We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 48 Tucson B&B and Inns
London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

This had all the charm and atmosphere that one might expect in top end B&B in the UK. The ample breakfasts, served on a communal table, were delicious and varied with no repetition over six days. Our room was quiet and comfortable with many little touches added by our, thoughtful, unflappable and informative, hostess, Susan. There was a succession of very interesting fellow guests. JCA, London UK

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    24
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
99
45
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

A delightful historic inn, warmly hosted by Susan. Close to the university, yet peaceful and welcoming. Great breakfast to start the day off right.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamarizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Staying at the Sam Hughes Inn was a perfect introduction to Tucson. Our, lovely innkeeper, Susan, made us feel at home in her home. We stayed in the Tombstone room which was in the casita. A short walk to the main house thru a delightful patio and garden was how we went each morning to the dining room and a scrumptious breakfast. Susan shared her extensive knowledge of the area and answered our many questions. The property is spotless and very well maintained. It is VERY convenient to the university and in a charming neighborhood. We certainly plan to return and hope to stay in the same room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Midge W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

The charming B&B is located in a quiet neighborhood conveniently close to Tucson's downtown and the University of Arizona. The tasteful "southwestern" decor of the guest rooms and spaceous lounge compliments the tidy courtyard desert garden to provide a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere. Susan Banner, the gracious hostess, made us feel welcomed and right at home. She serves a tasty and ample breakfast at 8:30 am sharp (unless other arrangments are made) and is a veritable fount of knowledge about local shops, eateries, events etc etc. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely plan ahead to book a room whenever we return to Tucson.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

We went to Tuscon for 2 nights before heading up to Sedona and we were surprised how nice the area is and how wonderful the Sam Hughes Inn is. Susan greeted us warmly, had information on everything to see in town, supplied us with walking maps through campus to 4th Avenue, and gave us the most amazing breakfast! We stayed in the "Tombstone" guest house and loved having our own little place. What a neat place! We enjoyed walking through the college & around 4th Avenue, and driving to Saquaro National Park. If in Tuscon, be sure to stay at Sam Hughes Inn. Susan is lots of fun and very very nice. Thanks again for the great stay!

Room Tip: Loved the Tombstone room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scott82970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
3.1 km away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#22 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.8 km away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#58 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
1.7 km away
Tucson University Park Hotel
3.4 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2020 E 7th St, Tucson, AZ 85719
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,568 - ₹ 8,843
Hotel Class:3 star — Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sam Hughes Inn is a 1930's California Spanish styled bed and breakfast with red tiled roof, original oak floors and Art Deco architectural details, located in the residential Sam Hughes Historic District next to the University of Arizona. Lush mature foliage surrounds house and walled fountain garden. Walk to campus, bus, restaurants & University Medical Center. Only minutes by car to local attractions, downtown & airport. Four bedrooms/four baths with high speed wireless internet throughout. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing