We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Water Place Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Providence Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Providence Marriott Downtown
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
York Beach, Maine
Level Contributor
427 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Water Place Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

This hotel has a great location which gives one easy accessibility to the Water Fire Event which is not to be missed. The rooms are satisfactory and the well trained staff is extremely helpful. I found the restaurant to be quite "dark" but the food and service are excellent. Very busy large hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRH0PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear DRRIGBY,
WaterFire Providence is truly one of the wonders that make Providence so special. Our location is perfect for walking to the event - although we do offer complimentary shuttle service if one prefers a ride. We appreciate your feedback about our staff - we are dedicated to providing our staff with tons of area knowledge to provide the best experience possible for our guests. We are also glad you enjoyed our Bluefin Grille restaurant. Hope to see you again this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    352
    168
    60
    31
See reviews for
374
248
51
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

This hotel is right by Water Place in downtown Providence, and thus very close to the Water Fire event I was lucky to attend. Excellent breakfast, served by the wonderful Jo-Ann, every facility, helpful staff. Easy to walk anywhere in this relatively compact city.

Room Tip: as far as I could tell, all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balticbash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer D, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear balticbash,
Thank you for your excellent comments! We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed here for 1 night while visiting Brown University. We found the amenities such as the indoor/outdoor pool, the gym and the restaurant to be very nice and the breakfast buffet was wonderful. The location was centrally located and convenient. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2travel720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Luvtotravel720,
We appreciate when our guests take the time to share their experience at our hotel with Trip Advisor readers. We especially value your opinion as a seasoned traveler with Senior Reviewer status. We hope that you can visit again soon and thank you for your excellent praises! I will be sure to share them with our hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We found this hotel plenty good enough when we were in Providence for two nights to get our daughter started in a summer program at Rhode Island School of Design. It is big and busy, but the staff seem helpful and it has lots of amenities like an indoor-outdoor pool, a full-service spa, and shuttle service. Our room was comfortable. There was free wi-fi that functioned well. Still, I would rather have paid less. I will hope to reserve earlier next time at a cheaper hotel that is actually downtown rather than four blocks beyond what most people would define as downtown.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelfoucault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Dear Michelfoucault,
Your daughter must be excited to be in the summer program at RISD! We are pleased that you enjoyed the amenities and the service at our hotel. Our indoor/outdoor pool is pretty awesome! We hope you choose to return. Our location is perfect for visiting RISD. We would be happy to arrange our complimentary shuttle to take you there or if you prefer it is a short walk to campus. When you are doing your research for your next trip to Providence, remember, we do not charge for parking and continue to be the only hotel in Providence who does not. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for our Trip Advisor readers who count on people like you to share their experiences. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

I stayed here on business because I could not get into the Renassaince Inn that I normal stay at. This Marriott is an old hotel. The swimming pool is great. The rooms are average. The conceirge lounge is the worst I've been in. The breakfast offering wasn't bad but the room itself is small and confining not very inviting and I felt like I needed to get out of there as soon as possible. The chicken kabob in the evening was dry and overcooked. It pales in comparison to the lounge and food provided at the Renaissance Inn in Providence.

I am Platinum Rewards member and they did recognize this and offered to send a welcome gift to my room, which I do appreciate. But I ended up having to call the front desk three times over the next 3-4 hours before they actually brought it up to my room.

Overall, I might stay here in a pinch, but the next time I can't get into the Renassaince Inn I will try the Courtyard Downtown.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HubbyChubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Providence Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear HubbyChubby,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with our Trip Advisor readers. We appreciate your feedback and share each TA posting with our team. We are always looking for new ways to improve our Lounge. While we cannot increase the size of the space, we can look into ways to give the room a more open feel. Thank you for sharing your feelings about that.
We do go above and beyond to recognize our Elite Members so are pleased that you felt appreciated.
We have the only connecting indoor & outdoor pool in the state and we are glad that you had a chance to have a nice swim. Summer's officially here so we hope when you do return to Providence that you choose our hotel...how can you resist our pool and outdoor lounge AQUA?
Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#3 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#6 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Hotel Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Providence Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Providence Marriott Downtown

Property: Providence Marriott Downtown
Address: 1 Orms Street, Providence, RI 02904
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Providence
#4 Family Hotel in Providence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,619 - ₹ 19,491
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Providence Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort-style atmosphere hotel located in downtown Providence. Situated near the state capital, I-95 and historic East Side. Free parking, connecting indoor/outdoor pools. Outdoor lounge, AQUA(seasonal),voted Best Hotel for Pool Lovers by Yankee Magazine in 2014. Award-winning Bluefin Grille open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Inclusive overnight packages available - Twin River Casino Package, Ultimate Dining Escape, VIP Kids Escape, Romance packages, Martinis & Manicures spa package, Golf Challenge , etc Full-service G Salon & Spa and golf privileges at private golf course. Marriott Greatroom - and all new meeting space and ballrooms. Complimentary wireless and shuttle service (by reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Providence Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Providence Marriott Downtown Hotel Providence
Marriott Providence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing