We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely, quiet B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 48 Tucson B&B and Inns
Bath
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“lovely, quiet B & B”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed in the Mica Room. As previous reviews have stated, this is a large, lovely room. The bathroom is luxurious with its walk-in shower/tub & double sink + heater. The bed was very comfortable. The location is very quiet & near the park for hiking. John & Steffi are great hosts. John was very helpful with suggestions on where to go, including maps & books. They have a book in which guests can write restaurant reviews - very helpful. John's breakfast were delicious. We also loved the baked apple. We enjoyed watching the birds as we ate breakfast. This B & B is a gem.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
58
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The Spud Rock room was comfortable and spacious with a large bathroom. It was a great base for us for the four nights we stayed there. We were made very welcome and John made some fantastic breakfasts - we both loved the stuffed poached apple in particular.

John was also very helpful in finding a health centre in the area as well as recommending some great places to visit. We also enjoyed sitting in the garden watching the humming birds.

Very close to the Saguaro National Park (Rincon Mountain District).

We would definitely recommend this B&B highly.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fotogeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2011

John and Steffi are fantastic hosts. Delicious, creative breakfast. 10 minutes by car to the visitor center / entrance of East Saguaro NP. Familial atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAN2997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC area
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

This bed and breakfast is a gem located on the eastern edge of Tucson near the Rincon Mountains and Saguaro National Park. The home is immaculately clean and beautifully appointed. My husband and I enjoyed the Mica Room's wood burning fireplace, sitting area, door that opened onto the pool patio, and spacious bathroom. The breakfast was creative, generous, and delicious; my husband and I particularly enjoyed the flavorful habanero and garlic sauce! The dining area overlooked a bay window with several bird feeders that attracted a wide variety of lovely avians. Innkeeper John was a delight to talk to. He provided us wonderful recommendations on restaurants, things to do, and scenic routes to take. We wish we had more time to spend here!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenMeili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

great homemade breakfasts while watching birds through picture window-Mica room well worth the extra price-hosts very friendly with good travel and sightseeing advice-don't miss the cactus farm down the road

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
18.0 km away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
951 reviews
21.8 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
11.9 km away
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Tanque Verde Ranch
Tanque Verde Ranch
#32 of 130 in Tucson
649 reviews
10.7 km away
Hilton Tucson East
Hilton Tucson East
#46 of 130 in Tucson
943 reviews
7.5 km away
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast

Property: Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast
Address: 12851 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85748-7136
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,916 - ₹ 9,627
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beauty and tranquility of the Sonoran desert from the comfort of a unique, fired-adobe territorial situated on acreage bordering Saguaro National Park East. Different delicious full breakfast everyday and complimentary snacks, fruit, and beverages. Hiking, birding, wildlife viewing and horseback riding within walking distance; dining and shopping within 15-20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing