We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Hawthorne Hotel(Salem)(Great Value!)
US$ 328
US$ 255
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 246
US$ 233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel Salem(Salem)
US$ 229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Harbor Light Inn(Marblehead)
US$ 333
US$ 316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wylie Inn and Conference Center(Beverly)(Great Value!)
US$ 160
US$ 145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 191
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plaza Motel(Peabody)
US$ 99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,361)
Filter reviews
1,361 results
Traveller rating
1,296
55
7
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,296
55
7
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscheese breadbob shearebecca nurse roomrooftop deckcommon roomother guestswithin walking distanceplace to staygranolathought of everythingwonderful hostssitting roomnew englandsalem ferrybreakfast was delicioustop floorthird floor
Filter
Updating list...
633 - 638 of 1,361 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at Morning Glory. Great experience. Bob and Marcel were very gracious hosts, laid back, friendly, and helpful. The breakfasts were different every day and were wonderful. We stayed in the Sarah Good suite which was super with the separate living room area. Also loved the third level deck. They have done a beautiful job restoring this historic building. The location is very convenient for anything in Salem. If our travels ever take us back to the Salem area, we would definitely stay at Morning Glory.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 55Tom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Hello Tom and we thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us at Morning Glory! The third floor Sarah Good Suite is indeed spacious and private with your own sitting room with flat screen TV, Keurig coffee machine and refrigerator. And with the roof deck just outside your door, the harbor views and ocean breezes are sure to take all of your cares away! Thank you for your compliments Tom on our renovations! This was, and continues to be, a labor of love! We send you both our very best and look forward to your return visit!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Bob and Marcel certainly make visitors welcome here - and it is a wonderful b and b. The rooms are well-designed, maintaining the character of times gone by, with modern touches. The water in the fridge, the coffee, the papers to browse... all lovely. Also, the roof deck is great for relaxing and enjoying the sun. This is a great b and b in Salem and very close to the main attractions, the pretty waterfront and good restaurants. I would like to have had a few more touches in the rooms (more varied toiletries, for example) but overall, this is one to recommend. As others say, make sure you try the infamous cheese bread! We enjoyed a delicious sweet breakfast of pancakes, fresh fruit and nuts, beautifully presented, around a communal breakfast table with guests from all over - nice to chat and meet others. A well-deserved number 1 position - thank you!

Room Tip: Great location in beautiful Salem - doubt it can be beat!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Hello Matthew and thank you for your lovely review. We are happy to learn that you and Mark enjoyed your stay here at Morning Glory and found your overall experience to be great. Thank you for your praise on our pancakes with fresh fruit as well as your praise on our unbeatable location! If you have the time, we would greatly appreciate it if you could send us a quick email to let us know what other toiletries you might find useful, as we always welcome constructive criticism in an ongoing effort to improve our B&B. We do provide liquid soap at the sink as well as in the shower along with liquid shampoo, daily facial clensing cloths, hairdryers, extra bath tissue, kleenex and plenty of towels. We do pride ourselves on being a 'green' bed & breakfast and so we try to stay away from any small, disposable platic shampoo bottles or individually wrapped soaps. If we have overlooked anything, your comments would be greatly appreciated. We send you both our very best and hope to see you another time!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Bob and Marcel,

Thank you for a woderful weekend get away. Our room was beautifully decorated and made Joe and I very comfortable. We loved sitting on the roof and enjoyed the spectacular view. We also loved the convenient location and your hospitality! Breakfast was scrumptious!! Thank you Bob and Marcel for a getaway that felt more like home.

Sincerely,

Lynn and Joe

Room Tip: Stayed in Rebecca Nurse room. Beautiful decor, extremely comfortable bed and private bath.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaklwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Hi Lynn and Joe and thank you so much for your great review! You guys had THE perfect day for kicking back in the reclining chairs on the roof deck and taking in the ocean breezes with a glass of wine and a good book! It really doesn't get much better than that! Thank you as well for your thumbs up on our morning breakfast. Glad you enjoyed the crepes with fresh fruit and butter maple walnut sauce! We would love for you both to come back to your home away from home when you next get the chance. Our very best to you both!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We had a wonderful time. The atmosphere was cozy and we felt at home from the moment we entered. Bob and Marcel set up a situation where the guests got to know one another over the best breakfasts we have ever had. It is close to almost everything you would want to see (all the museums, shopping, restaurants, the sea, and right next to the House of the Seven Gables) but so quiet that one of the guests was saying there to finish writing a book. We loved having a private porch and our own entrance.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomm Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Hi Thomm and thank you very much for submitting your wonderful review. We thank you as well for all of your accolades with respect to our home made breakfasts, ideal lcoation and quiet surroundings. But of all your praises, the one we hold with the highest regard is the sense of 'welcome' you and Amber felt the minute you arrived at Morning Glory! Everything else is frosting on the cake! The feel of safety, comfort and home is what we strive for here at Morning Glory and knowing that this was your first impression upon arrival is, for us, a sense of satisfaction and accomplishment. We certainly hope to see you both again should you visit Salem again and until then, our very best to you both!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at Morning Glory B&B last night. Our first impressions was that of a lovely, warm and homely feeling. When we met our hosts, Bob & Marcel, they immediately welcomed us and made us feel right at home. We stayed in the Rebecca Nurse room which was impecibly furnished. The bed was extremely comfortable and our room also offered a lovely en-suite bathroom and an open fire place. The communal area offered everything you could possibly require such as Internet and printer access and most importantly... a coffee machine! The following morning, we woke to a lovely home cooked breakfast prepared by our hosts which we thoroughly enjoyed with fellow guests. We highly recommend Morning Glory and be assured you won't be disappointed as it's evident within moments of arriving that Bob & Macel put a lot of love and care into this establishment. We hope to return one day.
Frome Stephanie & Adam - Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephroberts76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobMarcel, Owner at Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Hello Stephanie and Adam and many thanks for your wonderful and quick post to TripAdvisor! We enjoyed very much your company here at Morning Glory and are so very pleased to read that your experience was a memorable one! Your praise with respect to our home in generally is very much appreciated and we are especially happy to hear that you both felt welcomed and at home here! We wish you a most exciting journey throughout your US tour before heading back home to beautiful Australia! Be safe and we send you both our very best!

Warm regards,
Bob & Marcel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews