We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Not Great but Not Bad” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Ranked #6 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not Great but Not Bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Great location and very busy bar scence on a Saturday night. Lobby is on the second floor and reception is badly lite and hard to hear due to the acoutics and the water fall. Looks great but not very user freindly IMHO. Room 11th floor was facing Houston street and VERY load traffic noise, WIndows were single pane. Many mood lighing opportunities with dimmers at multiple locations in the room. Room furnishings were very well done and appointed. For the location across the street from the Majistic Theater it is a great consideration to stay if attending the theater. Their restaurant was a fabulous find. Most hotel restaurants are middle road this one was at the high end of a meal expereince. Wonderful food and great service. Would definately go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for something not on Houston St if you want a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLKAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,791
    512
    200
    117
    58
See reviews for
410
1,108
76
499
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I loved my stay at Hotel Valencia. The building and lobby is beautiful the staff was friendly and fast. The room was modern and very clean. We had breakfast from room service and I couldnt ask for more. The V bar is a great place to finish your night since all you have to do is take the elevator to your room. The location is a little ways off the riverwalk but I was happy with it. When we go back to the riverwalk, the only hotel im staying at is Valenica :)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valarie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wenola, Owner at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Valarie,

I'm happy to know you loved your stay with us! The V Bar is an excellent place to wind down after a night out on the River Walk, I agree. You just have to slip away to the comfort of your private room upstairs.

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to San Antonio!

All the best,
Beth Smith, Valencia Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laredo, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

we love this room to go as a family or with other couples. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. the restaurants Are excellent and the bAr has great service.

Room Tip: View to the river walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wenola, Owner at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Vanessa,

I'm glad you love your stays here at Hotel Valencia. I also appreciate you recommending Citrus and VBar— they are both prime places to dine and relax. We're lucky to have them! Hope to have you back again soon.

Until next time,
Beth Smith, Valencia Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Just ended a great stay at Hotel Valencia. Room was comfortable, decor and feel of lobby, bar, and restaurants was swanky. Loved it and will stay there again. Bonus...saw Charles Kelly from Lady Antebellum there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jtaylgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wenola, Owner at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Swanky and comfortable -- we're glad you think so! Thank you for staying with us for your visit to San Antonio. We're looking forward to welcoming you back next time!

Until then,
Robert Leyva, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Booked for President's weekend. First visit to San Antonio. Agree with other Tripadvisor comments on dark lobby. However, after a couple of days not bad.

Reserved at an upgrade rate a courtyard room. It was large, clean and comfortable. We did notice the smell of kitchen exhaust from time to time. After looking around the courtyard I noticed the exhaust fan from the kitchen was located on the roof above the courtyard.

The hotel is located within walking distance of the Alamo, River Walk, River Center Mall and fine restaurants. Had dinner at Bohanan's one night. Above average food and service. Staff at hotel were nice. There was a party in the lobby when we came the first night but we couldnt hear it once we got to our room on the courtyard level.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chucknoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wenola, Owner at Hotel Valencia Riverwalk, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
A belated welcome to San Antonio! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay over President's weekend. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience here. We'd love to welcome you back to the city. Perhaps for Mother's Day or just a summer escape?

Hope to see you again soon,
Robert Leyva, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,137 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 358 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valencia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valencia Riverwalk

Property: Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
Address: 150 East Houston Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2223
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,455 - ₹ 20,387
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valencia Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the historic San Antonio River Walk, Hotel Valencia Riverwalk is a boutique hotel in San Antonio located in the heart of downtown. Hotel Valencia is ideal for a romantic or weekend getaway, a business trip or a group or convention. Our hotel is within walking distance of the Alamo and other downtown attractions and only a short drive to Sea World, Six Flags Fiesta Texas and various golf courses. Enjoy signature cocktails in Vbar and dine in the acclaimed Citrus Restaurant. Amenities include signature beds with Egyptian cotton linens, complimentary high speed internet and newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Valencia Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valencia Riverwalk Hotel
Valencia Riverwalk San Antonio
Hotel Valencia San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing