We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unprofessional and rude”
Review of Ponderosa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ponderosa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unprofessional and rude”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The office staff was very rude and unprofessional. Book at your own risk!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    43
    16
    8
    7
See reviews for
39
51
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We were looking for reservations late and the Ponderosa was one of the few places with vacancies that weren't expensive. For such an extremely low price, we were concerned about the quality that we would find. We were very pleasantly surprised to find such a beautiful location and such a clean and friendly establishment. I would definitely stay here again. One warning: this is not for people who can't stand the sound of rushing water. The river was 20 feet from our window!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Towchain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Are you kidding? Where are these guests staying with the good reviews? We recently stayed at the Ponderosa lodge and the bed pulls down from the wall it is horrible unless used for your pet perhaps. The t.v. is old and small (outdated) . No air conditioner...don't bother to ask for a refund..."no way"...definitely will not be back

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bytheseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The location and cleanliness of the property were our top concerns, and we were not let down one bit! The lodge is tucked away right off Fall River Road, with the river running right in their backyard. Compared to other properties in the area, we got a fair price and had a great stay. It was a short drive into Rocky Mountain National Park, and extremely close to Estes Park, yet the property itself was very quiet with the sound of the rushing river right outside our room. The room was simple, updated, and very clean. My husband and I chose the smaller room with the pull-down European style bed, and it was actually quite comfortable. We happened to stay during one of the busiest times for the park, and one of the hottest summers in years, but it cooled off at night and was quiet enough to sleep with the windows open. The front desk service was great too, they have recommendations for restaurants, and they even let me use their phone! There is not a phone in the room, and my cell phone didn't work there (I have US Cellular, and it did work in Estes Park). The best points: location was perfect for nature lovers, yet convenient to food in Estes Park! You can grill on the patio or one of the areas on property because there is a grocery store nearby. The room had modern touches including mini-fridge and microwave, so you can save money by going to the store instead of eating out. They do have a hot tub by the river, but we didn't get a chance to try it out because we were so busy with other activities in the area. I didn't have anything that I really disliked about the place, and we would definitely stay there again!!! :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14, the smallest room with a pull-down bed. It was pretty comfortable and very cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SightsSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2011

It was a wonderful stay in Estes. The room was clean, warm and very comfortable. The hot tub was perfect during the snow storm. Jim, Mary Ann, Walt and ofcourse Shadow were the perfect hosts!
Can't wait to return to the beautiful mountains, great company and good energy of the Ponderosa Lodge.
mary from Pa.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journeyPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.9 km away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#9 of 29 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.4 km away
Amberwood
Amberwood
#14 of 78 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
4.7 km away
Coyote Mountain Lodge
Coyote Mountain Lodge
#17 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Discovery Lodge
Discovery Lodge
#10 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.7 km away
Nicky's Resort
Nicky's Resort
#19 of 29 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
10.3 km away
Dao House
Dao House
#59 of 78 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponderosa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponderosa Lodge

Property: Ponderosa Lodge
Address: 1820 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517-9106
Region: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Estes Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,559 - ₹ 10,343
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ponderosa Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Ponderosa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponderosa Hotel Estes Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing