We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like libraries...”

Providence Athenaeum
Ranked #25 of 114 things to do in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of America's oldest lending libraries established in 1753.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you like libraries...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

The Athenaeum has an incredible collection, including many rare items which are available to read by appointment. I had the pleasure of reading some accounting of George Washington's expenditures during his time as general of the Continental Army, written in his own hand.

The collection dates back to pre-revolutionary times, and is quite an excellent place to visit for any book buff.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geoff_Picus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    16
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
“a must see in the heart of old Providence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

A fabulous collection housed in a beautifully maintained and unique old building with friendly staff and lovely atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank klj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

I absolutely love this place. It is a library hosted by a 300-400 year old building. The moment you step inside, you feel like you are in a different wonderful world. Before my daughter went to daycare (around 2), we used to go regularly to the story hours (twice a week for children 0-2 yrs of age). It was awesome and Lindsey the children's librarian is phenomenal. My daughter still adores the place and points at the building every time we pass by with the car.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank TravelLover77_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swampscott, MA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A "must" on your tour of New England Anthenea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Beautiful building, classical design, the place makes you want to pull the dusty tomes of the shelf and bury yourself in reading.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank toomanymileswithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Historic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

The building alone is worth a tour. It's one of the oldest subscription libraries in the country. The collections are available to the public for browsing but only members can check items out. The library is said to be haunted by Edgar Allen Poe and his girlfriend, Providence poet and widow Sarah Helen Whitman. While I personally have never seen them, it makes for a fun story. The library houses many many books both old and current, DVD, audio books, e-books, has a beautiful children's room and offers programs for intellectually minded individuals. I always love visiting this library.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank QNPoohBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Providence Athenaeum also viewed

 

Been to Providence Athenaeum? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing