We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing customer service in a beautiful setting!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing customer service in a beautiful setting!”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This was the 2nd time I stayed at this resort last time being June 2011. The hotel is simply amazing, loved the tequila toast that they do everyday at 5pm and the different free activities tht are available really helped me learn more about Tucson and native american culture.

I love the pool area they call the lazy river where you can just float along and relax or have the kids play on the pool slides.

The customer service was simply amazing, they were very friendly and helpful and overall made our stay that much more memorable.

As for cost the prices are a Hinton the high side I must say, and everything costs money even the water bottle were $5, but if you're looking to treat yourself and not worry about the cost, then this is definitely the place to do it.

Check out their Hashani Spa as well, I had an amazing foot massage over there.

There are beautiful onsite restaurants that offer wonderful food and different cuisines so you'll really be spoilt for choice! I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shycandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,332
    492
    165
    64
    44
See reviews for
538
498
59
695
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This is a huge resort. Period. Most who work here are kind, say "good morning," etc...And Primo, their signature restaurant is de-lish. LOVED IT.

We are here attending a conference and due to the group, we have "free (although shotty) wifi and I asked for turn down service.

It seems that the Marriott system has a 5-tiered system. We arrived at Basic having staying at the Fairfield to visit our daughter in Denver. Looking for a reason to go to a conference and celebrate our 30th, we thought that the JW Marriott at Star Fire would be perfect. We've not been to Tucson in years.

The first night we had NO turn down, no morning paper and I had to pay for a yoga class. The lap pool is extra...I could go on...

Alas we were nickeled and dimed.

But For $25 per day, you can buy a pass to wifi, unlimited driving range and all the other FREE stuff. (Shot of tequila at 5:30, parking, a guided morning hike, etc...)

RIP OFF.

We didn't pay for the "extras" (many are included) but say something. It's just not OK that a hotel of this status makes you feel cheap--especially at $200--plus a room with a notice of an anniversary--30th.

I doubt we will get to Elite status here. I was able to active high status at the Omni much faster.

We will get to this conference because my husband likes it so much. But I think we'll stay at the Omni next time.

The property was SO huge I'd not stay here as a couple. We kept saying that we were here for our 30th. Primo went all out but the property lacked and missed it.

Room Tip: We loved the "air show" from the nearby air base but others have not been impressed (Fromm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welltraveled00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Congratulations and thank you for celebrating such a momentous occasion with us. I am pleased to hear that you had a memorable personalized experience at Primo, and I am disappointed that experience did not transcend throughout the resort. Please except my apologies for not receiving clear communication about the Resort Fee amenities, as there are over $110 worth of great amenities for $25, some of which include internet, self parking, yoga class and turn down service. Thank you for sharing your experiences and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

JW Marriott Starr Pass is like leaving it all behind and stepping into paradise inthe desert. The staff was beyond outstanding. Everyone had a smile on their face and went above and beyond what was expected. The rooms were comfortable and sparkling clean. The 3 pools offer a nice choice to either just relax on the lazy river, to do some laps, or hang out with fellow guests and kids just enjoying the desert sun. We were there on a company sponsored trip and 2 nights ate out on the lawns. The food was fabulous especially with the stars as our backdrop. I can't say enough about how wonderful this place is. Yes it may be a bit pricey but you will definately get what you pay for and then some.

Room Tip: ask for a romm on i high floor to experience the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flowerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here 2 nights for my husband's conference. We arrived late and I will say it is very dark in the desert at night! The resort is very large and we had a little trouble finding the way to our room, even with a map. But the next morning, looking out of our window, we were greeted with glorious scenery! The room was very nice and upscale, but no coffeemaker, fridge, or microwave. I did see a fridge in the hall, so maybe for a fee you can get one. There's a sidewalk all around the perimeter of the property, so it's easy to get a morning walk in (a mile or so). We ate at the Signature Grill and the food was fine. Internet is free in the lobby, but not in the room. All in all, it was a beautiful property and a great location to enjoy the beauty of the Arizona desert.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeway, VA
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed here on a business trip and must say that the staff at this hotel go above and beyond any I have experienced. These employees must be hand selected because every one of them had a fabulous attitude. Anytime one passed me in the hall, they offered help or at a minimum a greeting. Very nice.

The room was nice and the hotel features are good. Pool is very nice and there is a lazy river for the kids. The food I ate was from the conference and was good.

The exercise room was fully loaded with TV's (headsets provided) at each station. They also had water and apples in the exercise room.

One of the other things that was nice was that everywhere there was free water that had been infused with some kind of fruit. I am an avid water drinker so appreciated this very much!

The resort is pricey if paying street rates but is a great place for relaxation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwheelh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

WOW! We sincerely appreciate that you were able to highlight your experience and especially the recognition of our engaging associates during your visit. We are delighted to hear that you were able to take advantage of the many amenities that are offered throughout the property. Thank you for your time and sharing your experience.

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
10.1 km away
Casino Del Sol
Casino Del Sol
#9 of 130 in Tucson
870 reviews
10.8 km away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
688 reviews
16.8 km away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 km away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
20.9 km away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
16.4 km away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Address: 3800 W Starr Pass Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85745-5115
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#4 Business Hotel in Tucson
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#5 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,364 - ₹ 27,422
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa blends seamlessly into its tranquil yet animated mountaintop setting, as natural as the surrounding desert itself. Our resort in Tucson merges surpassing luxury and personal service with ample family-friendly recreation, an incredible array of dining options, three nine-hole desert golf courses, entertaining traditions, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and patio, plus supreme indulgences such as our Hashani Spa. Complementing the natural surroundings, our fabulous array of multi-level swimming pools, waterslides, lazy rivers, and dancing fountains are fun for all ages. With spectacular views, exciting activities for the entire family, and a landscape laced with nature trails throughout for hiking and biking, you'll make memories that will last a lifetime. Immerse yourself in our AAA Four-Diamond resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Tucson
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing