We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic inn.”
Review of Arizona Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arizona Inn
Ranked #4 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Historic inn.”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I recently spent three nights at this hotel. I arrived in the early hours of the morning. Doors are locked late at night, and so pressed the intercom. Door was promptly opened, but the front desk clerk, who whilst efficient, was not the friendliest individual. Maybe I had woken him up? I was shown to my room by the security guard, who proceeded to give me a guided tour of the grounds en route to the room. Even in the middle of the night, the grounds looked lovely! My room - a standard one - was upstairs quite a way from the lobby. The room was a good sized one, with a king bed, desk, two side tables with lamps and overhead lighting. Also two big chairs and a small coffee table. There was a walk in closet, with complimentary water (every night) and a small refrigerator as well as a coffee machine. Bathroom was very small with in tub shower. The room and bathroom appeared to be very clean and the bed was comfortable with crisp linen. Two windows in the bedroom gave lots of natural light as well. As I arrived late, there was a pot of hot chocolate waiting for me (most welcome!!) and in the refrigerator, some finger sandwiches and two cookies - a really nice touch! The grounds of the hotel are beautiful. There is complimentary coffee and tea in the library in the mornings, as well as in the afternoon, which I did not get to enjoy. Never ate at the hotel - though the dining room/restaurant looked very nice. Free parking across the road from the hotel in an open lot.
There is a lot of history associated with this inn, and while I did not get the opportunity to fully tour the hotel, intend to come back again some other time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spottyonetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    115
    22
    19
    9
See reviews for
151
301
39
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

If you like historic hotels this is it in Tucson.....beautiful all around...easy mid town location...close to university....pool is fantastic....

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjveltri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Spectacular mid-town location, this old favorite oozes charm and genteelness. We were there for New Year and the holiday decorations were gorgeous.
Upsides: grounds and architecture are beautiful and very well maintained. Staff is dedicated and very helpful. Wandering around is a pleasure; the library, the pool house, the many patios and the eating facilities and bar are a joy and make you want to linger.
Downsides: beds and furnishings need some updating to make it the Five Star Property that it always has been. Hope they do it carefully so they don't erase the charm.
Would I Stay Again? In a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Some of the floors creak, so take second floor to avoid creaking overhead
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianawallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I have stayed at the Arizona Inn once a year for the past 5 years. It has wonderful service, peaceful grounds and is designed to make your stay as relaxing and fun as possible. You never have to pay for amenities such as renting movies or using the croquette or ping pong. When I arrived late at night there was a complimentary thermos of hot chocolate, cookies and sandwiches and fruit to greet me in the room.

I feel they think of everything. Also, the Inn has been continuously owned and operated by the same family (different generations) since it opened in 1930. The original owner was married to one of Teddy Roosevelt's rough riders as well as being a representative to congress. Very cool!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triphopper88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The award winning hotel is an green oasis in the middle of the desert. The main part of the hotel is well know by tourists and residents for great architecture and main dining room, but not so well known is the "pool house cabana" that is decorated in the old Hacienda style, here is a quiet spot than overlooks the beautiful gardens and is shaded by a huge tree that lets in filtered light. Food, drinks, and friendly staff make this a special secret in Tucson.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinaTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.4 km away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
952 reviews
25.7 km away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
772 reviews
8.9 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
7.7 km away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
12.7 km away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Inn

Property: Arizona Inn
Address: 2200 E Elm St, Tucson, AZ 85719-4395
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tucson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#17 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,496 - ₹ 14,987
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy, quiet & sunshine. The Arizona Inn is an historic, boutique, resort hotel spread over 14 acres of gardens, fountains, flowers and lawns in the heart of mid-town Tucson, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Arizona Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Hotel Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing