We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tucson Tradition”
Review of La Cocina

La Cocina
Ranked #32 of 2,212 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 13
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: El Presidio
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Music on the courtyard. Chihuahuas allowed. Hot, hot, hot but with fan fairly refreshing. The burrito was outstanding.
Can't wait to return!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank FlagstaffWomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2018

This is the best place in Tucson. The outside historic setting, birds flying around, live music, superb food and wait staff, and Tucson weather make this a 'must go' more than a few times during our annual visit to Tucson. The surrounding shops have high quality unique artistic items - worth the visit. Whether you are having brunch, dinner, just drinks or a up for late night dancing, La Cocina is an excellent choice!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Randi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

The La Cocina restaurant is open to the beautiful and spacious courtyard connected to Old Town Artisans, including a wonderful turtle pond with Copper Ore Car waterfall. The food is excellent and the menu offers a good selection of choices, including vegan items and children's options.. There is music in the evenings for diners at the tables in the courtyard. A wonderful respite for couples who want an evening out, perhaps with friends.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grant H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

I LOVE La Cocina for so many reasons: great vegetarian selections on the menu, serene turtle pond, local musicians performing, plus "Tuesdays for Tucson" every week where a portion of proceeds are donated to a local charity...a very rare display of generosity and well worth supporting!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank sjmilleraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

Props to La Cocina for the beauty of the space, indoors and outdoors, the excellent live music, and the numerous vegan options. We intended to go for brunch, but tried dinner, instead. We were seated on a patio on a scorching May night. Staff were cheerful and friendly; the band was rockin' out. It was hot as heck, but it is Tucson. We were primed for a good start to the evening, which was going to end at Maverick's. What could go wrong? Well, to start: the service. Question one: do you have to be tattooed head-to-toe to be a server there? Two: how long does it take to serve a drink? We were eating - eating! before our cocktails arrived . Seriously. no apologies offered, either. And that immediately determined that we would not stay longer than the meal's completion. This, in spite of the aforementioned great space and band. And, no, it wasn't overly busy. It is just unacceptable. To make matters worse, the food was very good for the most part. The vegan went with the vegan burger, after a few too many days in the southwest and taking a break from the tex-mex cuisine. It was home-made, substantial, and delicious. Good fries, too. Non-vegan partner had the chimichanga. She didn't rave about it, but still enjoyed it. It is a bit pricey, especially with the exchange rate, but market value these days, I guess. And that was that; because it was time to drink, and it wasn't going to happen at La Cocina. I will still recommend the place, but hopefully the service issue was an exception rather than the rule.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Cocina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing