We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Foodie Paradise!!!”
Review of Gulu-Gulu Cafe

Gulu-Gulu Cafe
Ranked #9 of 235 Restaurants in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 15
Cuisines: American, Czech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Foodie Paradise!!!”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Loved the European Cafe style and the wonderful quality of the food1

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jess_L_M_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    163
    50
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to go to...”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

My boyfriend & I (we're in our 30s) loved this Cafe. It was hip, friendly, stylish and they make a hell of a latte. If this Cafe was in my neighborhood...I would go there every day.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mustalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Great place to have fun; relax have some exotic beers and some snacks!!”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Not the best place to eat but really great for snacks, appetizers, cheese plates and especially huge selection of draft and bottle beers from all around the World!!!

Very good wifi Internet; not many outlet some make sure your laptop battery is fully charged !!!

They offer a lot of games, open mic nights, old movies and the ambiance is so great !!!

If you starve for a good meal; not the place to go in Salem !!! A lot of other great options!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank benoitleblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Cafe.”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

love the atmosphere. I was waiting for my Reading with the awesome Lori Bruno at Hex: Old world witchery across the street. was just good. I can't wait to get back there.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank APazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow, what a find!!!!”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Amazing sandwiches!!!!!!! I got the Barcelona with black forest ham instead of the smoked turkey. They have an extensive beer menu. The staff is incredibly friendly despite how crazy busy it is. There are almost never any empty tables which goes to show how great this place is. We went at 3pm-ish and were lucky to get the last 2 seats at the bar. It was a little bit of a wait for the food but we had the beer to hold us over. And it was well worth the wait. Huge sandwich on a plate with some chips and a mini salad. Very cute. The mustard was SPICY. Burned so good... yum! Got a t-shirt for 15 bucks to remember the place by. Cute dog holding a beer on the front.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christalynne8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gulu-Gulu Cafe? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing