We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Ranked #33 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was spacious, the beds were comfortable and the shower was great. The room could have used better lighting. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was good and cooked on site. They have free parking and wi-fi. The location is excellent and bus lines are close. They are within walking distance of downtown. We would recommend it for anyone wanting to be near downtown.

Room Tip: A 4th floor room would be good so no one would be walking around above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed the rooms, the amenities and the service...it humbles us when we receive these wonderful compliments from our guests, and it is a source of pride for our Staff when we share each comment with them during our Staff Meetings...thank you. The Tiffany-style lamps in the guest rooms offer a lot of ambiance to the turn-of-the-century decor of the property and we're working on adding the additional illumination you requested. The breakfast is FRESHLY prepared, no bagged stuff, and if you take a minute to speak with Pops (our cook) he'll tell you how he cooked for Elvis and U.S. Presidents back in the day.

I hope we'll see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    330
    87
    45
    41
See reviews for
274
444
56
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stay at the Sunset Suites in San Antonio several times. Staff is super helpful. Location to Alamodome is outstanding! I can just park my car and leave it for the entire trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WECCmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We're happy that all went well and we'll check on that A/C unit.. The Staff will be happy to hear that their hard work and great smiles did not go unnoticed, thank you for sharing that and we will pass it on at our next Staff Meeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We were 5 days in this hotel. It was very pleasant to stay in the hotel. close to the center with free parking. the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was great and varied. The room was big and nice. the only thing that we were changing in the room is the air condioning that was little bit noising. If we return to San antonio we return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avi696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
You hit on all the points we brag about :). Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We're glad to have been part of your romantic getaway and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Isabel, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

The hotel was right off the interstate exit EASY ACCESS. All of the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The lobby was very impressive and inviting. The rooms were clean and well maintained.We enjoyed the breakfast buffet which was a great start for the day.We plan to return to San Antiono, and will stay here again .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestwesternsunset, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Thank you for your review. We're glad to know that we made your romantic getaway a little more enjoyable. Wishes for many years of good health and love are sent your way. See you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Motoring into the city we found easy access to the hotel property.
Reservations made on line were accurate and we were greeted in a friendly and pleasent manner.
This older building was well maintained with a spacious lobby and a decor of warm woods and hardwood floors.
The breakfast area adjacent to the lobby continued with the same theme. They served a wonderful full hot buffet breakfast with many choices and well worth the small minimal charge.
The hotel was quiet and restful. Our room was clean, comfortable with good beds and pillows and pleasant to come back to after a day of fun.
The staff were pleasant and polite especialy the lady who worked in the breakfast area.
The hotel was convenient to walk to the Riverwalk and to the Alamo

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for your wonderful compliments, I will let the Staff know that their hard work and friendly smiles are always appreciated. Did you know that the lobby and breakfast area still house the original setting of the late 1800's with the solid wood floors and brass ceiling tiles? It makes it so pleasant to come to work each day and enjoy the ambiance of that era...the guest rooms, although built in 2000, continue with the historic charm of the property decorated with Solid Oak Mission-Style furniture and tiffany lamps, but have all the modern amenities suited to today's travelers. Thank you again for your kind words and your business, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#13 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#19 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Far West Side
BEST WESTERN PLUS Atrea Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Staybridge Suites Downtown San Antonio Convention Center
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk
Address: 1103 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#37 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,148 - ₹ 13,206
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Best Western Sunset Suites Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. An all-suites boutique hotel offering comfortable, convenient downtown accommodations, free Internet access, on-site parking ($12.95+tax per day), vacation packages and easy access to San Antonio's best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunset Suites-Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Suites - Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Best Western Riverwalk
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing