We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I want in a B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 9 Salem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Everything I want in a B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Just spent a delightful weekend at the Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast. The historic home was renovated beautifully. The rooms were exceptionally clean, thoughtfully fitted out, and charmingly decorated with period furniture and a very comfortable bed. The sitting room was welcoming and included amenities such as coffee, tea, hot chocolate and bottled water, reference books, pamphlets and maps. The set-up allowed for both privacy and interaction, as a particular guest might like. The breakfast was delicious and featured home--made goodies. Bob and Marcel were gracious, knowledgeable, easy hosts. The B&B is just steps from the sea and the House of the Seven Gables, and a short stroll to restaurants and the town center. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtesser97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Hi Marjorie and thank you so much for taking time to submit your lovely review! We certainly do appreciate your praise with respect to cleanliness, amenities, decor and comfort! As you mentioned, Marjorie, the B&B does strike a comfortable balance by providing privacy and yet allows for interactions between guests if they so wish. You were a delight to have stay with us and we send you our very best and certainly hope to see you again!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,207
    54
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
122
790
74
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, IN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at Morning Glory. Great experience. Bob and Marcel were very gracious hosts, laid back, friendly, and helpful. The breakfasts were different every day and were wonderful. We stayed in the Sarah Good suite which was super with the separate living room area. Also loved the third level deck. They have done a beautiful job restoring this historic building. The location is very convenient for anything in Salem. If our travels ever take us back to the Salem area, we would definitely stay at Morning Glory.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 55Tom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Hello Tom and we thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us at Morning Glory! The third floor Sarah Good Suite is indeed spacious and private with your own sitting room with flat screen TV, Keurig coffee machine and refrigerator. And with the roof deck just outside your door, the harbor views and ocean breezes are sure to take all of your cares away! Thank you for your compliments Tom on our renovations! This was, and continues to be, a labor of love! We send you both our very best and look forward to your return visit!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Bob and Marcel certainly make visitors welcome here - and it is a wonderful b and b. The rooms are well-designed, maintaining the character of times gone by, with modern touches. The water in the fridge, the coffee, the papers to browse... all lovely. Also, the roof deck is great for relaxing and enjoying the sun. This is a great b and b in Salem and very close to the main attractions, the pretty waterfront and good restaurants. I would like to have had a few more touches in the rooms (more varied toiletries, for example) but overall, this is one to recommend. As others say, make sure you try the infamous cheese bread! We enjoyed a delicious sweet breakfast of pancakes, fresh fruit and nuts, beautifully presented, around a communal breakfast table with guests from all over - nice to chat and meet others. A well-deserved number 1 position - thank you!

Room Tip: Great location in beautiful Salem - doubt it can be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Hello Matthew and thank you for your lovely review. We are happy to learn that you and Mark enjoyed your stay here at Morning Glory and found your overall experience to be great. Thank you for your praise on our pancakes with fresh fruit as well as your praise on our unbeatable location! If you have the time, we would greatly appreciate it if you could send us a quick email to let us know what other toiletries you might find useful, as we always welcome constructive criticism in an ongoing effort to improve our B&B. We do provide liquid soap at the sink as well as in the shower along with liquid shampoo, daily facial clensing cloths, hairdryers, extra bath tissue, kleenex and plenty of towels. We do pride ourselves on being a 'green' bed & breakfast and so we try to stay away from any small, disposable platic shampoo bottles or individually wrapped soaps. If we have overlooked anything, your comments would be greatly appreciated. We send you both our very best and hope to see you another time!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Bob and Marcel,

Thank you for a woderful weekend get away. Our room was beautifully decorated and made Joe and I very comfortable. We loved sitting on the roof and enjoyed the spectacular view. We also loved the convenient location and your hospitality! Breakfast was scrumptious!! Thank you Bob and Marcel for a getaway that felt more like home.

Sincerely,

Lynn and Joe

Room Tip: Stayed in Rebecca Nurse room. Beautiful decor, extremely comfortable bed and private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaklwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Hi Lynn and Joe and thank you so much for your great review! You guys had THE perfect day for kicking back in the reclining chairs on the roof deck and taking in the ocean breezes with a glass of wine and a good book! It really doesn't get much better than that! Thank you as well for your thumbs up on our morning breakfast. Glad you enjoyed the crepes with fresh fruit and butter maple walnut sauce! We would love for you both to come back to your home away from home when you next get the chance. Our very best to you both!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Hook, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We had a wonderful time. The atmosphere was cozy and we felt at home from the moment we entered. Bob and Marcel set up a situation where the guests got to know one another over the best breakfasts we have ever had. It is close to almost everything you would want to see (all the museums, shopping, restaurants, the sea, and right next to the House of the Seven Gables) but so quiet that one of the guests was saying there to finish writing a book. We loved having a private porch and our own entrance.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomm Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Hi Thomm and thank you very much for submitting your wonderful review. We thank you as well for all of your accolades with respect to our home made breakfasts, ideal lcoation and quiet surroundings. But of all your praises, the one we hold with the highest regard is the sense of 'welcome' you and Amber felt the minute you arrived at Morning Glory! Everything else is frosting on the cake! The feel of safety, comfort and home is what we strive for here at Morning Glory and knowing that this was your first impression upon arrival is, for us, a sense of satisfaction and accomplishment. We certainly hope to see you both again should you visit Salem again and until then, our very best to you both!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
0.5 km away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
0.5 km away
Hawthorne Hotel
Hawthorne Hotel
#1 of 3 in Salem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
9.0 km away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
6.0 km away
Boston Marriott Peabody
0.9 km away
The Merchant
The Merchant
#2 of 9 in Salem
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast

Property: Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
Address: 22 Hardy St, Salem, MA 01970-5656
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Salem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Morning Glory Hotel Salem
Morning Glory Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing