We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Ranch, but Thieves are Prowling”
Review of Tanque Verde Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tanque Verde Ranch
Ranked #32 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Ranch, but Thieves are Prowling”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

A fantastic holiday for the whole family (with a major caveat (discussed at the end of this review)) -- the kids program keeps the children active and engaged all day, teaching them to ride and giving them the confidence to compete on horseback after only five days (even our five year old son!). Tons for the adults to do as well -- riding, hiking, mountain biking, swimming, tennis... The food is of remarkably high quality; we looked forward to all three meals and the cookouts. The staff is uniformly friendly and welcoming, particulary the kids program leaders. However, someone there is evil. Our only complaint, and it is a major one, is theft. We left our Nikon D50 camera in the game room late one evening, and by the following morning it was gone. Stupid, yes, but the ranch is reasonably remote, so it was clearly staff or a guest who stole it. Management was vaguely sympathetic but did nothing to help us find the camera. Not only did we lose the camera, but also all our pictures in its memory. Offers of rewards and calls for a police report did nothing to spur the staff to action. We were very disappointed by this tremendous blot on an otherwise very enjoyable vacation. If you do choose to visit Tanque Verde, don't count on being surrounded by honest people -- there's at least one rotten apple in that bunch!

Room Tip: Careful not to get one of the older rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harry10021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas_Gold, General Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
It is great to know that your family had a wonderful time but I am sad that this one thing marred your vacation. It is not that management did not care (me); it is just that I cannot go around asking my guests if they took a camera left overnight in the game room. Many people at Tanque Verde, staff and guest alike, hand in items of great value, from diamond rings to wads of cash. It is unfortunate that this happened but I hope you will return to re-fill a different memory card.
Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    97
    39
    24
    24
See reviews for
290
146
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
AZ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This was my 3rd visit to Tanque Verde Ranch and we made reservations for our next visit while checking out. This is the only "outdoor" type vacation that has something for everyone in my family to do. My husband enjoys the moutain biking, teenage daughter loves riding and tennis, and son loves the conitnous action of the kids program. Knowing that everyone is entertained, lets me have a choice of joining them or going to the spa or hiking.

The food is great - possibly the best biscuits I have ever had!

Room Tip: The suites with the murphy beds are spacious for a family - room 65 has a magnificent jet/spa tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creedAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas_Gold, General Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
I thank you for 3 and look forward to seeing you all again for 4 when we have added even more activities to the list and tried not to mess with the biscuits.
Cheers
Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I recently came back from a trip to the Tanque Verde Ranch in Tucson Az. I was so impressed by the staff. From the front desk, dining room, activities and wranglers all went out of their way to make the experience enjoyable. It was a treat to see people who so enjoyed their work and put the clients first. They couldn't do enough for the guests and in today's world that is becoming rare. Along with excellent food and many activities to choose from the vacation was all I hoped it would be. Douglas Kline Chalfont, Pa

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DouglasK4414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas_Gold, General Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Douglas,
Thank you very much for recognizing the staff attitude. Although most people enjoy every day that they are here they still work hard to give our guests the "ranch" experience.
Cheers
Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We will definitely be going back again and have recommended this place to others as well. Even our teenagers had a great time and said they want to come back. Kelsey, Mike and Marty were outstanding. The food was excellent, you will never walk away hungry. You could be busy all day with various activities or spend it by the heated pool, something for everyone. The only two problems I had were: 1) The room was not in good condition, especially compared to the photos on the website. We did ask for a picture of the room and never received it and now we know why. It was not a room I would let people stay in until it was as updated/repaired to the level of the other rooms. We loved the location of it but definitely not the condition. 2) The lope check seemed arbitrary. I saw people that passed and in my opinion shouldn't have (and I have been riding for 30+ years). There were people that didn't pass but should have when compared to others that did. One woman admitted she did not pass the lope check but went out on lope rides anway. If you are going to require a lope check there should be a way to let the wranglers know who passed and who didn't.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas_Gold, General Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Jill
Thank you for mentioning the food,t.
As far as the rooms are concerned we are progressing through them with a renovation program. This year we are working on the bathrooms.
I appreciate the input on the lope checks and we are continually looking about how we can improve so any feedback is welcome.
Please feel free to contact me directly with this
Thanks
Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We took our friends to dinner because we had been impressed with the lunches. I was so disappointed. We had actually considered this place for our daughters wedding. Our dinner seemed to be the left overs from their lunch. Our salads were very small and the lettuce was very old. When we showed it to the waitress the reply was it had been on the grill. My prime rib was over half fat, husband scallops were placed on a grits based paste that was not very good, friends chicken was dried up and her husbands ($35 hamburger) was overcooked and on dry bread. My pecan pie must have been a week old and the crust was so tough that you could not cut it with a knife. The service was very bad. We will never go back

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tish t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas_Gold, General Manager at Tanque Verde Ranch, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
I always like to respond in a positive manner to people who have had genuine issues with the Ranch.
Please look at all the comments about the food posted in the past few months.
Thanks
Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
47.5 km away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
772 reviews
21.3 km away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
951 reviews
24.0 km away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 km away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
18.3 km away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
23.3 km away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanque Verde Ranch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanque Verde Ranch

Property: Tanque Verde Ranch
Address: 14301 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85748-7138
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#13 Family Hotel in Tucson
#25 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,598 - ₹ 32,581
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanque Verde Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanque Verde Ranch Resort was named "Best Dude Ranch in Arizona" by Dude Republic in 2012, as well as a "Top Ten Family Resort" by the Travel Channel since 2007, and a "Top Five Ranch" by Conde Nast in 2008. Tanque Verde Ranch is one of America’s old time cattle and guest ranches. Located on 60,000 acres of Tucson’s most breathtaking desert landscapes, nestled amongst the Rincon Mountains and adjacent to Saguaro National Park and Coronado National Forest. Established in 1868, the superb guest ranch is recognized as the last luxurious outpost of the old west providing guests with plush accommodations, unparalleled amenities and a vast array of exciting activities such as horseback riding, mountain biking, fishing and hiking. La Sonora Spa is the perfect place for a bit of quiet relaxation, and the kids will love all the supervised children's programs! Don't hesitate – getaway at one of the premier, all-inclusive dude ranches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanque Verde Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanque Verde Ranch Hotel Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing