We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Ranked #19 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomingdale
1 review
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The reason I titled this a "Pleasant Surprise" is because we were not scheduled to stay at the El Conquistador. There was a mix up at another local resort and they "Walked" us (a resort term) to the Conquistador. After being disappointed with the initial resort, we ended up having an exceptional experience. The staff was as accommodating and professional as any resort I have stayed at. There are a couple of people that are worth mentioning because of their ability to exceed our expectations. One of them is, Nick Volberg. He is Director of Restaurants. I was told that he has only been with this resort for 7 months. He is an exceptional people person and he understands that being out talking to the patrons is an important part of his job. The other person with exceptional talent is their concierge. Here name is Linda. I used her local knowledge so much that I started feeling guilty about the time I spent with her. To her credit, she always made us feel special with the intent of making our stay a special event. If you go to this resort, please reach out and say hello to these fantastic employees. Being a business owner, I realize that your business is only as good as your people. By the way, I do not work for Hilton nor am I related to either one of these people.

Room Tip: If you are going to get a mountain view, stay as high as you can. We had the third floor but ended u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    631
    236
    103
    52
See reviews for
605
483
76
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I Stayed a 5 day/ weekend at this Hilton for a conference last week. I enjoyed the beautiful mountain views (climbed twice) ,spacious rooms, courteous and nice staff, great pools and relax atmosphere.

The service is very slow, especially at the Sundance restaurant, we had to wait for 2h !!!! for our plates, the salad was missing the dressing, the steak was cold, but the fish was amazing - not a well organized kitchen !, the Bar was very slow in the morning, and the pool bar is closed at 5, so the only other choice is to go to the town, 10-20min drive, but the taxi cost about 25$, so the hotel should realy offer more than that.
Other wise, I liked that a lot (but I didn't have to pay...)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlanetTraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiltonelcon, General Manager at Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you for feedback regarding our restaurants. I apologize for your experience in Sundance; your experience is certainly not the standard that we expect from dining in our restaurants, and we will share your comments with the food & beverage management team. We have been in the process of improving the look and design our both of our restaurants at the property. Sundance has recently re-opened, and we anticipate the re-launch of our second restaurant to happen in the near future, and I can assure you that our service will be meticulous and timely.

If you would care to contact the Director of Operations, Michael Hammer or theGeneral Manager, Lynn Ericksen to further discuss your experience; I encourage you to do so by contacting the resort at 520-544-5000.

Sincerely,
Lori B.
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
112 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed one night here solo in April 2012, in a Jr Suite (building 3). I stayed using HH points, so I can't comment on price or value. Overall a good experience...

THE GOOD:
--This was a notch-up room from a standard room, and it was very nice. Well appointed, big, comfortable for the most part, comfy bed, nice little deck with chairs.
--The water park that is in the middle of this resort-in-the-round looked spectacular, though I did not get to go swimming. Multiple pools, water slide, poolside bar, whirlpools.
--Common areas were very nice.
--Room was very clean
--Service was attentive
--Views of the mountains and town from the property are very nice

THE BAD:
--The bathrooms overall were nice, except the oddly designed shower - it has an open ledge behind it with no curtain, so the water ends up on there, and then on the floor. The ledge is next to a sloped tub, so it serves no apparent purpose, other than making a mess.
--This hotel charges $9.99 for WiFi, which is a rip-off as it is, considering how cheap it is to provide. But it gets worse. I used my iPhone to FaceTime with my wife and kid back home, then went to use the laptop... turns out the $9.99 is PER DEVICE, not per room. Seriously? With the rates people appear to be paying for this property, at this quality level, you are going to penny-ante people like this? Ridiculous.
--Had breakfast at the hotel restaurant. It was just so-so, but the prices were quite high.
--The location was... way away from anything in town. This property is on the northern extreme of the sprawling Tucson area, and it takes a good 45 minutes to get there from the hotel. There is nothing in walking distance. This is not necessarily a problem, but keep it in mind.

OVERALL: I'd recommend it, depending on price, and how much driving you are OK doing. Two of the negatives above (weird shower, pricey food) are no big deal, or can be avoided entirely (the restaurant, not the shower), and the location may not be an issue (but if you are, say, just doing a quick stay and want to be near the airport, this is not the best choice). Would be a fun spot to base a vacation with kids from though, and the scenery being right next to the Catalinas is pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Migizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockholm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Excellent hotel and golf country club. Beautiful surroundings in Arizona. Very nice pool ar ea both for day and night swims. lconveniant golf package with some meals included. Very good quality altogether.

Room Tip: try to get a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We recently had the privilege of spending time at the El Conquistador in Tucson, AZ and we want to share with everyone what a wonderful experience awaits you from the time of arrival until you reluctantly depart.

We were greeted by a wonderful young woman who checked us into our casita efficiently and graciously. She began our stay with a smile and a warm welcome. The stroll from the main lodge to the casita was breath taking with the mountain backdrop and the warm colors surrounding you everywhere you go. The casitas are true perfection with a lovely patio area, most comfortable beds; all in all offering the guest a peaceful and serene environment.

Our service expectations were exceeded by the entire team. However; you always come away with several “stars” which truly set the experience over the top. The pool bartender, the retail associate at the pool shop, our cocktail server Saturday late evening and my all time favorite – the lady who made my Starbucks coffee Sunday morning.

While at El Conquistador, if you are in need of off property transportation, take their great advice and request JK Transportation. If you are lucky, your driver will be Glen. WOW is all we can say.

To conclude our review we strongly recommend if you are in Tucson, the only place to stay is at the El Conquistador Golf and Tennis Resort!! We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dea427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
16.1 km away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
682 reviews
8.8 km away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 km away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
7.2 km away
Omni Tucson National Resort
5.0 km away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort

Property: Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Address: 10000 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85704-7644
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#10 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#20 Business Hotel in Tucson
#22 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#25 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,946 - ₹ 17,054
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 500 acres of serene, colorful high Sonoran Desert terrain in the foothills of the majestic Santa Catalina Mountains, the full-service Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort offers a magnificent setting, minutes from Tucson's renowned entertainment. Come experience the rare wonders of our AAA Four Diamond retreat, where plush amenities and superior service combine for an unrivaled experience, no matter what the occasion might be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Hotel Tucson
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf And Tennis Resort
Hilton Hotel Tucson
Tucson Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing