We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yee-HAW! Can't wait to go back!”
Review of Tanque Verde Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Tanque Verde Ranch
Ranked #27 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Yee-HAW! Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Short notice, mini-vacation with a friend to Tanque Verde in mid-May was terrific! We were there about four days, and wore ourselves out before 10 pm each night. So much to do, i'm already planning my next trip!

As other reviewers have said, rooms are basic, but very comfortable. The view from our room (23) was fantastic. Very quiet, too (although the rest of the room block was empty during our stay).

Free transport to/from the airport is convenient and welcomed - no need for a car. Management and staff were delightful and helpful, with no exceptions! They were attentive without being over-bearing. No question was dismissed, and they seemed genuniely interested in making sure we were enjoying our stay.

The main event: Horsies! Almost 200 on the ranch... As a relative novice rider, the wranglers were fairly quick to assess me, and get me matched with an appropriate ride. Went through the "Fun-damentals" and "Intermediate" lessons. Lessons were reasonably efficient given we had perhaps 5-8 students in each "class". Moved us quickly through the basics, and my degree of comfort on horseback was much better by the end of my stay.

The "walk" rides, and the "ride to breakfast" were suitable for my skill level. The "mountain adventure" ride was perhaps a bit too long for my tastes. It became a bit more of a slog after the first two hours - especially as the day became warmer.

"Penning Competition" and "Fun-kana" are NOT to be missed! Even if you don't ride, you need to see it! I can now add "Cow Organizer" to my resume, as i had a chance to move calves around from horseback. Another item off my bucket list...

Most spectacular moment, however, was watching Jonathan (head wrangler?) take Goose - a 2,000+ pound Percheron - through the barrels. Astonishing horsemanship. A ton of horse cornering like a sportscar is not something you see every day.

Food? Lots of variety, very good quality, and helpful staff. No complaints. The pastry staff is top notch!

My companion enjoyed the early morning birding hike with the naturalist (while i slept in), as well as a few mountain bike rides. The evening programs were enjoyable and informative, too.

Can't wait for my next trip! This is a place like no other...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daisyfae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffreyFCampbell, Director of Operations at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
It sounds like you had a great time! Jonathon is AMAZING! Thank you so much for your compliments; I look forward to sharing them with the staff (and horsies.) We will see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    99
    39
    24
    24
See reviews for
296
149
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

My Husband and I stayed at the Ranch in May 2012 as part of our Honeymoon. We were very pleased with our choice. The ranch is beautiful and we found lots of little places to sit at watch the world go by. If you do visit, be sure to make some time for the Hummingbird station, Amazing! Rick the naturalist defiantly knows his stuff and it is well worth spending some time at the nature centre.

The horse riding was fun and we especially enjoyed the breakfast walk. The 3 ½ hour mountain walk was lovely but a little to long for me. After 4 days the novelty of riding wore off for us so we filled our time doing other activities, Fishing Hiking ect! I will mention though, the Tombstone excursion we went on we thought was overpriced. $75.00 per person with a minimum of 4 people on the trip for it to go – The $75.00 was for the transfer only, an hour away if that! No packlunch was supplied by the ranch (even though we were all staying all inclusive) and when we got to Tombstone we had to pay extra to see the gunfight!! - that’s my only complaint :-)

The food at the ranch was really very good and we liked that during the week the Ranch held dinner in different locations. The Cookout was our favourite!

The Ranchers that we came across were friendly enough but we did encounter some guests who would say otherwise. Dontay was friendly and Jonathan the head rancher was great and what a dancer Jonathan is. Mike and Mark were also fine to deal with. The most helpful on the Ranch was Nicholas, the Manager – After some bad news from home he was very approachable and helpful to our situation. Thanks Again!!

All in all we have a brilliant start to our Honeymoon staying at this Ranch. We met some amazing people some who go back year after year and some like us were there for the first time. Defiantly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffreyFCampbell, Director of Operations at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
I am so glad you had a great start to your Honeymoon. Congratulations again! We are proud that you chose Tanque Verde Ranch for such a special occasion. Thank you for your feedback about the Tombstone trip. We will discuss your comments and see what we can do to add value to the adventure. It is amazing how close you can get to nature out here. The hummingbirds are one of my favorites. I love the nature trail as well. Every time I take a stroll I meet new critters. We are constantly looking for ways to keep our riding programs fresh. Next time you visit check out some of our new additions; I think you will enjoy them. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

spent 7 nights at the ranch in may 2012 and had a fantastic time all the staff were so friendly and helpful. the food was grate with a good choice and all ways plenty to eat with fresh cakes and treats every day and fresh lemonade to drink all day was nice and refreshing in the heat of the day. the pancakes on the breakfast ride were fantastic and a grate bbq in the cottonwood with a county singer and dancing was grate.the pools spa bike riding and fishing along with the riding and the mounting ride made for a grate holiday and the views from the rooms were amazing. and a drink in the dog house solon was a nice way to end the day. a big thanks to all the staff for a grate holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffreyFCampbell, Director of Operations at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and thanks for the feedback! Seven nights is most certainly the way to go. There is soooooo much to see and do. I am glad you got to enjoy all the great things we have to offer; including the refreshing drinks in the doghouse. We will see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

(My family and I came in and stayed for four days and three nights. We have a 1 year old and a four year old.)

This is not a good place.

The horse riding lessons are a joke, definitely not worth the stay. The rides themselves were dull.

The staff varies between rude, indifferent and sometimes nice. Signing up for activities was an ordeal because they were so unhelpful.

The food is bad. But all you can eat! :(

The pool is nice, and the hot weather made it a good place to hang out. This is why it gets two starts and not one.

Overall, a big disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrBillyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffreyFCampbell, Director of Operations at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
It is difficult to justify such a poor response with so little information offered by the guest. Our passionate and engaged staff care deeply about each guest experience. It truly is difficult to find an explanation for such an isolated response.

I think this is a great place for guests and associates alike.

The horse riding lessons are carefully adapted to the skill level of the riders. Our wranglers have voiced great satisifaction in seeing the smiles of our guests as they learn new skills in our world class environment.

The rides are not dull according to the vast majority of our guests. The Sonoran Desert is unlike any other place in the world. We have several biomes replete with a diversity of fauna and flora available for our guests to enjoy on our vast unspoiled landscape. With so much to see and experience, it is difficult to understand what is dull about the experience. We also offer different paced rides for our guests, based on their comfort and skill level. Our Wranglers are talented professionals considered among the best in the industry. I am sorry you did not find them exceptional. This is not only my opinion, but the opinion of the vast majority of our guests.

Rude and indifferent attitudes would never be tolerated from our employees. Our selection process and training programs embrace talent and service. Everything we attempt to do is for the convenience of our guests. I am sorry this was not the perception.

Signing up for activities is meant to be a seamless process. We have recently moved our programs office to be even more convenient to the guests with a 24 hour front desk ajoining our programs office. We understand that with so much to do at the Ranch, some guests may not wish to stop by the Programs Office. This is why we approach every table every evening to ensure each guest is signed up for all activities.

In regards to food quality; I am shocked. I reviewed our surveys and logbooks attempting to see if there were any trends in regards to food presentation, taste, temperature or freshness. Our plated gourmet dinner is not all you can eat. In order to provide the custom meals we prepare each day, care is taken in the harvesting of ingredients and presentation for each plate. We offer a diversity of dining options to appeal to all of our guests. We have a great wine list and offer an upscale culinary experience to our guests. We also have an exceptional BBQ which some guests may consider "all you can eat." Trust me, with the robust cuts of strip steak we offer, they are quite filling.

We are reviewing all comments concerning food quality and working hard to ensure every guest has the feedback of exceeding all expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We had really nice time there trough our stay in July 2011.
The riding experience was good, also was the food and the lodging. We had the Hacienda Suite.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sebastian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeoffreyFCampbell, Director of Operations at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thanks for the feedback. I am glad you had a great time back in July! I hope you can visit us again soon. Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
47.5 km away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
780 reviews
21.3 km away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#21 of 130 in Tucson
971 reviews
22.9 km away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 km away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
23.3 km away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
34.6 km away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanque Verde Ranch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanque Verde Ranch

Property: Tanque Verde Ranch
Address: 14301 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85748-7138
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#13 Family Hotel in Tucson
#25 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,740 - ₹ 37,915
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanque Verde Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanque Verde Ranch Resort was named "Best Dude Ranch in Arizona" by Dude Republic in 2012, as well as a "Top Ten Family Resort" by the Travel Channel since 2007, and a "Top Five Ranch" by Conde Nast in 2008. Tanque Verde Ranch is one of America’s old time cattle and guest ranches. Located on 60,000 acres of Tucson’s most breathtaking desert landscapes, nestled amongst the Rincon Mountains and adjacent to Saguaro National Park and Coronado National Forest. Established in 1868, the superb guest ranch is recognized as the last luxurious outpost of the old west providing guests with plush accommodations, unparalleled amenities and a vast array of exciting activities such as horseback riding, mountain biking, fishing and hiking. La Sonora Spa is the perfect place for a bit of quiet relaxation, and the kids will love all the supervised children's programs! Don't hesitate – getaway at one of the premier, all-inclusive dude ranches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanque Verde Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanque Verde Ranch Hotel Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing