We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love the wild”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 46 Tucson B&B and Inns
Edmonds, Wa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you love the wild”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Spent three nights with wife, sister and brother in-law. Couldnt get enough of the birds, deer and javelina in the "backyard". Mike and Wayan were great, flexible hosts. Rooms are plenty comfortable and the breakfasts were top notch. Trully enjoyable and relaxing. I look forward to going again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    11
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
74
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is not the place for everyone, but for us - we loved it. Unique doesn't seem to quite capture it, but if you want a typical hotel or B&B experience with all the usual amenities - this is not for you. The road alone is a challenge, unique to almost any other place you could stay! I am so glad someone else mentioned on here to not go in the dark your first time out there. The signs to find the place are very good, but unless you are familiar with this terrain and area, being there for the first time in the dark would not be a good idea. We loved being so far out in the desert and enjoyed the other guests we met while there. Coming from the East Coast, we were up early and got to enjoy the quiet of the desert and watch/listen as it woke up. Memories I will treasure. If you are up for unique and want an experience you'll get no where else - this is the perfect place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaMBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
1,131 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Out of the way on an unpaved road, this B&B is a refreshing escape from glitzy resorts. Furnished with many Indonesian pieces and textiles, our room was large and the bath done in lovely tilework. A front patio for watching birds in the morning and a back patio for looking at the mountains in the evening, sharing with our family in the other rooms, were a welcome respite after a long hike. Our hosts were welcoming and outgoing but were there for us rather than in our face. Breakfast was served in the kitchen and a good combination of healthful foods. Coffee was available earlier in case your biological clock demanded it. If you are not looking for golf greens, swimming pools or casinos, this is the best place on earth.

Room Tip: There are three rooms together for sharing the patios if you have a large party and a remote site of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjrg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2012

If you're the kind of person who likes simple elegance, nature in its purest state, and multi-cultural hosts who are both delightful to talk to and discreet and self-effacing as the keepers of any paradise should be, you will LOVE the Crickethead Inn. The first time I made my way down the charming, saguaro-lined dirt road I found myself wondering where I was going and had doubts about where I might end up. Once this seasoned traveler passed through the beautiful garden and opened the magic door, he knew he was in one of those places that are rare jewels. Wayan and Mike make you feel completely at home. The rooms are beautifully and simply appointed. Wayan's breakfasts with flavors from her native Bali are amazing. Perhaps, however, the factor that makes this place utterly superlative is the feeling Wayan and Mike succeed in conveying that you are in your own home for a few days: comfort and beauty, smiles but no invasive talking, plenty of corners and haphazardly-strewn chairs on the patios and in the garden from which the visitor can contemplate the real protagonist of this show: the Sonoran Desert. Your hosts know this, and they allow you to experience it on your own, the way you would a sublime work of art, a piece of music floating out of a concert hall, or a dazzling landscape you unexpectedly come upon while lost somewhere in the desert. This is one of three or four places in the world of which I would say to a friend: "you gotta go there. Don't miss it!"

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrimac, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2012

If you're looking for a unique experience this is it! Crickethead is set off the main road and backed up to Saguaro National Park. You can hike to the foothills right in the "back yard" or at the nearby park. The outdoor patios are a great place to relax and watch birds and javalinas come to enjoy a meal. In the bright starry nights you can listen to the coyotes howl. The guest rooms reflect Mike and Wayan's love of all things Bali. You are also welcome in the main house, and if you wish, Wayan may teach you how to play the saron gantung from her native Bali. Wayan concocts incredible breakfasts, and we enjoyed conversations with other guests each morning. Mike is a great host with considerable knowledge of things to see in the area. All in all and unexpected pleasure!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RICHARD R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
5.8 km away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
783 reviews
14.1 km away
Omni Tucson National Resort
36.1 km away
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 km away
Cat Mountain Lodge
Cat Mountain Lodge
#4 of 46 in Tucson
129 reviews
24.0 km away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
9.5 km away
Casa Tierra
Casa Tierra
#18 of 46 in Tucson
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9480 W Picture Rocks Rd, Tucson, AZ 85743-9646
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Visit Barbados so you can book your Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing