We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location & value in Tucson” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Ranked #8 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location & value in Tucson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

The Windmill Suites at St. Phillips Plaza is located in the rear of a small, quaint, upscale shopping and dining complex, St. Phillips Plaza. A perk is that on the weekends, a farmer's market sets up in the Plaza, making for some fun browsing and eating. In addition, you are steps away from some great choices for dining -- no car needed! And, across the street, if you choose to venture that far, are more restaurants, a Starbucks, and a Trader Joe's. The biggest plus for me is that behind the hotel is the river path for cyclists, joggers and walkers. The suites are very nice, with small kitchen areas (microwave, fridge, coffee setup) and a living room. Honestly, you cannot beat this place if you want to be in town. Minutes to the U. of A. straight down Campbell.

Room Tip: If you want outdoor space, you must be on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dotsomeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
It’s a pleasure to read you feel we are a “Great location & value in Tucson.”

We are happy to know you enjoyed the layout of our suite, surrounding shops and restaurants and the river path behind the hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Tucson! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    186
    52
    13
    14
See reviews for
244
248
55
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
351 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We have been staying at the Windmill for many years and think it's hard to beat for location, service, comfort and price. Sure, there are a lot of fancier hotels in Tucson , but there's so much to do in the area, we are rarely in our room, and when we are, we love that it's a suite arrangement with a fridge and microwave and separate sitting room. Breakfast is pretty basic, but with so many wonderful restaurants around the immediate vicinity, we tend to go out to eat anyway.....try nearby Blue Willow and Bread and Beyond. There are a lot of fun shops right outside your door in St. Phillip's Plaza as well as fine dining at Vivace. If you want a great walk, that too is available right behind the hotel; you can go for miles! Staff is always so helpful and pleasant; they are ready to do most anything to insure you have a great visit.......all in all, we wouldn't stay anywhere else as the Windmill meets all our needs! Don't miss Sabino Canyon, The Desert Museum, Botannical Gardens and a drive to Mt. Lemmon if you have the time.....all fun things to do while in Tucson.

Room Tip: Try the third floor with mountain views.....nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKandCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
“We wouldn’t stay anywhere else as the Windmill meets all our needs!”

It is always a gratifying to hear such positive feedback from our guests. We will share your comments with our team members and recognize them for their hospitality at our next quality meeting.

We thank you for being a return guest and look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

John Cauvin
President & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
237 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Best value in Tucson. We had never stayed at a Windmill hotel before and were impressed by the suites space and kindness of the staff. Room was very quiet and the bed very comfortable. Location is very convenient with Trader Joe's across the street and Tucson Mall a few blocks away.
We will definitely stay again in a Windmill hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHURCHVILLE
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

My parents have been coming here for years and convinced me to stay here as well. It is in a nice location next to the Rillito and St. Phillips plaza. We walked to Trader Joe's to stock our fridge. Breakfast buffet was adequate but got boring after 3rd day. Coin-op laundry is available. Exercise room has 2 machines, but you can borrow bikes to go on the river trail. Has pool and hot tub. Wi-fi was hard to access the first day but fine the second day. There is also a "business center". Staff was very helpful and friendly. They are pet friendly!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaD244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for your positive review!

Our team members will be praised for their helpful and friendly service.

We apologize for the “hard to access” Internet service the first day of your stay. We will investigate this challenge.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back on a future visit to Tucson.

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
142 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

St. Phillips Plaza is a great place to have a hotel. There are numerous small shops and restaurants just a few steps away as well as a small artists market held every weekend in the Plaza. The hotel itself is good but is looking a little dated. Positives include clean rooms, good beds, friendly service, decent pool area, good parking and everything works. Negatives are a very limited kitchenette in the room, below average breakfast in the lobby each day and a below average exercise room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverLlama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JRCauvin, Owner at Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our Tucson Windmill. We appreciate your feedback!

We are pleased to read you enjoy the location of our property and the nearby shops and restaurants.

Kitchen kits are available to our guests upon request. We will do a better job at making our guests aware of the use of the nearby LA Fitness facility that our guests are welcome to use free of charge.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

John Cauvin, President & CEO
Windmill Inns & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
4.3 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
7.3 km away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#22 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
6.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
8.4 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
4.1 km away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Address: 4250 North Campbell Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85718 (Formerly Windmill Suites of Tucson)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Tucson
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#17 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,265 - ₹ 18,065
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite Tucson, AZ, hotel near the University of Arizona Located less than five miles from the University of Arizona's main campus, Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University places guests near sporting events and cultural attractions. This extended-stay hotel in Tucson, Arizona, is set in the beautiful St. Philip's Plaza in the Catalina foothills, with wonderful shopping and dining options just steps away, including a weekend Farmer's Market featuring Southern Arizona's largest market devoted entirely to locally grown and manufactured products. Our Tucson hotel by Rillito River Park offers 12 miles of riverside trails. Enjoy easy access to Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and Biosphere 2. Corporate travelers will appreciate our proximity to Honeywell, Raytheon, Ventana Medical and the University of Arizona Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windmill Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Windmill Inn Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing