We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lodge on the Desert
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arizona Inn(Tucson)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,057)
Filter reviews
1,057 results
Traveller rating
605
288
93
49
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
605
288
93
49
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas fireplaceboutique hotelnewer roomsroom was largecactus gardensouthwestern stylesmall patiobeautiful groundswalk in showeron site restaurantpool and hot tubhappy hourmini fridgebed was very comfortabledowntown tucsoncatalina mountainsdesert
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
812 - 817 of 1,057 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We wanted a downtown hotel that wasnt a plain chain. This one has nice grounds, a good pool for relaxing, and nice old adobe rooms.
One downside is that the oldest adobe room areas mean that wi-fi is unreliable -- plan to go to the lobby to get online.
Fireplace was nice touch as it was easy on gas style.

Room Tip: See tip on wi-fi in adobe section
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We were at the Lodge for 4 days the end of March and really enjoyed our stay. Our extremely large room in the older section at the rear of the site was very comfortable, clean and quiet. There was a large lovingly attended cactus garden in front of the room that was a gem. The mattress and bed linens were excellent. The bathroom was old fashioned and in need of a little paint and renovation, but having a separate tiled shower was lovely. The pool and hot tub area was a little compressed between buildings, but again - had charm. The separate cozy library/lounge was very pleasant. Couldn't connect our own I-Pads, but the hotel had a very available PC in the lounge. Restaurant was very attractive, with indoor and outdoor seating. Food was innovative and delicious. Watermelon gazpacho was certainly unique.

Room Tip: Upgrade a little to the older rooms at the rear, if you want old Tucson ambience.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaKPaloAlto_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The setting is nice with lots of charm, but it needs an update! The wireless internet was not working in our room...supposedly "overloaded bandwidth"....so...we had to go to the lobby for it to work and our bathtub didn't work either....both pretty important for our family!

Room Tip: Don't use a 3rd party...like Expedia and maybe you'll get better service and location???
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank R, General Manager at Lodge on the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for your comments and for staying at the Lodge on the Desert. I sincerely apologize for the HSI problems. We are in the middle of upgrading our system but had not completed the upgrade during your stay. No excuses. With regard to the bathtub, if our maintenance staff was aware of this problem we would have made the necessary repairs immediately or moved you to another room. I am sorry this did not happen and can assure you that this is an isolated incident.
I appreciate your informing me and look forward to a return visit as these issues will have been resolved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 4 night stay at the Lodge. The setting is beautiful, but the front desk staff needs to explain certain things concerning the inn. We were just handed a map and told how to drive to the room. That was all. We couldn't get anything on the TV, because, unknown to us, the only way to access the stations were on the back of the map. We had a gorgeous fireplace with instructions to turn this way to light. We have a gas fireplace at home, but this fireplace would not work. We learned 4 days later that you need a light to light the fireplace, but there was none available. The bathroom vanity was in pretty rough shape, with plywood chips on the face of it. Through out the room, though spacious and nice, were a lot of paint chips that needed touching up.The manager or owner, bumped into us about 6 times over our stay, but never awknowleged us in any manner. The staff at the bar were extremely nice and accommodating. I would rate these accommodation as a 3.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuckyMesaAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank R, General Manager at Lodge on the Desert, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to the Lodge on the Desert. Obviously I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your visit. We provide all of our guests with a map upon check in to assist them with directions to all parts of the property during their stay, including where is the best place to park in order to make access to your guest room as convenient as possible. We also note that on the back of the map is a listing of all television channels as well as the wifi code for internet access. I am certain this was pointed out during the check-in process when you were explained about the directions to the best place to park. If this did not happen, please accept my apology. If I passed you 6 times during your stay and did not acknowledge I sincerely apologize. I spend a large part of my day around the property to interact with my guests and to see that our hotel is maintained and that our staff is providing the level of service consistent with Lodge on the Desert standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean. The complex is very quiet and the grounds are well-kept. Service at the front desk was very efficient and friendly. The food in the small restaurant was excellent and the specialty bar drinks were wonderful. The happy hour prices for drink and light bar food items were very good and well worth being there from 4PM to 6PM. The wait staff was friendly. The only drawback is that you should not come when you are starving and have to have food quickly. The wait staff did their best, but this is a "slow food" restaurant. Everything seems to be made to order and it is not instantaneous. The food is fantastic and worth the wait. The chef has a great but somewhat limited menu. If you love food that is imaginative, very tasty, and you are not in a hurry, this is THE place to eat.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ceebee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews