We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality hotel, confused about its mission”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #10 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Quality hotel, confused about its mission”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We spent a Sunday evening at the Valencia. This was a return visit after several years. The hotel has an eccentric, high fashion, romantic dark corners kind of design that is fun. Quality of furniture, baths, linens etc are all very high. The service is generally very good, and with a little shopping the prices are great. If there is a problem, it is with commitment to the romatic approach. The public spaces are too large for that concept, and thus not really cozy. The restaurant (which is closed on Sunday evenings?) is similarly a bit sterile. And, as a business hotel the commitment to darkness is a problem. You just can't possibly read a document in the rooms. Nonetheless, we had a good stay, and in a city of pretty sterile Marriotts and the like, this is a ver nice change of pace.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff3545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wenola, Owner at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Jeff,

I'm glad you returned! Thank you for your review of this past visit. I appreciate your thoughtful feedback about our interior decor and ambiance. Within Hotel Valencia, we strive to strike a balance between old world sophistication and contemporary design — wedding both the romantic and clean aesthetics to create a unique kind of elegance. The large public spaces do feel more modern; our hope is that the spaces welcome visitors to the hotel, where they can seek coziness within! I'll definitely share your comments about lighting in the private rooms, too.

The next time you and your family need a change of pace, we hope you return to us again. We'd love to have you back in San Antonio.

All the best,
Beth Smith, Valencia Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,998
    549
    216
    132
    72
See reviews for
459
1,213
83
575
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The good:
Virtually every person that we had contact with at the hotel took very good care of us. Albert, at the front desk, upgraded our room when they did not have the room type that we had booked online. Mike, the bell-hop, was professional, courteous, and helpful with suggestions on local restaurants and other things to do. Richard, the lobby bar bartender was friendly and professional (and pours a good Margarita).

The hotel is conveniently located along the Riverwalk and close to most attractions in that area of the city

The central courtyard offers a unique and interesting space to spend time

The bad:
The hotel could use a serious cleaning. You don't have to examine too closely to see evidence of this.

I would not call it a good value overall; it's a bit overpriced for what you get

Summary: Nothing remarkable really. We were very pleased with the service of the staff and the way that they took care of our reservation without us prompting. While the hotel has alot of potential, a little more attention to the finer details (like cleaning public spaces) would be helpful

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms along the Riverwalk have balconies;though with just enough room to sit on and not mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGMWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wenola, Owner at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Matt,

I appreciate you taking the time to leave us with such thorough feedback. I'm thrilled to hear our staff made you and your wife feel welcome and comfortable, upon arrival and throughout your stay. We can certainly work on the cleanliness, though— I'm very concerned you found the public spaces less than spotless. I assure you we're on top of this! If there was anything else we could have done to enhance your stay, I would love to hear it.

Hopefully we can welcome you back again and show you an even better time.

Thanks very much,
Beth Smith, Valencia Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We have visited Hotel Valencia a couple of times. When you go, ask for one of the junior suites. You'll find a semi-rounded room with a long, extremely comfortable sectional stretching along the entire outside perimeter of the room. This suite has an amazing view of the Riverwalk, large, comfy bed in the center of the room, and wonderful amenities. The decor is contemporary, comfortable, inviting, and sexy. This is a very romantic hotel with tons of charisma. The location is superb, and we thoroughly enjoy our experiences at Hotel Valencia. Can't say it enough....romantic and sexy!!!!!

Room Tip: Go for one of the junior suites or the presidential suite!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wenola, Owner at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
We're so glad you love your stays at our hotel! The junior suite is certainly a beautiful, romantic setting for a getaway. Thank you for recommending our hotel for a fantastic stay along the Riverwalk. We look forward to welcoming you both back again!
Warm regards,
Beth Smith, Valencia Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Hotel Valencia is conveniently located downtown San Antonio next to River Walk and within walking distance of all city attractions. When you walk into the lobby of Hotel Valencia, you are immediately smell chlorine – there is a waterfall in the lobby and the smell is pretty powerful.
Since most of the 1-st floor is taken up by waterfall, the reception desk is located on the 2-nd floor. Elevator has a security feature that you need to swipe your room card in order to get to any of the guest floors. Our room was on the 4th floor with windows facing Houston Street. The room was rather large and dark with sparse contemporary black furnishings. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom small and not conveniently organized. When sitting on the toilet, you had the really twist to get to the toilet paper. The towel bar for hand towels was hanging so low, that you had to crouch to get to the towels. The hook for towels on the bathroom door was about 7’ off the ground. I had to jump to hang towels on it. Also be aware that there is a dimmer on the light switch in the bathroom, which is very convenient, but it’s so tiny, that I had no idea how to make the lights bright enough to put my make-up on. There was no safe in the room, but mini-bar was featured prominently. The biggest problem with this hotel for us was noise level. The 1-st night people in the room next door had a drunken party until about 4 am. We went to the front desk to complain and after awhile, they quieted down. The next 2 nights we were kept awake by loud noise from the sidewalks or River Walk.
When we were checking out of the hotel, we were presented with valet parking bill, even though we didn't have a car and asked them to get us a taxi to the airport.
I would not stay again at this hotel because of the noise level.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretS07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wenola, Owner at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Margaret,

Thank you for staying with us during your time in San Antonio, as well as taking the time to leave such thorough feedback. I'm glad you found the room clean and comfortable. I appreciate you bringing the chlorine smell to my attention, too; that sounds unusual for us so I'll have the maintenance team look into it. Also, while we don't provide a safe in every room, we are happy to hold your important belongings in a safe at the front desk.
I'm sorry to hear the guests next door were louder than usual— Hotel Valencia certainly is not a rowdy hotel. We try to stay on top of disturbances like that and take care of them very quickly. I am sorry about this and hope you were still able to get some good sleep. Admittedly, the rooms that face Houston Street are subject to outside noise. If you return to San Antonio, I assure you we can find you a different room nestled further in the hotel, off the main Riverwalk, that is quieter. We really would love to welcome you back and show you much better stay— I know we have what it takes to impress you!

Warm regards,
Beth Smith, Valencia Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I was on a business trip in San Antonio and stayed at the hotel because it is one of the company approved hotels in the downtown San Antonio area. I was a little concerned at first because the price was less expensive compared to the other major brands in the river walk area but was pleasantly surprised when I arrive. The hotel staff is extremely service oriented. They were extremely pleasant and very helpful.

The hotel is on the river walk but not exactly close to the riverwalk mall area. It's close enough that you can walk but if you are expecting to walk outside the hotel and be in the main riverwalk area...you will be somewhat disappointed. Like I mentioned, it's close enough so it wasn't an issue for me.

The hotel is very modern/comtempory looking. The rooms were very good size, clean and comfortable. The hotel and rooms are a little on the dark side - lots of black walks and low lighting. The sleep quality was very good and there wasn't any outside noise.

The room rate also included breakfast. The breaksfast service was a little on the slow side but the fool quality was very good. There isn't a breakfast buffet but the menu offered a variety of options.

I enjoyed staying at the Hotel Valencia and would definitely stay there again. Overall enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exptraveller501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wenola, Owner at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
I'm glad you chose us during your business trip to San Antonio, even happier to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your attention to our breakfast menu, interior decor and location. We love our spot on the Riverwalk, just down from the main mall— our location is convenient yet calm!

We would love to have you back again, whether for business or pleasure. In addition to major attractions like the Alamo and the River Walk, we are also close to a rapidly expanding arts and cultural community, with galleries and museums in all directions. Hope to have you back while the wildflowers are still in full bloom!

All the best,
Beth Smith, Valencia Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,566 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,084 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,666 - ₹ 17,713
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the San Antonio River Walk, within walking distance of the Alamo, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is a short walk from the San Antonio Convention Center, downtown attractions and only a short drive to The Pearl, theme parks and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Naranja bar and dine in Dorregos Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing