We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn
Ranked #10 of 45 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

The room and everything was lovely, clean, comfortable and unique. All in a great location! BUT the best part was definitely the breakfast - a satisfying portion of colorful deliciousness and better than any restaurant we could have gone to. Thank you, Lea for your hospitality! We hope to see you again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Violeta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

The Big Blue House is a lovingly restored Victorian in a quiet and safe neighborhood not far from restaurants and the University of Arizona. Our room was well appointed and whimsically decorated. A few times during the night, we could hear a train whistle for a minute or two, but not enough to disturb a good night's sleep. The breakfast was amazing, with Lea, the owner, making fresh gluten-free blueberry pancakes for my gluten intolerant husband (I suggest letting her know in advance if you have special dietary needs). Overall, a wonderful stay. We plan to return.

Room Tip: Noise was not a factor even on the street side of the house. (Since we live in the quiet desert, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HappyFeet-Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Incredible restored Victorian. While we were there we had a chance to observe the love being put into this wonderful home. They were refurbishing the wrap around porch with hard to find original fir floorings. The family who ownes and operates the BnB go all-out to do things to the historic detail. Beautiful antiques, fantastic amenities that we have never seen such as filtered water in the rooms, Netflix, Hulu and great themed suites. Owners are there whenever you have a question or need directions. Not to mention the fantastic breakfast. They actually try to cook to order for dietary needs such as gluten free. We will be back very soon.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jalisco O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

In need of much repair. Maybe 'lovingly restored ' as described but images are misleading, old. There is no gazebo and what few plants are on the porch are dead (neglect ? ). Much rotted wood on porch floor (hazard). Breakfast was generous and favorable. Hosts personable but seldom seen. RO water in our room? Maybe. Hot water side of h20 bottle dispenser did not work. Room carpet stained and very worn. If funky is your bag, go for it.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K G, Manager at The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

After a long period of being very busy we are closing for a few weeks to update, repair and refurbish. We finally received permission from the Historic Society to replace the entire 100 year old wrap-around porch. The restoration of the historic building is an ongoing project and we offer appreciation and thanks to our guests that have been so supportive and understanding.
The Big Blue House was designed with separate suites. If a guest needs instructions on our unique amenities such as how to operate the RO water dispenser, operate the Keurig Coffee Maker or Netflix etc... just ring the doorbell, we are excited to assist. Otherwise, it is our policy to offer our guests 'privacy'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

We stayed 3 nights at the Big Blue House and enjoyed our stay. The place is an older rambling house with a large covered porch on 2 sides. The room we stayed in was good size with a comfortable bed, but it had a lot of antique style furniture that seemed a bit excessive. There is a bit of train noise as the Union Pacific main line is just a few blocks away and the trains blow their horn all hours of the day and night. But I like trains, so it didn't bother me. There is free parking on the street. The owner serves a great hot breakfast in the morning. All in all a good place to stay in a convenient, central Tucson location.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
Lodge on the Desert
#20 of 129 in Tucson
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West University
Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn

Address: 144 E University Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85705-7739
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range: ₹ 8,762 - ₹ 13,208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Victorian Queen Anne built in 1899 and lovingly restored and remodeled into Tucson's most progressive eco-friendly boutique inn. Each private suite is unique with vintage furnishing. Eco friendly features such as a RO filtered water dispenser in your own in-suite kitchen.Perfectly located on the "University Bike Boulevard" a short walk to UofA and only 2 blocks "The cultural Center of Tucson" Historic Fourth Avenue... Check out our new University area streetcar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Big Blue House Hotel Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing