We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
West Babylon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay!!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel is fantastic. I travel to Providence to visit a friend that has moved from NY.
I am really impressed by the beds, pillows, and linens at this hotel. They are all of the highest quality and I had a wonderful night's sleep. The room was clean and the young lady that helped us to our room couldn't have been any nicer.
We ate at the restaurant and the food was delicious, but the service was even better. The young lady that served us was so helpful when choosing from various dishes. I also had a special drink request and she made it happen. I will be back and recommend it highly!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for your fabulous comments. We are happy to hear that we created a fantastic impression of our hotel for you with the quality of our rooms, our staff and our amenities.
We are very proud of Temple Restaurant and it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our food and our service and that we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    401
    87
    38
    20
See reviews for
337
387
69
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, RI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2012

In March 2012, the Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel hosted our wedding reception.
Now that we’ve recovered from a magical night and are settling into married life, we would like to take a moment to recognize Sarah G. From our initial meeting to view the venue up to and including the wedding night, Sarah was attentive to our every request, shaped the event package to our needs, and made the entire process stress-free. While all of our guests raved about the hotel, its facilities and its staff (they were all AMAZING), to us Sarah was the reason we had the perfect wedding! Overall, our entire experience with the Renaissance Providence Hotel was absolutely wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank-you for your fabulous comments about your wedding reception here at the Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel. We are happy to hear that your guests raved about the hotel, its facilities and our staff. It will be my pleasure to pass your comments on to Sarah and recognize her for her efforts in creating the perfect wedding for you on your memorable day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Love the lobby and the room. The bathroom is huge and modern. Breakfast was good too. I didn't order off of the room service menu, but it had a nice selection and in my opinion very reasonably priced.
I thought it was closer to the Conference Center but the location was fine and not a long walk. Only one thing I would have changed is the bed was really soft. I think the mattress just needs an update in that room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CtKells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank-you for your wonderful comments about our lobby,rooms and bathrooms. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast, our nice selection of choices and the reasonable prices. It will be my pleasure to pass your wonderful comments on to our team.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumansburg NY
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This is a very service minded hotel. We were surprised at the rate of the room; it was a nice surprise. But when we secured the reservation it was noted that there was cost options for parking. That's fine but when we got there, the only option was valet parking. The internet service was also a separate cost and that's unusual. So, between the parking and the internet, the cost went up substantially. There weren't many places to walk to for dinner, so we dined in. The menu had a couple of pre fix options and we were both very, very pleased with our meals and service. In fact the service throughout was amazing. The rooms were generous. It was a nice experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneeAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank-you for discovering our hotel and it is wonderful that you found our service amazing and that you had a nice experience. In relation to parking options, there is additional overnight parking within walking distance of our hotel however the price is very comparable to our valet parking. Our valet parking is a wonderful option for our guests offering unlimited access to your vehicle.Once again thank-you for discovering the Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Warwick, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My husband's company had their Holiday Party there this year and we stayed the night as well. The hotel was beautiful and the room was spacious and perfect. Since most of the time was spent at the party, we will be going back for our anniversary for a longer visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stexannhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
I would like to thank you and your husband for discovering our wonderful hotel. It is fabulous that you found our rooms to be beautiful, spacious and perfect for your stay. We are excited that you will choose to stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
2,548 reviews
Hotel Providence
#3 of 12 in Providence
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Address: 5 Avenue of the Arts, Providence, RI 02903
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Providence
#1 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#3 Family Hotel in Providence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,116 - ₹ 24,107
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuel your sense of wonder at the Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel with geometric décor infused throughout inspired by the creative talents of world-renowned Rhode Island School of Design. Experience the sparkle of a re-imagined lounge and discover the "WOW'" factor in our guest rooms. All are warm and airy with splashes of color, comfy beds and bathroom fixtures that impart a luxurious feel. Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel is among the most remarkable hotels in Providence, Rhode Island. Housed in a beautifully restored historic 1920s era building, the hotel's 264 exquisite guest rooms and 8 suites offer exceptional comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Providence
Providence Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing