We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ambivalent”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverwalk Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverwalk Vista
Ranked #27 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ambivalent”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

My college age daughter and I stayed here for 4 nights in March. We chose it for the location, which was excellent, and because there were 2 room suites. The suite made lodging much more affordable than booking 2 sepapate rooms elsewhere. However, the pullout couch was so uncomfortable that my daughter chose to just sleep on the couch. She didn't mind but it is something that you need to be aware of. We arrived late at night and the manager was waiting to let us in. She gave us one key then promptly left. The night watchmen showed us the breakfast room (the breakfasts are really good with home baked goods) and then to our suite. There is no one at the desk in the entry. You gain entrance by entering a code. We didn't learn until we were trying to find someone when we were ready to check out that there is a manager's office on the third floor, cookies in the afternoon and an evening wine social, all which would have been nice/helpful to know so we could have gotten a second key or asked questions about restaurants, etc. The property is nicely furnished with several cozy sitting areas. The rooms are a bit noisy at night. The housekeeping is spotty. The shower is great. No tub.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulaKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    109
    26
    9
    9
See reviews for
39
257
29
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larue, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We try and get to this beautiful inn as often as possible. The building is beautiful and full of historical pictures and items that will keep you busy trying to take it all in. It overlooks the riverwalk in San Antonio and is within walking distance of shopping and the incredible riverwalk restaurants. You have to park in an off site parking garage, but once you're there, everything you need to have a great weekend is either a stroll or tram away. We love the King Aregon suite and request it everytime so we can lounge in the comfy leather chairs and people watch from the huge windows (especially fun on Halloween). Great breakfasts and the rooms will spoil you. Call the inn keepers to arrange for special occasions and they will help you put the special touches that make staying there a staple in your romantic getaways! They made my birthday SO special!! Well, my husband helped...

Room Tip: Rooms that face the riverwalk are wonderful for the views; however, if you need total quiet to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StaceyNDevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed at the Vista this past weekend. We loved it. Very private feeling. Staff was very nice and our room was clean and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side face the river walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Just returned from a week long stay in San Antonio at the Riverwalk Vista. The main purpose of the trip was to attend a conference at the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center but I added a few days for a mini-vacation. I was impressed in countless ways by the service and experience but I will try to include a few here:

+ Location, location, location. For me, the hotel was in the absolute perfect location. I read in other reviews that it was located "just minutes" away from everything but that is an understatement. It is literally 3 minutes from the Rivercenter Mall, 2 minutes from the Alamo, 3 minutes from the Convention Center, and adjacent to the Riverwalk with all of its attractions.

+ The experience. I like old stuff. I also like it when old things are re-purposed to extend their useful life. Therefore I love how they have converted the upper floors of an old commercial building into a very comfortable place to stay. It is no understatement to say it "feels like home" and that it is nothing like staying in the typical high-rise hotel in a downtown area. From spending time in my room to spending time with others in the common areas of the hotel, I loved the comfortable chairs, easy music, and overall feeling of the place.

+ The staff. This is the truly special part. Everyone we met was friendly, helpful, and a pleasure to deal with. Thank you to Catherine for all your help with check-in and dinner reservations. A big thanks to Jean for saving me with a last minute set of dinner reservations for a very large group we were meeting with. And thank you to Patty for all the information about the area, some great cookies, and those carrot and cinnamon muffins Sunday morning. Everyone was great.

And the negatives? I don't really have any. Many others have written reviews mentioning the large amount of noise from the streets below. That was my largest single concern since I was making arrangements for and travelling with 8 others for this trip. However, my concerns were unfounded. I personally didn't even notice the noise when going to sleep and I didn't hear any serious complaints from the rest of the group. It should be noted that our stay coincided with 2 Spurs home games, Spring Break and the first 80 degree weather of the year, and St. Patrick's Day weekend with all of its associated activities. That has to be a "worst case" scenario!

Bottom line. I loved it and I'm looking for an excuse to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimInKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Perfect location, right by the riverwalk. Our room had a view of the other side of the street, which was nice! The staff was willing to help and the breakfast was nice. Each room was unique and had character, which I liked. It was small enough to feel special but big enough not to be a b&b. The only "complaint" i have is that it is expensive, but all hotels near the riverwalk are. I would stay there again no questions asked, which I think is high praise for any hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utchampions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
2,830 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
3,032 reviews
Menger Hotel
#30 of 354 in San Antonio
2,186 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 354 in San Antonio
2,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverwalk Vista? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwalk Vista

Property: Riverwalk Vista
Address: 262 Losoya St., San Antonio, TX 78205
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#55 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,105 - ₹ 15,805
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverwalk Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverwalk Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverwalk Vista San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing