well be in Mexico at this time. This mission was a spot where a lot of history happened and was used for many things.

Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews