We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,782)
Filter reviews
1,783 results
Traveller rating
969
464
214
88
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
969
464
214
88
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree parkingoutdoor poolbluefin grillethe concierge loungebluefishshuttle servicefront desk staffthis past weekendupon checkbrown universitythe entire staffnew englandfederal hillfitness centerrhode islandaquadowntown
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 1,783 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Jack, the banquet director, was more than gracious with his warm welcome ~ and he assured us that whatever we needed would be his primary focus. . .not only to us, but to others. His staff was genuinely attentive to our needs and there was not one thing they didn't provide to make our Easter meal a true Easter treat! I would rate this place with a ten plus in cordiality and service! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVD_PR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear mbegin,
Thank you for choosing to spend your Easter with us at the Providence Marriott Downtown. We are delighted that Jack and his team took such good care of you. We will certainly recognize them for the awesome impression they made on you. We look forward to serving you again. Perhaps we will see you at our Mother's Day event!
Sincerely,
Jennifer Dahler, Director of Strategic Marketing & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

This hotel makes it brilliant! A friendly greeting and check in by Michael and Leighton at the front desk. Loved the offer of bottled water and chocolates at check in. The room was well appointed and very clean. The gym was well stocked and clean. It features new equipment with all the towels, fresh fruit, granola bars, and bottled water you may need to go along with your work out. The banquet manager Jack was so cordial and friendly when I was walking through the corridor. I had a fabulous meal at the Bluefin Grille. Well done to Chef Franco and his team. Luis and Caitlyn were so friendly and made the dining experience very enjoyable. Keep up the great work Providence Marriott!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank stmpstmp4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVD_PR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear stmpstmp4,
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback about your stay. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed the little extras we offer in our 24-hour fitness center. We are also happy that Michael, Leighton, Jack, Caitlyn and Chef Franco and his team all made such an excellent impression on you! They will be recognized for their exceptional service. The award-winning Bluefin Grille is a favorite of our hotel guests and locals alike. We look forward to serving you again very soon.
Best regards,
Jennifer Dahler, Director of Strategic Marketing & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

The staff at the Marriott were absolutely amazing!! Nicole Kitts the sales manager helped coordinate our event which exceeded our expectations!! The price was very reasonable and the event room was gorgeous!! Thank you for all of your help will definitely book another event there in the future :)

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank desirae1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVD_PR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear desirae1212,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted that your event was such a success. Nicole will be recognized for her hard work and dedication. We appreciate your business and look forward to assisting you with your next event.
Sincerely,
Jennifer Dahler, Director of Strategic Marketing & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Well set up hotel for business meetings. Rooms were clean and quiet. Lots to do nearby. Recommend taking water ferry to Newport. Many great resturants within walking distance, especially if you like Italian food.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Golf1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVD_PR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Golf1955,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay. Thank you for mentioning how awesome our location is. We are within walking distance to most area attractions, restaurants and shopping and WaterFire Providence. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you soon!
Sincerely,
Jennifer Dahler, Director of Strategic Marketing & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We had originally booked at the Courtyard Marriottt due to the price when I booked and that they had a pool, which I saw on the web site.... well when we got there it turns out there is no pool there and our kids wanted to swim. We asked if we could switch hotels so the the man at the front desk, on Friday 3/30 around 6pm did call over to the Marriott downtown to see if there was a room available but was a bit irritated with the entire situation and not very understanding that we had kids that wanted to swim.... the short of it. The supervisor did waive the fee for the cancellation and that was very much appreciated. The man was going to charge us full price. We headed over to the Marriott downtown and was very impressed! The two young people working the desk, I think there names were Nicholas and Kayla, were very professional, pleasant and accommodating! I don’t think they could of done a better job!!! We told them our story and they made us feel extra special and were extremely kind to the kids. My daughter was talking about Kayla when we got home from our time in RI. We used the pool and ordered room service, twice. The food was delicious! We had the burgers and the kids had pizza. The ice cream topped it all off. I didn’t catch the name of the young man that delivered our food and dessert but he was top notch. The staff we encountered, the three mentioned along with a maid we saw in the hallway and some pool staff were outstanding. In the morning as we checked out, my friend wanted a tea and the waiter in the lobby didn’t hesitate to get it! I loved how, specifically the three I have mentioned, made sure we knew they were there if we needed anything else. We were in RI for a cheerleading competition and don’t know much about Providence and weren’t able to explore the city but want to return Providence and to this hotel just because of the staff. On a side note, the Marriott scent in the hotel brought back memories of when we stayed in NYC at a Marriott on two different occasions, love It!!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Beachbum22353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PVD_PR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Beachbum22353,
We are thrilled that you had such a great experience at our hotel. Our pool is awesome and here's the part you will love...the outdoor pool and poolside lounge, AQUA, will be opening in May. We know that you and your children will just love it! Be sure to visit our website often for updates on inclusive getaway packages. We'll see you soon!
Best regards,
Jennifer Dahler, Director of Strategic Marketing & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews