We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,673)
Filter reviews
2,673 results
Traveller rating
1,667
631
220
91
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,667
631
220
91
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscibolo moonlazy riverhigh velocityhill countrycrooked branchtpc golf coursepool areaadult poolkids activitieskids clubbeautiful propertylobby barlabor day weekendfire pitbusiness conferenceself parkingconference center
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,218 - 2,223 of 2,673 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We met friends from Minnesota for Easter vacation. There was something for everyone to do. Play golf or just watch the Masters.....lazy river, slide or just lay by the pool. The food was awesome and the kids activities were limitless. It was hard to drag ourselves away from the resort to go to the Riverwalk!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lskjongn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We were here for 10 days in February for a conference, and had little time for the spa, golf or lazy river, but really wish I had made the time, as those from our group who experienced all three raved about them.

The service, the decor, the landscaping, the food, the service - did I mention the service? were all top-notch. The food is all locally sourced and everything, from the rolls to the butter on them, are made on site. Not to be missed: the Sunday Brunch at 18 Oaks with live music. Absolutely, positively make reservations.

Room Tip: Ask for a golf course or lazy river view.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenBrown_CBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

It takes a while to get to this place from the airport, but it's worth the wait! The entry lets you know that you are in for a treat. It's soaring ceilings and view of the golf course and hills says it all. The staff was amazing! Friendly and helpful with real smiles from everyone we encountered. We were there for a business meeting, and the conference rooms were very nice. The grounds were wonderful to explore and we watched several young ladies preparing to be married in various spots around the property on Friday night. The food is delicious! Watch out for the Luxury Hill Country Margarita! It's so good you just can't help but have two and then they hit!! Whooo! =0> The pool and slides were a lot of fun, even for adults, and we spent a very nice afternoon enjoying them. We also had the time to do the Segway tour. What a blast!! It's a nice long tour and we watched people in San Antonio trying to ride them on crowded sidewalks with traffic and were glad we had the opportunity to try them out on the excellent paths and walkways of the hotel.
Eat at Cibolo Moon, drink out on the patios, have a blast. It's on my top ten list of favorite places we've been in a long while.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have lounges on the patios. Try to get a room on the shady side if you'd like to sit out in the afternoons. Ours was on the sun side and it gets so hot you couldn't touch the table or chairs.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GWMarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I wanted to take my husband on a weekend get-a-way for his 30th birthday. I did A LOT of research on Texas Golf Resorts and heavily considered La Cantera, The Hyatt Hill Country, Barton Creek and Horseshoe Bay as well. I am SOOOOOO glad we went to the JW Marriott SA Hill Country Resort. After staying here I will NEVER visit the other golf resorts. There is no need. This resort is perfect.

The service is AMAZING. Every single employee that works there is friendly, happy, looks at you when passing by and says hello, asks how you are, if there is anything they can do for you. Each one of them is quick to please. They seem like they are happy working there and every one of them looks at you in the eye when they pass you by and greets you with a smile/good morning/good afternoon. Many of them remember you the very next day too! The service is most impressive.

The room is gorgeous. There's not a bad view from any room. We had a breathtaking view of a golf course and gorgeous gazebo and water fountains.

There are bean bags and lots of grass areas for family games.

The water park is so fun! The slides are thrilling and the lazy river is relaxing. We are in our 30's and still enjoyed it so it's not just for kids!

The adult pool is BREATHTAKING. It is an infinity edge pool that over looks a gorgeous, green golf course. It's like a postcard. I felt like I was sitting in a spot that they would film the Bachelor at. I am serious. The view is absolutely incredible!

The grounds (both inside and out) are just glistening. They are very clean, well kept and just stunning.

The cocktails are tasty! Loved the chocolate martini at the High Velocity bar.

The fish tacos and onion petals by the pool are to-die-for. YUMMY! I am still craving fish tacos!

We loved the sports bar- High Velocity. Very cool spot to watch a good game!

Downtown San Antonio wasn't very far- 30 minutes away. For anyone that complains about the distance- it's close enough to the city if you want to get to downtown- but it is in the Hill Country- meaning a gorgeous place to relax. If you can't handle 30 minutes to the city-which isn't that far anyways- then just stay downtown. But the resort is supposed to be a getaway place and a little farther out.

On a side note- we went in to town one night and ate at Bohanans. It's exquisite and highly recommended.

I want to discuss the price point- It's a 5 star resort and you DEFINITELY get what you pay for. I thought it was quite reasonable and expected to spend much more than our final bill actually. The drinks and food aren't any more than any other hotel would be, to be honest. I felt like the prices were very fair. It's not the cheapest place in town, sure, but the luxury resort is well worth the splurge! You will not be dissapointed.

My husband is a total golf SNOB. He only plays at the very best places and is very critical about courses. He LOVED both courses. He said the courses are gorgeous, challenging and the conditions were the best he had played at. He has played other TPC golf courses and he said this was by far the best one!

I cannot wait to go back to the the JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country! If you are looking for a golf resort- this is it!!!! Promise!!! If you are looking for a Hill Country get-a-way, it won't get any more relaxing than this. If you are looking for a luxury hotel, stay here! It's the PERFECT romantic get-a-way and would also be great for families too!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovethebeachinsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed early April with my wife and 2 boys ages 4 and 8mo. Our stay was great! The pool area/water park is great especially for small children. Lazy river is fun and the water slides are an excellent thrill.

Rooms are of decent size. We had a full size balcony which was nice for evening relaxation after the kids went to bed. Did some site seeing in San Antonio (Riverwalk, Zoo) both were good times.

Stayed using points which was a great value. Also had an excellent steak dinner at 18 Oaks Restaurant. Had the chance to dine at Smith and Wollensky in NYC earlier this year - and the meal at 18 Oaks was far superior.

Room Tip: Water slides are awesome -but caution the one on the left is in a tunnel and pitch black!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brad s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews