We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“More perfect than we even imagined”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Eagles Rest on the right sets closest to the ocean. The owners' house is to the back on the right.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lubec, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Betsy W
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
“More perfect than we even imagined”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My husband, my parents, and I stayed here for 3 nights while I ran the Bay of Fundy marathon and even though the photos of the place are awesome, the reality is even more amazing! This newly built house is gorgeous inside and is perfectly built to show off the incredible setting, whether you're in the kitchen, dining room, living room, or the deck. With two bedrooms and two bathrooms, it works well for two couples to each have their own comfortable spaces, with plenty of space in the common areas as well. It is very well equipped, from a spotting scope for viewing the seals to everything needed for a lobster feast, and the furnishings and details (like the interior paint colors) are extremely well thought out. The setting is peaceful and quiet--you feel remote yet it is very convenient to Lubec and especially Quoddy Head. It's addictive to just sit and watch the boats and the tide go in and out. This is the ocean retreat that has always been in my dreams--what a surprise to discover that it actually exists! My only tip is to plan to stay here for as long as possible because you won't want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The way the house is designed to maximize the spectacular view from everywhere inside
Liked least: That it is so far from my home in Tucson AZ
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ootz2016
Media, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Elegant”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Eagles Rest is a beautiful home. It is furnished beautifully yet extremely comfortably. The beds and linens are high quality and the kitchen is state of the art. We especially enjoyed the remote control gas fireplace and the telescope set to view the ocean cliffs. The water is just steps away across the backyard. We highly recommend this rental!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stirfry10...
Covington, Georgia
1 review
“Amazing View & Wildlife”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The house is perfect, view is stunning. Windows on all the walls provide sweeping vistas. Abundant wildlife in the area, the home comes with a spotting scope. We had a multi-generational group of 5 and everyone was extremely comfortable. Our hardcore birders were thrilled with it. Extremely close to Quaddy Head and Lubec. Kids loved climbing all over the rocks and checking out tidal pools.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locations...
SF Bay Area
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Total perfection”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I cannot say enough nice things about this wonderful rental. First of all, everything is brand new. And I mean everything - all the kitchen stuff, the bedding, appliances, I think even the house itself! I don't think I've ever stayed in a house where things were in such pristine condition, and it was a total luxury.

The house is also beautifully appointed - from the fresh flowers and chocolate bonbons upon arrival, to the super-cozy, easy to use propane fireplace, to a complete set of gear to prepare a lobster dinner in house, Rosemary thought of everything you could possibly need.

And the location is outstanding, with incredible views. We barely left the house because it was such a joy to just sit and watch the weather and tides. Steps from an intriguing rocky beach with tide pools.

When we did manage to leave the house, we were just minutes from the lighthouse and town. Lubec itself is great - not a hint of the touristy traps like Bar Harbor. Had the best fried clams ever at Frank's, and bought a mess load of the freshest seafood ever at the local shop for a steal of a price.

If you're coming to this area, do yourself a favor and book this house as fast as you can!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view was spectacular, the house immacualte
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
Anna it delights me that you had such a great time in Lubec and in particular at Eagles Rest. We strive to provide to our guests everything that we would expect on vacation. It was nice that you enjoyed the fireplace. It always makes for a cozy atmosphere. Thank you for the complimentary review.
Rosemary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise V
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Serenity on Th Bay”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This brand new, clean and well maintained waterfront home exceeded our expectation. As we opened the door our NYC stress instantly began melting away as we looked out the many magnificent windows. The views of the Coastal Trail at the Quoddy lighthouse, Grand Manan island, Canada, and Carrying Place Cove just to name a few are amazing. The Bay is the backyard....We experienced a week of Serenity at Eagles Rest. The house has 2 bedrooms with comfy beds and 2 beautiful baths. The fireplace is perfect. Everything in this home is new.

The location to the Quoddy lighthouse is a 3 minute drive, and to Campobello island in Canada about 15 mins the most. You must stop at Monica's Chocolate shop, in Lubec, were there's more than homemade chocolates. Have a lobster or lobster roll at the Inn at the Wharf, in downtown Lubec. There is an IGA Supermarket a few minutes from the house.
We did a lot of exploring of the nearby towns and coves and the best view was right in the backyard!! The 10 hr drive from NYC NY was well worth it....

The very kind owners Rosemary and Ray, paid attention to every detail to make our stay stress free, comfortable and as if we were right at home. Unlike other places, these owners were reachable 24 hrs if needed.

I have recommended Eagles Rest, already! A Very Beautiful location!
Denise and Min NYC, NY
Stayed May 28-June 4, 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views were exceptional
Liked least: Everything was great!!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Denise,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have strived to pay attention to all of the little details that we feel would be important to our guests, ranging from directions on "How to Eat A Lobster" to our upscale eco-conscious "Paya Organic" toiletries. You and Min were wonderful guests and would enjoy having you back any time that you need some soothing ocean air with some relaxing vistas.
Rosemary and Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 210
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing