We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
170
35
6
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
170
35
6
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wrap around porch private bath filtered water charming b b safe neighborhood within walking distance full kitchen a wonderful stay great amenities every morning bed was very comfortable lea university arizona hosts netflix
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018

The location is great and within walking distance to restaurants. The house itself needs some help. We had a room on the second floor with a bathroom across the hall. Not only was the bathroom quite small but almost impossible to take a show unless you are 5 feet tall or less. The breakfast is served in another building, so you must get dress for the walk which in our case meant rain gear since it rained the days we were there. When we got to the building the roof was leaking into the small breakfast and kitchen area. You do not have a choice of breakfast it is what ever she is cooking or dry cereal. The hot coffee however was great.

Room tip: don't take the rooms on the second floor
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jrotc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

We stayed in 'Uncle Duke's Room'. The king bed & pillows proved to be one of the most comfortable of any of the hotels we stayed at for the 2 weeks we toured Arizona - including the luxury hotels! (topped only by the bed at Grand Canyon's Thunderbird Lodge - see our other reviews if interested) That's a big plus for this B&B.

I was dismayed at the layer of fine dust over every surface - including the tops of the night stands which anyone would be bound to notice. There were a couple of dead flies on the window sills - in plain sight when we went to turn on the air conditioning - which rattled gustily but worked.

I was happy to sit in the leather wing chair & prop my feet up on the ottoman with the a/c blasting away but my husband couldn't get comfortable on either side of the room due to the a/c by the chair & the a/c, wobbly table & broken lamp on the other side. He was also turned off by the stuffing showing through the cracked leather. The bare wall facing the bed with the wall mounted fan & large TV & cables stole some of the room's charm too. Despite us both being ~ 6' tall, the bedroom ceiling was fine.

We thought our bathroom was across a private hall - ie no one else would see us but its in front of another bedroom & visible to all visitors to the floor. The sharp slant of the shower made taking a shower impossible for either of us. I tried taking a tub bath the first night & the last morning but despite letting the water run for 20 mins - there was NO hot or warm water to be had. The sink's hot water supply was almost instant.

My husband's clearest memory is the difficulty navigating the corner of the staircase to our 2nd level bedroom. The staircase has a sharp turn to the left; 3 treads fan from a 2" barely there width to tippy toe only width against the wall - too big a distance to just skip over.

The room had a keurig machine altho sparse supplies - which was fine - we travel with our own. The mini frig was a welcome sight. My husband went down to the exterior building that houses the kitchen both mornings for a bite to eat - which he enjoyed. The hostess was friendly & very chatty. We did have trouble finding the house when we arrived after dark - couldn't see any house numbers but a nice neighbor pointed us to the correct house. Parking is on the street right in front.

The price was inexpensive at $120/night. Having a comfortable night's rest is so important but there were too many negatives that are management-oriented for us to recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LLDearness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

The Big Blue House was one the top b&b we have enjoyed. The bed was very comfortable. The room was very clean and had lots of history that we enjoyed. Then the breakfasts were above the normal breakfast. The sweet potato hash was the best treat. Would stay again!

Date of stay: January 2018
1  Thank bcorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

The room and everything was lovely, clean, comfortable and unique. All in a great location! BUT the best part was definitely the breakfast - a satisfying portion of colorful deliciousness and better than any restaurant we could have gone to. Thank you, Lea for your hospitality! We hope to see you again.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank violfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

The Big Blue House is a lovingly restored Victorian in a quiet and safe neighborhood not far from restaurants and the University of Arizona. Our room was well appointed and whimsically decorated. A few times during the night, we could hear a train whistle for a minute or two, but not enough to disturb a good night's sleep. The breakfast was amazing, with Lea, the owner, making fresh gluten-free blueberry pancakes for my gluten intolerant husband (I suggest letting her know in advance if you have special dietary needs). Overall, a wonderful stay. We plan to return.

Room tip: Noise was not a factor even on the street side of the house. (Since we live in the quiet desert, we are highly sensitive to noise!)
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HappyFeet-Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews