We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Ranked #18 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Had a great time...”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

This is my first time at Westin La Paloma and to the Southwestern US. The views from resort were wonderful - pool was very relaxing and enjoyed the water slide (though it was closed our last day there). The inside of the room was very well maintained and recently updated. We were in building F - an 'uphill' walk from the main pool area - but a nice view of the mountains at sunrise (my colleague was in building C and she had a view overlooking the golf course and stunning Arizona Sunsets!) The resort is spread out; I enjoyed walking around the property between buildings but someone who has difficulty walking up and down hills may not like this (although they do have an abundance of staff with golf carts to take you around).

The food was highly priced but some bargains could be found. Azul's Happy Hour was a bargain featuring $5 Signature Martinis (I recommend the prickly pear punch), house wines and well drinks as well as $2 off draft beers and half price appetizers. The Appetizers were delicious - during the week we enjoyed the house charcuterie board (cold meats and cheeses); pork sliders, and fried risotto/mozzarella fritters with pomodoro (my favorite it included a 'side' of fresh baby greens with vinaigrette) and the mussels were also great! If you are coming to La Paloma in the next month - also try the J Bar (next to Janos) - great sunset views and one of the best margaritas (half priced during happy hour 5-6:30 pm). Also their 'J dog' (special southwest hot dog was $2.75 during happy hour and actually tasty). Our waiter told us that Janos and the J Bar will be closing at the end of the month :( but Janos also owns another restaurant in downtown Tucson. Also at checkin you will get a booklet of 'discount coupons' for the spa, restaurants and retail outlets in the hotel.

Conference facilities were nice -- only complaint was the temperature got cold, but I'm sure it's a challenge to maintain comfortable temperatures in SW Arizona and the conference staff were very responsive to requests to adjust thermostat.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room with a view - Building C for sunset; or F for quiet sunrise views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momof3girlsNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for posting about the many amenities and the values you enjoyed at La Paloma. We hope you may return soon and spend a few days relaxing by the pool and experience more culinary delights in our restaurants. We wish you continued safe travels…remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,712
    587
    254
    141
    77
See reviews for
678
661
111
929
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (787)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Foxborough, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2012

This is my second trip to Tucson and my second stay at La Paloma. While the hotel and its amenities are great, it is the golf that brings me back. The course is perfectly maintained and every tee presents a beautiful and at times breath-taking view. Rabbits and Grouse (or whatever bird has that funny feather sticking up from its head) hang out on the tees and on the fairways. The layout is challenging and requires good shot-making. The staff is exceptionally helpful and ready to assist with any request, and they made me feel like they were really happy to have me a guest on their course. All-in-all a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Some ground floor rooms don't have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for choosing La Paloma for your golf destination in Tucson. As you noted we take great pride in our resort as well as the Jack Nicklaus Signature Course. Call us directly as we have wonderful golf packages available all year long. We wish you continued safe travels…remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Not only is the view outstanding but the stay was wonderful. Three families traveling together for spring break. We had a great time each day at the pool. The service pool side was excellent. Gabriel Ortega made sure we had enough to drink & eat. He also went over and above and recommended some terrific restaruarants. Very cheerful attitude.
From the views, staff and pool I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for your posting of why you enjoyed La Paloma with your family and friends. We look forward to seeing everyone back by the pool enjoying more fun in the sun. We wish you continued safe travels…remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This resort is beautiful, huge and has every amenity you would want to have. The grounds are just breathtaking along with the locaton and views. Customer service is tops and the grounds pool and getaway is just what is needed. However the rooms are adequate, and what you get is just a room. The carpet needs a good cleaning and the rooms are looking a bit dated. We did have a premium room and the starwood preferred level which helped, but still it needed a good carpet cleaning. That in it's self would help, or just that it needed to be replaced from all the wear and tear. Beds were comfortable and the bathroom was great great. We didn't have shampoo or extra soap. But like I said no problem there this resort took care of our every need.
This resort is a real gem in Tucson, it is pricey, however I can see why with all the service providers it takes to run this resort. We really liked it. I only gave 3 stars because it does need updating on the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view or away from noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiki033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for your posting and recognizing our service. I look forward to having you return after our renovation of the guest rooms which is starting soon. Follow us on Facebook or call and talk with us directly and we will keep you apprised of our renewal progress. You’ll be ready to give us a top rating. Besides our We wish you continued safe travels…remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The view was awesome just to set the tone. It took my breath away. I needed so badly to get away and travelled across the country from DC to Arizona for this view. It was worth it. My room had an awesome view, helped by the upgrade to a top floor room, the lobby had this view, the restaurant had this view and on and on. The Red Door Spa was warm and friendly to start and the services were true to Red Door quality - excellent. I have no complaint, except that I did not drive (and did not want to) so getting to some of the area sites can be expensive by taxi or the limited pick up tour services we found (without the help of the concierge who was MIA for most of my visit). Food in Azull restaurant was excellent, but the restaurant North in the nearby shopping center was excellent. I will be back again and again.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a top floor mountain view room. But you cannot have mine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinLaPaloma, General Manager at Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for posting how much you enjoyed La Paloma. I’m glad you contacted us directly to assist you with your next stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to La Paloma on your return to Tucson. We wish you continued safe travels…remain well. Jonathan Litvack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
8.4 km away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
681 reviews
1.3 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
6.3 km away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 km away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
0.8 km away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
5.5 km away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa

Property: Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Address: 3800 East Sunrise Drive, Tucson, AZ 85718-3302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tucson
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#9 Green Hotel in Tucson
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#15 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,240 - ₹ 18,737
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the newest level of luxury in the Southwest at Tucson's iconic Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa. This AAA Four-Diamond resort, beautifully situated in the lush foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains, has undergone a $305 million resort-wide rejuvenation. The result is a more contemporary, personalized flare to the resort's renowned elegance that exceeds expectations and fulfills every guests needs. Each of the 487 spacious guest rooms (including 25 expansive suites) have been meticulously reappointed, with attention to the smallest details, to provide the most relaxing and convenient space to unwind. A perfect getaway for couples, families or corporate retreats, The Westin La Paloma Resort offers world-class amenities including five re-imagined resort swimming pools and the 177a€™ Sidewinder water-slide; 27 holes of Jack Nicklaus Signature golf; the full-service, restorative Elizabeth Arden Red Door Spa; WestinWORKOUT Fitness Center; Kids Club; and 8 exceptional dining options. Just 25 minutes from the Tucson International Airport, The Westin La Paloma Resort is conveniently located near art galleries, shopping, and a wide variety of signature destination attractions and dining. Courtesy transportation is provided for guests via new Mercedes Sprinters to the upscale La Encantada shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin La Paloma Hotel Tucson
Westin Tucson
Westin La Paloma Tucson Arizona
Tucson Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing