We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Step back in time at Tucson Ranch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Stallion Ranch
Ranked #1 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Step back in time at Tucson Ranch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We live in Tucson so we've never stayed at the ranch but regularly take visitors/friends there for dinner. Thursday night is steak night and if the ranch isn't totally occupied they will graciously allow lunch or dinner visitors. BBQ dinner on Mon., Steak on Thurs. and Sat.is Indian potroast nights. It's a really fun experience. Not only has this ranch been around since the 1920's, it hasn't changed all that much in terms of getting the authentic ranch experience right in the heart of Tucson. The setting is gorgeous -- located just off Twin Peaks Road on Tucson's west side. The family owns lots of saguaro and cacti studded land in the heart of the mountains making it drop dead gorgeous. They have over 100 horses so it's fun to feed them and get photos before winding your way into the bar where drinks are on the honor system and very affordable - $3-4/ each. Take a photo on the saddles at the bar, then walk outside to the back patio and watch the sun go down. The BBQ steak meal is $25 and includes all the trimmings including dessert. After dinner saunter over to the hay bales out back and sit and listen to a cowboy singing by the campfire in the moonlight. You can't get a more romantic, authentic western experience in Tucson!

Room Tip: We haven't stayed in the rooms as they are typically for 1 week stays (3 meals & all the act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunnyfeet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    35
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
222
218
96
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

I went to WS ranch in 2009 with my parents as we are all experienced horse riders, and i can honestly say, this is the best holiday i have ever experienced. The staff are all really friendly, from reception staff to cooking staff to the wranglers, the service was exceptional and extremely friendly. Horses are assigned on your riding abilities so you'd know that you were going to get a horse that you could easily control. The food there is the best food I've ever had on a holiday, very social meal times as we were sat on a long table with other people staying on the ranch. Team penning was a personal highlight, very fun activity, defiantly worth trying. The all day ride is also defiantly worth doing but make sure you drink A LOT of water before you go as it is extremely hot. Also worth doing are the mountain ride, breakfast ride and barrel racing, although i found myself holding my breath at times going down a steep mountain on a horse!!. The wild life you see on the rides is certainly very interesting!.
Rooms are very clean and quite big also! and there is always home made lemonaid and cookies etc left in the dining area for everyone to help themselves to.
There is a pool there if you wanted to give riding a miss and just relax for the day. There is also an old film set, i think it was called 'Old Tucson', i did not visit that but my parents enjoyed it.

Over all, an amazing holiday and i would recommend it to everyone, whether you've been riding all your life or just trying it for the first time!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlesh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

This was our second visit to the ranch with family who have returned year in year out since 1994! (this in itself speaks for itself). We were treated as friends yet with attentive courtesy. The staff at the ranch do their utmost to ensure a professional relaxing stay combined with a ranch experience and they achieve both. The food is good and hearty and plentiful. Rooms range from small and cosy to deluxe. There is no pressure to do anything you don't want to do and you don't even have to ride as they offer hikes and the games room, fitness suite and sports facilities offer alternative entertainment. There is also regular evening entertainment and activities if you want and if you don't that's fine too!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wootyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Just spent a week at this beautiful resort. Very well kept property with large, clean rooms. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Horseback riding was geared to your personal preference - slow and scenic, or fast and exciting. Food at all meals was excellent with many choices. Gift shop on site had quality merchandise at good prices. After two rides a day, it was nice to relax in the hot tub or get a massage. There was entertainment after dinner every night, from an astronomer to a magician and singing around the bonfire. What a nice change of pace from day to day living. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side overlook the horse pasture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CowgirlDeb34689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

This was our second trip to the ranch and this time we went for a fortnight. It's still not enough! Everyone was as friendly as ever. Most of the office and catering staff were still the same and it was like meeting up with old friends. (Being both professional and friendly is an art and they manage it beautifully)
There were many new wranglers this year and they were all brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble. If you're relatively new to western riding take a couple of lessons. It helps with your confidence and it's a fun way to bond with your horse. (Thank you Charlotte, your lesson was fab).
There are no tea/coffee making facilities in your room but hot and cold drinks are available 24hrs in the dining room. (it's great to watch the sun rise with a cup of their delicious coffee)
Take a look round the petting zoo.For a few cents you can buy some feed and the animals are very gentle. Great for kids. (Even the big ones)
If you're there long enough take a trip to Tombstone.(The office can arrange car hire and went out of their way to get us a car for 7 people). It was a great day out! We got carried away and got back too late for dinner but on our return they found us something to eat.
I have tried to be more practical in this review but it was still the most wonderful time I've had.So much so we've booked for this year.
Thank you to all the wonderful people at WSR (Staff and Guests) but mostly to the wonderful patient, honest, hardworking horses who make it so special.
Dawn and Dave.
p.s. Jeeves you are a true star

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnM57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
47.5 km away
Tanque Verde Ranch
Tanque Verde Ranch
#31 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
25.7 km away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
29.1 km away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 km away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
30.0 km away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
24.2 km away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Stallion Ranch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Stallion Ranch

Property: White Stallion Ranch
Address: 9251 W Twin Peaks Rd, Tucson, AZ 85743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,826 - ₹ 43,433
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Stallion Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating our 50th Anniversary with the True Family ownership and our 75th anniversary as Guest Ranch. Known for exceptional guest service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your White Stallion Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Stallion Ranch Hotel Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing