We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A gem!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tohono Chul

Tohono Chul
Ranked #6 of 273 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cultivate your appreciation for the Sonoran Desert’s natural beauty and the impression it makes on everyone who explores our “Desert Corner”. Here, the seasons inspire wondrous events both in nature and culturally; Tohono Chul celebrates every opening, whether for an internationally known artist or an exquisite cactus flower. Wander the natural desert gardens—escape the noise of everyday. Engage in our sincere passion to evolve “The Desert Corner” as an integral crossroads of nature, art and culture.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

This is an absolutely delightful place to take a short walk amongst wonderful cacti and other plantings. It's in a pretty urban area, so houses dot the skyline, but don't detract. Fabulous gift shop (best selection of Polar Bear socks I've ever seen) and a charming cafe. In fact, it's worth a trip to the cafe and the shop even if you don't do the walk. But that would be a shame, because it's delightul.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravlelingFlash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

941 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    219
    52
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Peaceful short walks with a plethora of interpretive signs. I went for the birds and added half a dozen to my life list. Very nice tea house with great menu on the premises. Many friendly, helpful docents.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JMLinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
117 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great way to spend your afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

This was the first excision we did when we visited Tucson. It is great way to learn the native plants. The art work was absolutely fantastic and whimsical. They have dining on sight so it makes for an excellent outing to get your desert bearings.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NWlivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Okay, if you have time to fill. A botannical garden, not great.

Helpful?
Thank vanwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ne Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Prickly Pear Lemonade!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I love their Prickly Pear Lemonade. I love the outdoor seating areas, very relaxing. The service is excellent every time we have visited - most often for lunch. The breakfast that we had was wonderful -- everyones food was presented so deliciously. Highly recommend you go here. And a walk around the paths in this park is well worth your time too.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SallyNEOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tohono Chul? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing