We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dolce Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Dolce Villa
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice stay, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

The Hotel Dolce Villa is pleasant hotel on Federal Hill District in Providence. The suite is not huge, but not tiny. The room was clean, brightly decorated and comfortable; it felt very much like a small apartment.
The Hotel is located conveniently in the Federal Hill area where there are a number of excellent restraints- especially Italian (and I’m from north jersey where there’s a great Italian restaurant every few feet).
Unfortunately it was winter- we plan to come back in the spring or fall when the weather is warmer, the fountain is flowing and the foliage is present.
Our only complaint was a strange noise that occurred in the middle of the night- I think it was a water heater or something of that nature but it could have been a jet engine for the amount of racket it made.
Other than that distracting problem, our stay was very pleasant- the staff was helpful and friendly and we hope to return some time soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirdum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    41
    27
    24
    47
See reviews for
31
79
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This small boutique hotel on Federal Hill in Provoidence has only 14 suites (9 one bedroom and 5 two bedroom), comfortable sitting area and complete kitchen. We stayed in a one bedroom suite on 2nd floor that was clean and comfortable with small TVs in sitting area and edroom. Kitchen had full refrigerator,stove, dishwasher and microwave. the bed was not very comfortable, but that inconvenience was made up for by the great location the friendy staff. Valet overnite parking is $20 per night. Recommend for romantic as well as family getaway.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnsordillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canandaigua, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I booked this hotel on Hotwire which clearly stated valet parking was available. One of the reviews here even states that there is valet. Yet when we arrived there was indication whatsoever of where to park. We circled the property several times and called the hotel, but an answering machine was picking up calls Finally, my husband jumped out and walked to the property as I continued to circle with the car. He was told that there was no valet parking, that we needed to locate our own onstreet parking and if we couldn't find any to leave the car in the hotel's loading zone with our flashers on. NOT ACCEPTABLE! We left and Hotwire refunded our money yesterday, bless them!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ReneeSutton70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolceVilla1, General Manager at Hotel Dolce Villa, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Ms Sutton, Let me first thank you for taking the time to address the issue you had with the hotel. Although I truly apologize for what seemed to be an unpleasant arrival experience, I assure you we do offer valet parking & I can only assume you didn't understand the front office agent's response to your question. I make this assumption because within the paperwork you signed upon check in the valet procedure is stated as following:

* Parking - We offer valet parking for $20.00 per night due to strict parking enforcement and no overnight parking in Providence from 2am-5am. The parking is good from the time you check in until 11am on the day of departure.

This policy is also reiterated by a sign in the front hallway everyone must pass to get to their room that reads "Overnight parking fee, 20.00"

We hope that you do visit providence again, & if you do please give the hotel a call directly so that we can give you the hospitable experience we thrive to give to all of our guests.

Thank you,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Providence hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Staff - check. Room - Check. Location - check. Check. Check.

I stayed here off a groupon and was very impressed. no doubt it's a small place, and I'm sure if I walked in expecting a renaissance it would left a little to be desired, but I walked in hoping for a boutique feel with European flare. And I got it. and I loved it. And I'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wringsman1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

The hotel is a "boutique" style that was an apartment building. so the room have full kitchens, bathrooms, one bedroom/one living area, closets, dishes/plates... plenty of space overall. its right on a pedestrian street with restaurants and a fountain. really nice to walk around and then up and down the main street. fantastic choice if you want to walk around and be in the middle of things.
Staff was very nice and helpful. the hotel is associated with neighboring restaurants (all less than 100 feet away) so i was given coupons for meals/breakfast.
I had a problem with a TV and the guy at the front desk was really nice and helped me into another room.

downsides:
- finding the hotel wasn't too easy, finding a place to park was impossible. once i double parked and went in to ask about parking, found out about the lot they have.
hotel would do well to put some signs up on the back street so people have some idea as to what to do. Cant stress this enough, they should include parking information/directions on every confirmation email a guest receives. you cant see the hotel from either street (unless you know exactly what you are looking for).
- no elevators. not the end of the world, but carrying luggage up a narrow flight- not fun.
- the room had two tv's (good!), but they were both too small and mounted high up on the wall, no way to watch comfortably unless you are on your back (bad!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that NOT ground floor, mine had a view of a dumpster and I heard garbage being thrown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corpedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#3 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
The Dean Hotel
The Dean Hotel
#6 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Hotel Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dolce Villa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dolce Villa

Property: Hotel Dolce Villa
Address: 63 DePasquale Plaza, Providence, RI 02903
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,843 - ₹ 19,306
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Dolce Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dolce Villa is a unique boutique hotel in Providence, Rhode Island. The old world exterior combined with the bright trendy interior gives the hotel a mixed personality of country-side Italy and South Beach, Florida, inviting diverse crowds from all over the world.Dolce Villa offers 14 suites, 9 one-bedroom units and 5 two-bedroom units, all featuring memory-foam beds and pull-out memory foam sofa beds.All suites feature internet access, state-of-the-art electronics for business and entertainment purposes, a fully equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances, pots and pans, dishware and flatware, a Jacuzzi tub in each bathroom with hair dryers and personal amenities, and a closet with a safe for valuables.Our two-bedroom units also include gas-fired fireplaces with remote controls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Dolce Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce Hotel Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing