We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little rocky”
Review of The Salem Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Salem Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Little rocky”
Reviewed 24 July 2012 via mobile

The check in process was extremely rocky. We checked in at the main house and did not realize there will multiple buildings. Drove the car around the block to the Curwin house to find out the driveway to the parking lot is extremely narrow and bumpy. Our car could not make it in the driveway.
We called the front desk and found another lot and were given another room close to our car.
Despite the frustration the gal working the front desk was extremely helpful.
The fire alarm went off at 2am, that was fun.
I really liked our room. Old timey and spacious.
Breakfast was a bomb. Cereal, toast, fruit, juice, coffee. What a let down!
Cool place and great location just a few things that were off.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaimepom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Jaimepom,
I am sorry that you found our check-in process to be extremely rocky. Our websie indicates that the Inn is comprised of three distinct historic buldings, within a short city block - the West House, the Curwen House and the Peabody House.
The driveway you had difficulty with, at the Curwen House, was recently repaved and is in excellent condition. It is difficult, however, to transition from the city street and the adjacent cobbletone sidewalk into our driveway. This is a result of the elevation of the cobblestones, which are the property of the city.
I'm pleased our helpful front desk staff was able to move you to a spacious historic room in another building with a different parking lot behind.
It is indeed unfortunate that the fire alarm went off at 2 AM. It doesn't happen very often, but it is loud and can be somewhat scary.
I'm not sure if you were expecting a hot, cooked to order, breakfast, but we do not have the facility to provide that, but we do offer a complimentary buffet breakfast.
All in all, I hope you enjoyed your stay. Diane Pabich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    192
    79
    52
    60
See reviews for
155
289
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stayed for two nights before the fourth of july and found it to be more of a challenge than I expected. We had the family room on the fourth floor and it was large but just furnished with run of the mill old furniture and nothing charming about it. The hotel did let us know about the stairways before our arrival but the climb was daunting for one with bad knees. We arrived in early evening just at dusk and was told where to park with written instructions that were by then in the dark a real pain to follow and the corwin house number is missing.The parking lot is very tight and I got the last spot, good thing we rented a kia or would not have made it. The new addition to this room is not great. It has twin skylights that have no covering and a glass door with no curtain to a small porch that overlooks the roof, so much for an afternoon nap. The kitchen had no paper towels, dish detergent or diswasher detergent so all we could do was rinse our dishes after pizza and birthday cake. The bathroom tub under the soap dish had that awful black mold so wouldn't consider using the jetted tub. Did see two small different critters in the bedroom crawling around. The linen is very basic and you dont get the feel that everything on the bed is clean. The family couch is really beat up and the bed in the big room is kinna like a dorm bed, not real comfortable and on an angle because of the floor not level. This will be the last time that I do a B&B as quaint and charming is not enough to make up for beat up and overpriced with built in inconveince and historic problems. It would be nice to have a shower and not be ankle deep in water.

Room Tip: Innkeepers that respond to every opinion of their property are on the defensive for some reason,not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank santapaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear Santa Paws,
I'm quite surprised that someone with bad knees would have booked the fourth floor suite, having been warned in advance of the three flights of stairs, and no elevator.
As for the parking at the Curwen House, I'm surprised you had a hard time finding it, as our front desk clerks always give verbal as well as written directions to our parking lots, and there is a very large sign hanging from the Curwen House with the name embossed in large, clear gold letters.
The suite you stayed in, # 40, is one of our most popular and requested rooms. We have never heard any of your many complaints from other guests. If you actually experienced all these problems, I don't understand why you would not have contacted the front desk, and either had the problems resolved, or be moved to a different room. Perhaps in the future you should consider staying at a modern motel or hotel, rather than a quaint, historic inn.
Yours truly, Diane Pabich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solon, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed in the Peabody House, the shrubs and weeds greeted us as we tried to make our way up the stairs, They were so over grown it looked terrible, The curb side apperance was terrible. Back parking lot was littered with cigarette butts all over the ground, not to mention the hornets nests on the house next door, which made it terribe trying to get into your car. The noise on the street was also not good for sleeping as cars raced up and down the street all night and early morning. We were in room 6 which was 38 steps dragging luggage to our room, and the queen bed was so terrible we ended up switching room to room 5 to find those beds just terrbile as well. Front desk help could care less and did nothing to help us with our frustation. Would have enjoyed meeting the owners, but they were no where to be found. Inside the Home was pretty but also dirty floors and dust everywhere. Only plus was everything was in walking distance, but others Places to stay were also within walking distance and seemed alot nicer then The Salem Inn. Very expensive place to stay and the beds and yard need serious updating.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susanroosz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Susan,
I and my two desk managers, Jennifer and Yuscenia, were both amazed to read your negative review. During your five night stay, they felt you were extremely pleased with the Inn and your accommodations. After your second night in room 6 at the Peabody House, you mentioned to them that you thought the queen bed was uncomfortable. To be helpful, they offered to bring you a bed up from room 5 below, on the second floor, but you told them not to bother and that you would instead move down to that room. No prior mention was ever made that you found these beds uncomfortable as well. At the time, you asked for an adjustment to be made to the rate for those two nights. Jennifer informed you that had she known of your problem, she could have taken care of it much sooner. Since she was unaware of it, nothing was done for you at that time. Hence she felt, and I agree, that no adjustment should have been made. However, she did offer you complimentary tickets to any one of Salem's attractions for your entire family, a minimum of $24 value, and you seemed quite satisfied with this.
You are correct in saying that the shrubs on either side of the entry stairs were overgrown. They have since been pruned back, as they should have been. However, I'm not sure what weeds you are referring to, as there are none.
As to our house and grounds keeping, we receive many, many compliments on how immaculate everything is. If you found cigarette butts in the parking area, it is very possible a guest had decided to smoke in his car, as it is not allowed in any of our Inn buildings. We do have exterior disposal cans on all our premises for cigarette disposal, which apparently someone ignored.
Our location is very, very convenient for enjoying the downtown areas of Salem. However, we are on a main access road into town, and there can be constant traffic in front of our two Summer St. buildings. The back rooms are much quieter. When the windows are shut, and usually they are since we have excellent, very quiet air conditioning units in each room, most of the street noise is not heard. Also, if stairs are a problem for you, you should have requested a room on a lower floor.
All in all, we are all very surprised at your complaints since they were never expressed during your extended stay, and we believe it is simply because you were not given a refund for the first two nights.
Yours truly,
Diane Pabich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredricton, NB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed it the Captain West House and yes it is old but that is the charm. Bathroom door would not close, floors squeaked and house made some noise during the night but that is the charm of staying in a old house. It was in a perfect location which enabled us to park our car and walk to everything we wanted to see. Breakfast room was really nice and the food was good. Staff were very helpfull. Really enjoyed our stay. Experienced by first 4th July festivities which was awesome.

Room Tip: Our room was number 11 which is was in the Capt West House first floor towards the back so we did h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear Cathy,
Thank you so much for your appreciative five star review. You are exactly the kind of guest our historic inn was planned for, as you enjoy a charming, old historic home in a perfect, convenient downtown location.
I'm glad you enjoyed our continental breakfast, and our breakfast room on the lower level. This is located in the original kitchens of the town homes, with walls of granite and brick, and even historic, built-in beehive ovens.
Didn't you just love those fireworks over the harbor - the best there is for sure. Hope to see you again soon.
Best regards,
Diane Pabich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This was a very nice Inn. Close to everything- we just parked the car when we first arrived in Salem then walked the rest of the time. Our room was comfortable.The room was clean. Day staff could have been friendlier-Inn staff should go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The stairs were a challenge- we were on 3rd floor. The beds were a bit lumpy. Wished parking was a tad closer but like I stated before we hardly used the car. Breakfast was in a beautiful room, the breakfast itself was unexceptional- would be nice to have a full breakfast and that would not be asking too much considering the cost of the room. Loved the family perks- free admission to House of the Seven Gables, Salem Witch museum and a gift card for a local pizza place! Had some mild ghostly encounters, nothing too scary but enough to let you know that the Inn is active. All in all an enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: The stairs are a challenge- make sure you know where your room is when you book. There are also cer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddpabich, Owner at The Salem Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Virginia G.,
Thank you for contributing your 4 * review of the Salem Inn and your clean, comfortable guest room. As you mentioned, one of the greatest things about the Salem Inn is its location and proximity to all that our historic little city has to offer. I apologize that the day staff wasn't as friendly and welcoming as they should have been. We do have a couple of new desk clerks who are in training, and sometimes are overwhelmed when things get too busy and hectic as can happen.
You booked one of our packages, and enjoyed all the local attractions that are part of it. A great value, to be sure.
Glad your ghostly encounters weren't too scary, and we do hope our ghosts are friendly.
Thanks for sharing, Diane Pabich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.7 km away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.7 km away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
1,940 reviews
7.9 km away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Boston Marriott Peabody
8.2 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
0.2 km away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Salem Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Salem Inn

Property: The Salem Inn
Address: 7 Summer St, Salem, MA 01970-3315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,292 - ₹ 15,873
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Salem Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three elegantly restored historic homes in heart of downtown Salem. Just a few minute's walk to restaurants, attractions, museums and waterfront. We offer forty charming, unique guest rooms with private baths. Family Suites with kitchenettes are perfect for families or extended stays. Complimentary breakfast (including an omelet bar), sherry night cap, free wi-fi, and YMCA passes available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Salem Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salem Hotel Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing