We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
169
35
6
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
169
35
6
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate bathhemingway roomsafe neighborhoodcharming b bwithin walking distanceenjoyed our stayfull kitchenplace to staya wonderful staybed and breakfastevery morningleauniversityhosts
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Incredible restored Victorian. While we were there we had a chance to observe the love being put into this wonderful home. They were refurbishing the wrap around porch with hard to find original fir floorings. The family who ownes and operates the BnB go all-out to do things to the historic detail. Beautiful antiques, fantastic amenities that we have never seen such as filtered water in the rooms, Netflix, Hulu and great themed suites. Owners are there whenever you have a question or need directions. Not to mention the fantastic breakfast. They actually try to cook to order for dietary needs such as gluten free. We will be back very soon.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jalisco O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

In need of much repair. Maybe 'lovingly restored ' as described but images are misleading, old. There is no gazebo and what few plants are on the porch are dead (neglect ? ). Much rotted wood on porch floor (hazard). Breakfast was generous and favorable. Hosts personable but seldom seen. RO water in our room? Maybe. Hot water side of h20 bottle dispenser did not work. Room carpet stained and very worn. If funky is your bag, go for it.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K G, Manager at The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

After a long period of being very busy we are closing for a few weeks to update, repair and refurbish. We finally received permission from the Historic Society to replace the entire 100 year old wrap-around porch. The restoration of the historic building is an ongoing project and we offer appreciation and thanks to our guests that have been so supportive and understanding.
The Big Blue House was designed with separate suites. If a guest needs instructions on our unique amenities such as how to operate the RO water dispenser, operate the Keurig Coffee Maker or Netflix etc... just ring the doorbell, we are excited to assist. Otherwise, it is our policy to offer our guests 'privacy'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

We stayed 3 nights at the Big Blue House and enjoyed our stay. The place is an older rambling house with a large covered porch on 2 sides. The room we stayed in was good size with a comfortable bed, but it had a lot of antique style furniture that seemed a bit excessive. There is a bit of train noise as the Union Pacific main line is just a few blocks away and the trains blow their horn all hours of the day and night. But I like trains, so it didn't bother me. There is free parking on the street. The owner serves a great hot breakfast in the morning. All in all a good place to stay in a convenient, central Tucson location.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

Stayed here for a short vacation from Tempe. Check in was nice, Leah met us at the door, showed us to our room and made sure we had everything we needed. Room was cute and clean and breakfast was very tasty! I hadn't been down 4th ave or downtown before, and was able to walk from here. There is also the main restaurants by the university or a couple even closer to that. We ate at a cute pizza/beer/grocery joint just up the road. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

We stayed at the Big Blue House for two nights before we headed off to a Dude Ranch south of Tucson. We loved this Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in the Hemingway Room that was very nice, lovely decorated with a nice kitchenette and a comfortable bed. Lea the owner is a real sweetheart that we found out is related to the original owner of the home. Very interesting story. She cooked us two very delicious breakfasts. We definitely recommend staying here if you are going to Tucson and we will most definitely consider staying here again if our travels take us back to the Tucson Area. The location is great because its close to downtown and the historic district with many shops, restaurants and bars. Very convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews