We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay at TownePlace Suites Downtown was very pleasant!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Ranked #117 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our stay at TownePlace Suites Downtown was very pleasant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Our stay at TownePlace Suites Downtown was very pleasant! We arrived at a late hour and had some hitches but Victoria at your front desk went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. It is people like her and her attitude towards customers that make us feel welcome. Even our dog Twinkie had a memorable birthday and enjoyed the attention she got.

Room Tip: Just remember you have to walk a bout a block to "walk" your dog at the Travis Park. But i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kannangator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    160
    62
    17
    23
See reviews for
144
159
13
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

The whole family accompanied me on a business trip. We had not stayed at this new hotel before. I think Marriott is one of the outstanding hotel chains out there, so I had high expectations for this trip. Prior reviews of this specific hotel plus the very reasonable cost for downtown led me to pick this place for our annual July trip. There are definite pluses and minuses for this hotel. A savvy traveler can check out the reviews and make an informed decision!
First, the location in mid-downtown is outstanding. You are one block from Alamo Plaza, one block from the Riverwalk, and three blocks from the convention center. The trolley runs in front of the hotel, and you are across the street from the nearest cab stand. Second, Marriott provides a clean, comfortable room. We slept very well here. The room is beautifully appointed. We did wish there was a sofa sleeper in the room for our fifth party member, but we made do. There is an LCD tv in the room with all the cable channels. The shower provides a pleasant strong stream of hot water, and it seems to be the right temperature any time of the day.
Second, while the hotel offers valet parking at a bit of a steep price, the peace of mind of not having to drive around looking for a parking place in downtown S.A. seems worth it. A call to the valet 10-15 minutes before you need it plus a $3 tip seems okay to me. Plus, everything you need is a short walk or trolley ride fro. Your location here.
Third, the fitness room here has what you need to keep your exercise regimen going, but every Marriott I've stayed at offers this consistently. The pool area is pleasant. The pool is SMALL. No getting around that fact. No diving. More than a half dozen people and you'll be feel like you're in a bathtub. The ambience here is nice though, but the courtyard feels like you're surrounded by windows, and there's virtually no sun unless it's high noon. Towels are plentiful, and there is a phone to the desk in case of a problem. Tiles are slippery when wet!
Fourth, the basement lounge offers a breakfast with hot and cold items. There were powdered eggs, waffles, bacon/sausages, pastries and cereals. Coffee/tea/juice all are available (the coffee is good). It is not a gourmet breakfast, but it can give you a quick start until lunch. Compared to other chains like Holiday Inn, this is lacking in quality. There is plenty of room in the lounge, and flat screen tv's offer all the news channels and morning shows. This is a pleasantly appointed area. Long term plans include adding a bar down here.
Finally, I believe the nightly rate is extremely reasonable for a downtown San Antonio hotel. I should expect to play at least $150 per night to get a decent hotel room in San Antonio, and you definitely get what you pay for. Even with valet parking, this is a reasonable hotel. Okay for families, excellent for business travelers, okay for couples or singles.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Rambotuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed @ this hotel do to a family friend giving us a discounted employee rate. We were able to check in early however the rate paid @ check in was 20 higher than what was quoted when reserved & they wouldn't change it to what we were promised. Then there is the parking issue. They have no parking so pay 25 for valet or drive around till you find something that allows overnight parking. The pool was a joke. It was about the size of a bath tub in which the lighting fell into the pool while my daughter was swimming. Can we say electrocution! Then there wasn't any sheets for the fold out bed & when front desk was notified i was told I will get back to you when I can help you rudely. My husband went down to the desk & spoke with her & turns out she was the only one working & he was asked to watch the front desk so she could go get him the sheets we needed. Terribly understaffed accompanied by rude customer service if this suits you then by all means stay here but I highly recommend paying more money & getting what you need. I'm all about saving $$ however I will never stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bkgraham222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed here during our one night stay in San Antonio. It was perfect for what we were looking for. The location was great, just a short walk to the riverwalk and the alamo. We chose to valet for convenience reasons and it was nice to have that, but when we tried to call down to guest services for our car, no one answered so we had to wait downstairs 15 minutes for our car to be pulled around - just a minor inconvenience, but we were on a time crunch. They have a reception, but only on Wednesday and Thursday. Unfortunately we missed out on breakfast. We got down there at 9:30 exactly (slept through alarms) and they were putting everything up so we didn't get to try it. There was a coffee/tea bar available at all times which was incredibly nice. Upon reservation, I did make a request to have a room up high (to avoid street noise) and was placed on the second floor. A little annoying as I'm a rewards member, but we put on some music to sleep which helped block out the street noise. Overall, it was an okay stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanAw62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

The hotel needs to inform guests that there is NO parking and for valet a day it's $24.87 a day plus u have to tip the valet men!! Pet fees are $100.00 non-refundable there is no where for pets to go downtown except for a park a couple of blocks away. The housekeeper we had was really nice. But as far as our family we won't be back small rooms but not so great when u have pets. Oh and they have alot of homeless people around. Not a good look

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripfind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio At The Alamo
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Sheraton Gunter Hotel San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown

Property: TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Address: 409 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2615
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#62 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#74 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,791 - ₹ 14,997
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$29.00 Valet Parking Charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites San Antonio Downtown Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing