We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incorrectly charged my credit card 3 times for total of over $900, took several days to refund, manager laughed about it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson
Ranked #53 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2011

I've been working in Tucson from out of town and staying at this hotel for the past 6 weeks. The first night I was there I gave them my personal debit card to hold the room as it was after hours (big mistake). The next morning my boss called hotel and gave my company credit card info for payment. A few days later they made a charge to my personal credit card. As I know mistakes happen, I was not angry and I brought it to the attention of the hotel manager and he apologized and credited the amount back, although it took 5 days to get the money back in my account. He also assured me that he would take my personal debit card out of their system so that this would not happen again. A week later, they charged my personal credit card again. Again, took 5 days to get my money back and manager said he would remove my personal card into. Several weeks went by with no problems. Again last night, my personal debit card was charged, but this time for almost $700 dollars. Now I am irate. Best part is, since this time they stole my money on a Friday night, I have to wait until Monday morning to talk to anyone who is "authorized" to credit the amount back. I tried to call Holiday Inn Corporate for assistance and was told that since this is an independently owned location, there is nothing they can do. For the icing on the cake, the last time I spoke with the manager on the phone about this, he started laughing as he was telling me there was nothing he could do and nobody else he could talk to. I guess he thinks it's funny to anger someone who has given them their business for over a month and who works for a company who regularly patronizes this hotel for employees working in the Tucson area. I guess the only way to prevent this from happening again is to switch hotels, which will happen on Monday. I'll make sure my employer knows to never use this hotel again, not like there are not dozens of other choices in the area. This hotel is decent otherwise, but unfortunately being fairly clean and having nice rooms does not make up for them stealing my money. Please do yourself a favor and choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Madhater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 155 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2011

Stayed one night on business. No real complaints. Clean and quiet. Priority club bonus "snack mix" was a little chintzy.

The lady overseeing the morning breakfast was very helpful almost to being too helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erick967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

I am the president of my daughter's gymnastic booster club and they had their state championships in Tucson. The host gym had blocked rooms for out of town clubs & families at a reduced rate. I had called to reserve 3 rooms for our coaches at that rate. I asked for the rate & was told ok. When my coaches returned with their receipts, I saw that they had been charged the full price, $40 per night, per room more than I was told when I made the reservation. I called the hotel and left several messages over several days for the manager, both with employees and on his voice mail. It took him over a week to return my calls. I explained my situation, and that our non-profit booster club fund raises to cover these expenses. We have a budget that is very strict and we could not afford the rooms at that rate. He informed me that I had made the reservation after the cutoff date of the reduced rate. I told him that I was NOT told that when I made the reservation. If I had been we wouldn't have stayed there. It was over our budget. He basically told me I was a liar, and that he knows what his employees say and that they would have told me that. He never actually talked to the employee I made my reservation with. I contact their corporate office, and all they did was forward my complaint to the same manager I had already spoken to. They sent me a reply telling me the same thing. I will NEVER stay at a Holiday Inn Express again! We were not looking for a full refund, just the difference from what I was told and what was charged! NEVER AGAIN!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank jittey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

They stay was what I expect from a HIE property. Clean, Quiet, smoke free.
However, I am a Priority Member (Gold). Not that it gets me anything. I was using my points to pay for the stay. It was only one night. As usual, I was asked for License and Credit Card. The next day, I headed out across the Reservation in the middle of nowhere. Went to pump gas, and card wouldn't handle the $$60.00 charge. Called hotel and they admitted mistake. They had charged me 162.00 for the night, and I did not have my other cards on me. (Cards were cancelled and in transition from wife's purse stolen easrlier in week. But I had one CC that was not a joint account I know, my problem, my mistake) I asked for a manager, as I was stranded in Sells, AZ. He (Randy) did not answer. Left urgent message. This was on Thursday. I wrote scathing email once I bailed myself out of my own situation Filled up with $30 and had wife deposit funds. He wrote me email back on Monday saying he did not get my voicemail. Seriously? How do you think I got your name? Your voicemail. My first clue was, "Hi this is Randy."
He was advised by corporate that there was an issue. Gee, you are the General Manager. Don't you talk to your staff? They were advised. They knew there was a guy who was stranded in Sells, AZ because you charged his card $162.00 when you souldn't of. Isn't this something your staff would mention to the General Manager? You have my phone number from my Priority Gold Membership. You said you were out all weekend. What kind of Manager doesn't work on the busiest part of the week? I have worked in HR Management, and this is not how you do it.The Credit Card wasn't credited until the following Monday night either.
Well this was enough to wash my hands of Priority Club and HIE. If they are willing to leave you stranded in the middle of nowhere, and not even attempt to fix the issue (even apologize and make a small effort to "right" the situation, that's enough for me. Never again. Holiday Inn, you can thank the guy with faulty voicemail, poor communication with staff and guests, and weekends off, -his name is RANDY, at least that's what the guy says on his voicemail.

Room Tip: Suite is across from noisy elevator, ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darrininvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

A colleague booked our room -for $190. per night. The room was small, next to the elevator, and overlooking the commercial bakery parking lot. Luckily I brought earplugs. The noise from the early morning bakery trucks, the elevator shaft, and the ice machine was enough to keep my colleague up all night. The "store" is a closet with a few items for sale. Additionally, the refridgerator froze everything solid. Supposedly, no other rooms were available.
On the positive side, The aroma from the bakery was pleasant, access to the freeway was easy, and the breakfast was great. At times (we never quite figured out the schedule) complimentary coffee, apples and cookies were available in the lobby. The front desk people were pleasant and helpful.
Unless you can get a very good price, I would definitely look elsewhere than this average establishment.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
5.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson Mall
15 km away
Holiday Inn Express Tucson Airport
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Tucson-North
Hampton Inn Tucson-North
#37 of 129 in Tucson
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Comfort Suites at Tucson Mall
2.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
13.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tucson East / Williams Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson

Address: 1564 W Grant Rd, Tucson, AZ 85745-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Tucson
#38 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: ₹ 6,653 - ₹ 13,435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites. With the friendliest staff around, come and let us make your stay! Our new Tucson hotel is ideally situated 12 MI from the Tucson International Airport. Minutes away from downtown Tucson and the University of Arizona campus.Families will appreciate our Tucson hotel's close proximity to local attractions, like the Reid Park Zoo, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum, Old Tucson Studios and 4th Avenue shopping. Guests of our Tucson hotel can spend a day strolling through beautiful downtown Tucson or take a short, scenic drive to the Saguaro National Park, home to Saguaro cacti.With convenient access to companies such as IBM, Raytheon and the Arizona National Guard, our Tucson hotel's choice location is near the Tucson Convention Center and ideal for business travelers who plan to attend meetings in the area. Our on-site business center offers printing, copying, and faxing services for your convenience, as well. During your stay at one of the very best Tucson, Arizona hotels, be sure to relax in the heated, outdoor pool and whirlpool, guest barbecue grill, utilize the well-equipped fitness center and surf the web on our free, high-speed, wireless internet access. In the mornings, you can also enjoy our complimentary, hot breakfast featuring 100% Arabic Smart Roast coffee and our signature cinnamon rolls. Check out our great Tucson hotel's deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing