We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No way it is rated 4/5 stars!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio
Ranked #168 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“No way it is rated 4/5 stars!!”
Reviewed 9 August 2012 via mobile

My first thoughts are...who are these people that rated this motel so high?? Management? Employees? Owners?

I can only comment on the room. I did not use any of the facilities or free breakfast bar. The pool looked nice but I didn't use it. When you arrive at a hotel and there are very few cars in the parking lot, it makes you wonder.

The lobby and entrance were nice and clean, but needed to be updated. There was nobody at the front desk and after waiting several minutes, someone finally showed up. He was very courteous and friendly but didn't seem to be in a uniform.

We upgraded to the executive suite which was supposed to have been recently renovated. The room was $ 79 for the night. As we entered the room, the first thought I had was it was old and dirty. I just felt dirty and musty. The only that had been renovated in this room was the the tv. It had a large flat screen tv mounted on the wall but the remote control didn't work. The bathroom needs major renovations, very old with water damage stains visible. The towels were like sandpaper. The bed was very firm and sheets seemed clean.

Overall, I would not stay here again. It is less expensive than any other hotels around but still not worth the money. For a name brand chain, it is bad. I couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hogman111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    113
    70
    70
    68
See reviews for
258
81
35
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This place is the biggest dump I have ever stayed at in my life. The rooms are old and dirty the place is old and dirty and needs to be condemed. The hotel allows pets and it is clearly noticeable the rooms smell like dog and are filthy. The ice machines are noisy and dont work and the breakfast is a joke I wouldn't feed my dog that stuff. The only reason I had picked to stay here is because they are pet friendly but at the last minute found a dog sitter but it was too late hangs my reservations to some were else. BIG TIME DUMP!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock
Level Contributor
174 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed here because it was close to FiestaTexas and much cheaper than the motel we stayed at the last two years. This place could use some updating, but our rooms were clean and so were the facilities! The staff were very helpful. The second night, there were some guests who were talking very loudly out in the courtyard after midnight. I called the desk and the noise stopped for about five minutes and started again. I called again and the desk said she had talked with everyone who was outside and she would call the police to handle the matter. In about fifteen minutes, absolute silence. We really appreciated the prompt attention to this problem, which can happen anywhere.

The pool is well maintained. It was closed for an hour one day because some bugs needed to be cleaned out and the pool needed more chlorine. When they say the pool closes at ten, they do mean ten. The gate is locked.

The breakfast was typical. Waffles (which were made by an employee which really kept down the confusion), cereal, rolls, coffee, milk, juice. etc. There were not enough tables during the busiest time, so we took our breakfast back to the room. Although there is a big sign that says "Please do not take food to your room" no one said anything.

So yes, we saved a lot of money! Would go back again! Recommend this hotel to anyone who needs value and cleanliness. Great staff also.

Room Tip: The rooms are built around a courtyard. You should ask for rooms toward the back as there is a busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texas1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate your taking the time to give us a good review. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We hope to see you again on your next visit to San Antonio.

Sincerely,

Sarah Stefano
Sales Director
Howard Johnson San Antonio Central
6901 W Interstate 10
San Antonio, TX 78213
T: (210) 738-1100 Ext. 304
F: (210) 738-1230
E: hojosalessa@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2012

My family of Five Stayed at this hotel during our family vacation from 7-4-12 thru 7-7-12. The service was great. The staff was professional and accomodating. The always gave us the needed the information and towels when we requested.....we used alot of towels. The gym could use some ventalization....but yeah who works out anymore these days anyway when their on vacation....ok....we do.....that aside great service all the way around...they even gave us a little extension on our check time...we had alot of stuff...LOL....Go here and have a great time while on vacation....last note....the pool was very nice as well. My kids had a blast!!

Room Tip: The higher rooms seem to be more comforable....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

I had a wonderful three nughts stay with my family of five two adults three kids.We all had an amazing stay. The room was clean as we cheked in and they cleaned our room every day.The staff was amazing and we even had a BBQ at the pool area on 4th of July we had fun.The pool was nice and clean and the for the hotel price was good and the sevice better will be comming back soon and fully recommend. Breakfast was good they had a variety of options just enough to satisfy morning craving.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
North Central
La Quinta Inn San Antonio Vance Jackson
Uptown Broadway
Red Roof Inn San Antonio - Airport
Northwest Side
Best Western Ingram Park Inn
Best Western Ingram Park Inn
#125 of 355 in San Antonio
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Holiday Inn Express & Suites San Antonio Medical Center North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio

Property: Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio
Address: 6901 W Interstate 10, San Antonio, TX 78213-3989
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,617 - ₹ 10,593
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson- Suites by Wyndham offers their guests large, spacious suites that are designed to bring Comfort to any kind of traveler. Rooms are equipped with the following amenities: Microwave, Mini Fridge, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and room safe in every room. We serve a hot breakfast every morning. Complimentary High Speed Wireless & Wired internet access. Fitness and Business Center and guest laundry room available On site.Conveniently located off of Interstate 10 West near Loop 410, just minutes from all of San Antonio's favorite attractions including the Alamo, downtown Fine Dining, the famous River Walk, La Cantera Mall, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Sea World, South Texas Medical Center, The University of Texas, The University of the Incarnate Word and much more. Every Suite faces a tropical inner Courtyard view overlooking a Sparkling Swimming Pool and Heated Hotub. Four guest entry doors are secured by guest room key access. Choose The Howard Johnson Suites by Wyndham for a great stay at a quality price. As part of the Wyndham Hotel Group, Rewards members are always welcome! Don't forget to provide us with your Wyndham Rewards Number to get your points! Go HOJO & Go Happy!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Central San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Antonio / Balcones Heights
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites San Antonio / Balcones Heights Hotel San Antonio
Howard Johnson San Antonio
San Antonio Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Balcones Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing