We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Spring Break!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
New Lenox, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Family Spring Break!”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We just got home from a 5 night stay at this resort. We live in the Chicago area was looking for a resort with a great pool and decent weather. My sister had stayed here in the past so we went ahead and booked a room. We had a great time! The resort is beautiful and the pools are really great for families. We never used the adult pool because we were there with our 6 year old son. We did the water slides and lazy river several times a day. Easter weekend was busy but by Sunday afternoon there was maybe 20 families there.We ate at all of the restaurants except for the golf club. The brisket at Ciablo was EXCELLENT! As was the BBQ brisket flatbread pizza. It is a 30 minuted ride to the riverwalk and Alamo. There is a nice shopping area 5 minutes from the resort as well. Also, the resort is located in the Ciablo area of San Antonio--not at all tourist like. Which we liked! Staff is very friendly-almost to friendly!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mel7999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,510
    564
    180
    68
    54
See reviews for
926
377
31
737
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We met friends from Minnesota for Easter vacation. There was something for everyone to do. Play golf or just watch the Masters.....lazy river, slide or just lay by the pool. The food was awesome and the kids activities were limitless. It was hard to drag ourselves away from the resort to go to the Riverwalk!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lskjongn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, MD
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We were here for 10 days in February for a conference, and had little time for the spa, golf or lazy river, but really wish I had made the time, as those from our group who experienced all three raved about them.

The service, the decor, the landscaping, the food, the service - did I mention the service? were all top-notch. The food is all locally sourced and everything, from the rolls to the butter on them, are made on site. Not to be missed: the Sunday Brunch at 18 Oaks with live music. Absolutely, positively make reservations.

Room Tip: Ask for a golf course or lazy river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenBrown_CBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

It takes a while to get to this place from the airport, but it's worth the wait! The entry lets you know that you are in for a treat. It's soaring ceilings and view of the golf course and hills says it all. The staff was amazing! Friendly and helpful with real smiles from everyone we encountered. We were there for a business meeting, and the conference rooms were very nice. The grounds were wonderful to explore and we watched several young ladies preparing to be married in various spots around the property on Friday night. The food is delicious! Watch out for the Luxury Hill Country Margarita! It's so good you just can't help but have two and then they hit!! Whooo! =0> The pool and slides were a lot of fun, even for adults, and we spent a very nice afternoon enjoying them. We also had the time to do the Segway tour. What a blast!! It's a nice long tour and we watched people in San Antonio trying to ride them on crowded sidewalks with traffic and were glad we had the opportunity to try them out on the excellent paths and walkways of the hotel.
Eat at Cibolo Moon, drink out on the patios, have a blast. It's on my top ten list of favorite places we've been in a long while.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have lounges on the patios. Try to get a room on the shady side if you'd like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GWMarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I wanted to take my husband on a weekend get-a-way for his 30th birthday. I did A LOT of research on Texas Golf Resorts and heavily considered La Cantera, The Hyatt Hill Country, Barton Creek and Horseshoe Bay as well. I am SOOOOOO glad we went to the JW Marriott SA Hill Country Resort. After staying here I will NEVER visit the other golf resorts. There is no need. This resort is perfect.

The service is AMAZING. Every single employee that works there is friendly, happy, looks at you when passing by and says hello, asks how you are, if there is anything they can do for you. Each one of them is quick to please. They seem like they are happy working there and every one of them looks at you in the eye when they pass you by and greets you with a smile/good morning/good afternoon. Many of them remember you the very next day too! The service is most impressive.

The room is gorgeous. There's not a bad view from any room. We had a breathtaking view of a golf course and gorgeous gazebo and water fountains.

There are bean bags and lots of grass areas for family games.

The water park is so fun! The slides are thrilling and the lazy river is relaxing. We are in our 30's and still enjoyed it so it's not just for kids!

The adult pool is BREATHTAKING. It is an infinity edge pool that over looks a gorgeous, green golf course. It's like a postcard. I felt like I was sitting in a spot that they would film the Bachelor at. I am serious. The view is absolutely incredible!

The grounds (both inside and out) are just glistening. They are very clean, well kept and just stunning.

The cocktails are tasty! Loved the chocolate martini at the High Velocity bar.

The fish tacos and onion petals by the pool are to-die-for. YUMMY! I am still craving fish tacos!

We loved the sports bar- High Velocity. Very cool spot to watch a good game!

Downtown San Antonio wasn't very far- 30 minutes away. For anyone that complains about the distance- it's close enough to the city if you want to get to downtown- but it is in the Hill Country- meaning a gorgeous place to relax. If you can't handle 30 minutes to the city-which isn't that far anyways- then just stay downtown. But the resort is supposed to be a getaway place and a little farther out.

On a side note- we went in to town one night and ate at Bohanans. It's exquisite and highly recommended.

I want to discuss the price point- It's a 5 star resort and you DEFINITELY get what you pay for. I thought it was quite reasonable and expected to spend much more than our final bill actually. The drinks and food aren't any more than any other hotel would be, to be honest. I felt like the prices were very fair. It's not the cheapest place in town, sure, but the luxury resort is well worth the splurge! You will not be dissapointed.

My husband is a total golf SNOB. He only plays at the very best places and is very critical about courses. He LOVED both courses. He said the courses are gorgeous, challenging and the conditions were the best he had played at. He has played other TPC golf courses and he said this was by far the best one!

I cannot wait to go back to the the JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country! If you are looking for a golf resort- this is it!!!! Promise!!! If you are looking for a Hill Country get-a-way, it won't get any more relaxing than this. If you are looking for a luxury hotel, stay here! It's the PERFECT romantic get-a-way and would also be great for families too!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovethebeachinsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,549 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 354 in San Antonio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78261-2018
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,022 - ₹ 39,145
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa has firmly established itself as the city's premier luxury destination and the renowned resort in Texas' Hill Country. Rated 4-Diamonds by AAA, and just 12 miles from San Antonio International Airport (SAT), our luxury resort features the 36-hole TPC San Antonio golf course, home to the Valero Texas Open, Lantana Spa, a six acre water park and seven restaurants. Our restaurants are sure to please with Texas BBQ, genuine Mexican cuisine and private dining rooms for groups. Our rooms offer cozy beds, scenic views, soft robes & large bathrooms. Guests will also enjoy the open lobby with free Wi-Fi. Whether you're seeking a peaceful respite, productive conference or fun-filled family vacation, our luxurious Hill Country resort will not only exceed your expectations but redefine them altogether. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing