We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get out of the sun and have fun!”

The Mini Time Machine Museum of Miniatures
Ranked #11 of 280 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover the magical world of miniatures at The Mini Time Machine Museum of Miniatures, where visitors are seemingly transported to different lands and times through the stories told by over 300 miniature houses and roomboxes, expertly displayed in over 10,000 square-feet of state-of-the-art exhibit space. The Museum’s permanent collection boasts antique dollhouses dating to 1742, contemporary fine-scale miniatures and enchanting collectibles. Frequent temporary exhibits, special programs and events mean there is always something new to see. The Chicago Tribune has claimed; “The magic of this place cannot be overstated.” For a truly memorable experience, don’t miss this one-of-a-kind collection in a world-class setting.
Cottonwood, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Get out of the sun and have fun!”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Just a fun, friendly place! My 7-year-old and I were instantly mesmerized by the first exhibit (and each one thereafter). The detail was exquiste and so much variety! I saw several young boys enjoying themselves too. Super friendly staff!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SaguaroHugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    102
    21
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista , Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I thought this was going to be a little "house" of miniatures but it was a terrific find. There were hundreds of miniature displays ranging from scenes from Gone With the Wind to an entire Victorian era house. Many of these displays had such detail you could spend hours looking at them and not see it all. I will definitely go back and take another tour because I am positive there were countless things I missed. I am really glad we found this place and would recommend you take a day trip there!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A mini fantasy land”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Me and my 9 year old daughter had a very nice afternoon here. It's hot and we are always trying to find fun indoor activities. I wouldn't recommend for kids under 5 but the older ones should get a kick out of the playful displays. The scavenger hunt for items was a nice way to explore. It was storytime and a chance to make a miniature that really made it worthwhile.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzapalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Detail”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

There is so much detail in the exhibits. I could have spent a lot more time there. I will go back and allow for more time.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great day for kids and grandparents”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

thought we were visiting just for the kids but grandma and grandpa had a great time

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mini Time Machine Museum of Miniatures also viewed

 

Been to The Mini Time Machine Museum of Miniatures? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing